We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower Northcott Farmhouse - wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Court Farm Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We extended our holiday in Bude at Court Farm because we were having such a good time and spent 3 days in Lower Northcott Farmhouse.

The isolation and peace was divine.

The house is huge, well equipped and very welcoming so it was a perfect base for our activities.

The animals are a hoot. The pigs, goats, rabbits, Bubbles and Tiny Tim add something very special.

We had excellent weather so played and ate in the garden and having a divine beach like Northcott at the end of the farm track was the stuff dreams are made of.

The last mention goes to Debbie and Andrew our hosts. They were excellent and could not have done more in our brief but truly memorable stay. A massive thank you and the very strongest recommendation.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our week in Fuchsia Cottage in Marhamchurch was brilliant.

The accommodation was great for our young family and all of the usual children's paraphernalia was available to use.

There were plenty of similar aged kids (and animals) for our children to interact with.

We were blessed with gorgeous weather and made the most of the fab beaches every day but there are loads of non-beach activities and attractions within 30mins too.

Kevin and Vicky were really helpful and nothing was ever too much to ask for.

We would highly recommend Marhamchurch and will return next year!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtfarmholidays, Manager at Court Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thankyou David
it was nice having your family stay with us,glad you enjoyed your stay,we are continually upgrading our cottages and facilities as we think its important to keep them upto date and fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

As any parent of a toddler knows, if they're happy you're happy! At Court there was plenty to keep our two year old amused, from animal feeding to swimming in the gloriously warm pool. In fact it was hard to drag him away to see all the area had to offer. Highlights for us were the local beaches, particularly Summerleaze with it's rock pools and sea pool and all of the great places to eat that were so welcoming to children - such as The Weir, Rosie's Kitchen and The Bank Tapas. As it was just the three of us we opted for The Stables accommodation, however we viewed the larger Farmhouse and Mulberry houses and would be very tempted to return again and share with friends. All in all a great base to see a beautiful part of the world, with something to do whatever the weather.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank em3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in the Farmhouse and had a wonderful time. The acommodation was excellent, well equiped and ideal for a large group - everything we needed was there. Facilities were fantastic for children, with the swimming pool and play area deserving particular mention. Both Kevin and Vicky were friendly, helpful and available whenever we needed them (which wasn't often because the facilities were so good). We look forward to going again...

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I just came back from a solo last minute break at one of the court farm cottages. It was a beautifully done up cottage, equipped with absolutely everything I could possibly need and at a standard of comfort that felt like a true home from home. For a couple of nights I decided to light the woodburner, and it was just so cozy. The people who run the place are very experienced and helpful. It's a great base from which to explore the north Cornish coast. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahKJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week's stay at Court Farm with our two girls (who are just shy of 5 and 3 years old). We booked at the last minute as we were in desperate need of a break after a hideous Winter and what a good decision it turned out to be.

Court Farm is set in Marhamchurch, a pleasant little village a couple of miles outside Bude. There aren't any shops, but Bude is literally a 5 minute drive and there are plenty of shops/pubs there.

There are a number of cottages on a very peaceful and attractive complex, we plumped for Sycamore which sleeps six and has a hot tub. The welcome from Kevin was warm and helpful and he generally could not do enough to help while we were there. We were incredibly impressed by how well equipped the house was, especially if you have children (children's cups, plates, crockery, cots, high chairs, booster seats, a toy box, DVDs, books, CDs, you name it). It was also pretty well equipped for the grown ups, with just about every kitchen implement you could ask for, large screen TV's in lounge and master bedroom, DVD player in lounge, an Ipod dock, washing machine, wood burning stove (with endless free supply of logs and a ready made fire just waiting to be lit on arrival), good quality oak and leather furniture, speedy wifi and of course the large ready filled hot tub, which got plenty of use after the kids had gone to bed! The treatments on site from Vicky sounded incredibly enticing and good value, but unfortunately we ran out of time to try any (next time!). The catering service also looked like an excellent idea and good value, but again we didn't get round to trying it this time.

There was plenty on offer to keep the kids entertained while we were there:

Feeding the farmyard animals (two lovely pigs, two feisty goats, two slightly shy alpacas and a gaggle of chickens) at 9.30am every weekday morning was a massive hit with the kids, who saved up all their apples etc. to donate to the pigs. They also loved collecting (not to mention eating) a fresh egg every morning.

There is a decent sized and well-equipped playground with swings, wendy houses, climbing frames and loads of ride-on toys, scooters and bikes to play with. The tennis court was well used by our kids on all these toys.

The swimming pool, while more functional than beautiful to look at, was kept gloriously warm which meant that our 3 year old was more willing than ever before to get stuck in (she usually finds our local pool too cold to enjoy). The pool is clean, well kept and there are rubber rings, noodles etc. to play with. There are also changing rooms, a toilet and shower in the pool room which was ideal given the temperatures outside. The pool roof apparently rolls back when the weather is fine, making the pool outdoor. Swimming lessons are also available, apparently.

There is a games room in which there is a pool and table tennis table and a small DVD borrowing library. We didn't use it really as our kids are a bit young still. Kevin also rents out bikes, pull alongs, push chairs, wet suits and just about anything else you could possibly need for a family holiday at the seaside. All the rates for these looked extremely reasonable.

There are some great beaches within a couple of miles (we loved Summerleaze in Bude and Widemouth Bay) and there are some excellent places to eat too (the Weir is probably the closest, is quite new, has good food, a great playground, interactive wildlife display for kids, turtles and a view over a lake. We also stopped at the Bay View Inn in Widemouth Bay, which had an excellent looking menu, playground and fantastic views of the bay.)

We had a couple of fun days out with the kids including the Big Sheep near Bideford, the Tamar Otter sanctuary, Tintagel Castle and various beaches. All of these were a big hit with the kids who loved being outdoors and interacting with so many interesting animals.

If I could improve one thing (and this is not Court Farm's fault), it would be the Bullers Arms pub reopening. It is right opposite Court Farm and looks decent but seems to have closed down over the Autumn/Winter, meaning there is nowhere now in the village to have a pint. Fingers crossed someone will have taken it on by the time we return!

All in all, we couldn't recommend Court Farm highly enough and will definitely be back for another family holiday. Our kids were happy, relaxed and entertained (and always exhausted by tea time!) which made for happy parents. A very special place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Court Farm and even with the unpredictable English weather chucking both rain and shine at us, it was the perfect family get away. Sycamore cottage is spotless, spacious and perfect for active toddlers, and the hot tub is a lovely wind down for Mum and Dad. Every little detail is there from stair gates, high chairs, cots, bed guards, plastic bowls and cups, and kids cutlery. We hired a baby carrier and double buggy, both of which we were in considerably better condition than the ones we left at home and saved loads of boot space!!

There was a basket of age appropriate toys and books to keep the kids amused when we were in the cottage, and the site has loads of outdoor toys and play equipment. The pool is much warmer than most learner pools which is lovely if your child is young and normally gets cold quickly.

Kevin was really helpful and the catering service offered by a lcal chef is really tasty and extremely good value.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sereena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Court Farm Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Farm Holidays

Address: Marhamchurch, Bude EX 23 OEN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range: £103 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique mix of quality and stylish period cottages,barns,contemporary houses. Superbly set in the heart of a typical Cornish village. Excellent facilities include heated indoor pool,toddler indoor and outdoor play area's in safe enclosed gardens, tennis court, 3 hot tubs. We have on-site spa treatments, free WIFI, village pub and shop opposite. Our main markets are pre-school toddlers and couples who will benefit our location just 2.5 miles from the 7 local beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Court Farm Holidays Hotel Marhamchurch
Court Farm Holidays Marhamchurch, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing