We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing break with toddler”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marhamchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Court Farm Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A 4-day break with our 1.5y old toddler in the Fushia cottage was very relaxing. Animals feed, bike ride along the canal and ice cream on the beach was our daily routine. Kevin and Vicky are very welcoming and always ready to help.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

A mature couple, we left Leeds at 7am on Saturday, 7th September and arrived at Court Farm Cottages at just before 3pm after a tiring 330 mile trip. We found Kevin in the area at the back of reception supervising two children so he asked us to let ourselves into SHIPPEN and there would be someone along shortly to 'greet' us. We found a tray of biscuits and complementary tea and coffee on the kitchen worktop. We unpacked and sorted ourselves out then went out for a walk. Their properties were only about 50% occupied but it was Tuesday before we met Kevin again, purely by chance in the car park! We stayed for seven days, but unfortunately, we never even caught sight of Vicky. This was a poor welcome and we did not feel like valued guests.

The cottage itself was very clean (though a couple of stains on the upstairs carpet) and functional without being cosy.
The beds are soft but very comfortable - we are used to a hard bed – and we slept really well from day one. It was very quiet with no road sound whatsoever.
The bathroom is good. The over bath shower is good but a grab rail would be useful for people of more mature years or with creaky joints.
The kitchen is well laid out and reasonably well-equipped though not as well as many we have visited at a similar price in various areas of Britain (eg no frying pan, few serving dishes ..)
The lounge area rather lets this property down. There is a large modern television (very good) and a boxy leather suite with several scatter cushions. The pale blue walls give a cold effect and there are no occasional tables or lamps to create a softening effect. The overhead lights are stark and unattractive.
We only used the pool once and found it comfortably warm and clean. It was understandably quite popular with parents with toddlers. The other facilities (play areas etc) would definitely appeal to parents with young children.

Very commendably, Kevin has concerns about wastage, so recycling bins are provided . We were given one toilet roll for the week and when we asked for another we were given his views about how long toilet rolls should last, about trees being chopped down to produce toilet rolls – bottom line (no pun intended) buy your own! With such views I would have expected eco friendly washing up liquid, liquid soap, biodegradable bin liners, etc.

Marhamchurch's only pub has closed and there is no shop. The Weir – cafe/bistro - (one mile?) is a great place to eat and for children to play, as well as a starting point for beautiful local walks. The Bude canal walk is delightful. Elements (cafe/bistro) is another place well worth a visit – good food and good location. Bude itself is a bit run-down and lacks charm.

Court Farm seems to have a clear vision of what its 'client base' is. Londoners with young families I suspect, so maybe we weren't it – a mature, northern couple who just wanted somewhere as a base to explore the area. We paid £400 but would not have been at all happy to pay the full asking price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtfarmholidays, Front Office Manager at Court Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Having emailed Mr Richardson separately following some written comments he left on a feedback form at the end of his stay, I apologised personally for missing him when I called round (about an hour ) after he and his wife had arrived into the Cottage. As this created a bad impression, I will therefore in future ensure that I leave a note to let guests know that I had indeed called around, as I do with all guests, once they have had chance to settle, to see that they have everything that they require to carry on with your stay.

We then make it known, as we detail in our Guest Information pack within every cottage that we (my brother Kevin and I) are always contactable either at the office just around the corner during office hours (9am-2pm Mon-Thurs, all day Fri & Sat) , or via our mobiles if there is anything missing or wrong within the cottage so that we can put it right straight away.

I believe that I addressed all matters raised by Mr Richardson in my personal response to him, and in a follow up email to this post and in his words will act upon it so that we can "improve our outfit".

We ask for feedback as it is extremely important to us, it does take to stay in the cottage sometimes to test everything, spend time in its surroundings to see if there is anything that we can do to make it more comfortable for everyone.

I can also report that our village pub, The Bullers Arms, whilst has indeed been closed (which is actually beyond our control) for about a year now, is rumoured to have been sold, so that, along with a community shop should hopefully be up and running for 2014.

We do hope that these comments will not deter future guests from coming to Court Farm in the near future

Vicky Trewin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at Little Northcott; family of five plus grandma. We found the house perfect for us being so rural yet only a 20 minute beautiful walk to the beach. The weather was very kind to us and the kids were body boarding every day. The house its self was great, we couldn't fault it at all. Plenty of space and well equipped. The hot tub was a great bonus and used by all! We only wished we could stay longer and would like to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwichick02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent a week at Court farm staying in Parlour, with our two children. We think this is one of the nicest holidays we have ever had. The accommodation was spotless, of a very high standard and well equipped. The facilities were superb. The children loved the tennis court, games room and the playground where they spent many a happy hour. Court farm is in a lovely village, just a short drive from Bude.
I had a massage whilst there from Vicky Barnes, totally exquisite, very relaxing and a nice touch to have this facility on site. I would definitely recommend having a treatment whilst there.
We will definitely be returning. I cannot say anything negative at all about Court farm. We will definitely be returning, we were sad to leave.
A perfect base for a family holiday with high standard facilities.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtfarmholidays, Manager at Court Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thankyou Jenny were so pleased your family enjoyed whats on offer,we agree Vicky provides an excellent service ,which we think betters the large hotel spa experience,hope to see you return soon.Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent two weeks at Court Farm- stayed in the farmhouse- in late June and early July with baby, toddler and grand parents. Despite the generally average weather we had a fabulous time and are planning another visit with the kids.

The farmhouse is great- loads of space and safe for the kids to play out the front (gated off) round the patio area. Well equipped too- it's the first self catering place I've been where I didn't need to buy something for the kitchen from a local hardware shop.

Loads to do at the farm for the kids, we took full advantage of the swimming pool which was great for our 2.5 year old- plenty warm enough. Swimming lessons, with Rosie, were a worthwhile addition when he needed some help with the technique! Animal feeding was good fun and there were plenty of other distractions with the play area, cars/bikes and indoor (albeit small) play area. Great for those thirty minute events whilst the baby was feeding.

Widemouth bay was great, good rock pools and loads of space to play- even good fun on the numerous 'cool' days we experienced. When it rained, we went for walks and bike rides and even (against better judgement!) the soft play in Bude, which was actually the best one I've ever seen!

Eating with kids at the Bay View Inn (£20 a head) was easy, standard pub fare but loads of it, quick service and none the worse for being a bit 'kiss-me-quick'! If you fancy something more upmarket, Life's a Beach and the River Life Bistro (for the evening-didn't go during the day) were both truly excellent gastro experiences (£40-£50 a head with good wine and three courses). We also tried the Weir (breakfast only-excellent) which was a five minute off road cycle away.

The delivered home food service was equally good and pretty reasonable value compared to a Waitrose ready meal for example, even if the lady who cooks it was little brusque- the food was worth it!

Kevin and Vicky, the owners/managers were welcoming and friendly and tried to help wherever/whenever possible.

The downsides: Not many! The pool is functional and not a beautiful 'spa' facility like some places we've stayed but this meant our little lad was more welcome in it than he would have been at those other places! The village pub closure means you have to get in the car for dinner; not a factor for us with the baby. As other reviewers have found, the WiFi is hit and miss. That's it...

Overall- brilliant- would go again tomorrow!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_C186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtfarmholidays, Manager at Court Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thankyou David for the fantastic review,you forgot to mention our bike ride into Bude to try Budes latest and best venue for a drink the beach@bude with stunning views,hope to see you return soon. Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

A fantastic Cornish holiday - made even better because of the weather. We stayed in 'Little Northcott' which is a great house, the hosts are wonderfully friendly & hospitable. We loved the peaceful location of Northcott but also very much enjoyed the facilities at the Marhamchurch base - animal interaction/feeding, tennis, swimming pool & games room. The beaches are superb & we all wanted to stay for much longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtfarmholidays, Manager at Court Farm Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed the house and what we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We extended our holiday in Bude at Court Farm because we were having such a good time and spent 3 days in Lower Northcott Farmhouse.

The isolation and peace was divine.

The house is huge, well equipped and very welcoming so it was a perfect base for our activities.

The animals are a hoot. The pigs, goats, rabbits, Bubbles and Tiny Tim add something very special.

We had excellent weather so played and ate in the garden and having a divine beach like Northcott at the end of the farm track was the stuff dreams are made of.

The last mention goes to Debbie and Andrew our hosts. They were excellent and could not have done more in our brief but truly memorable stay. A massive thank you and the very strongest recommendation.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marhamchurch
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
2.2 mi away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
652 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
1.9 mi away
Broomhill Manor Country Estate
1.5 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#10 of 49 in Bude
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Court Farm Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Court Farm Holidays

Address: Marhamchurch, Bude EX 23 OEN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude > Marhamchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Marhamchurch
Price Range: £103 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique mix of quality and stylish period cottages,barns,contemporary houses. Superbly set in the heart of a typical Cornish village. Excellent facilities include heated indoor pool,toddler indoor and outdoor play area's in safe enclosed gardens, tennis court, 3 hot tubs. We have on-site spa treatments, free WIFI, village pub and shop opposite. Our main markets are pre-school toddlers and couples who will benefit our location just 2.5 miles from the 7 local beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Court Farm Holidays Hotel Marhamchurch
Court Farm Holidays Marhamchurch, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing