We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere and food”
Review of South Cafe

South Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Manaccan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Open seasonally from Easter to November for lunch, homemade cakes, coffees, cream teas, wines and a full license, with fresh fish and shellfish our speciality. A South facing garden is great for sunny days, with a wood burner when chilly. Please telephone for more details, extra opening, dinners, Christmas opening and reservations.
Bucks
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Taken their by a friend this was my first visit to the South Cafe, I was not disappointed. The starter and main were great, tasty and fresh, my fish stew as good as the south of France. I wasn't paying but people on the neighbouring table said that the cost was akin to London prices, I would suggest that the quality and location make it worthy of London prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant, ever”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We just love this place. Ever since we discovered it in 2010 we keep coming back time and time again - it really is a special place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nikandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Fab lunch, lovely choices. Well executed, cosy atmosphere, superb serivce, fiesty fire will be back again soon

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Madcornishbird69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Visited in August of this year and had a truly superb meal. The service was attentive with great attention given to helping us select both food and the wine accompaniment. We both decided to go for the mussels as a starter then lobster and sea bass for our main courses; consequently we would highly recommend the seafood. We rarely eat dessert, but as we had enjoyed the meal so much and the array was so tempting we gave in and were not disappointed! Excellent meal, excellent service, fantastic location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb food in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A lucky find in a sleepy village called Manaccan on the Lizard Peninsula is Coast, a wonderful restaurant that defies all expectations. The setting is smart but casual, split into two dining rooms with log burning stoves, set either side of a restful bar area which is ideal for pre or post dinner drinks and conversation. The walls display a fine collection of art, some of which are by the noted Scottish painter Hamish McDonald. The service was friendly, attentive and informative.

More importantly the superb food more than matches the decor and service which is a selection of mainly locally sourced fish, meat and other produce. Known for their fish I opted for the lightly curried crab followed by a splendid fillet of rock bass. Both cooked to perfection and very tasty. My wife enjoyed fried squid followed by a perfectly cooked Angus rib eye steak. Puddings were chocolate fondant with honeycomb ice cream and a lemon creme brulee. The brulee was the only low point of the meal as it didn't have a perfectly brittle topping. A very small niggle of an otherwise wonderful evening. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Navek62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Cafe also viewed

Manaccan, Cornwall
 
St Keverne, Helston
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth
 
St Keverne, Helston
 

Been to South Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing