We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen weekend at Hilton Farm Housw”
The 16th century farmhouse and private garden, with Pear Tree cottage in the background.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 16th century farmhouse and private garden, with Pear Tree cottage in the background.
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is open from Easter to the end of September. Looking out over the fields to the sea. Great views from the tennis court too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
71 reviews
The 16th century farmhouse and private garden, with Pear Tree cottage in the background.
Our heated outdoor swimming pool is open from Easter to the end of September.
Looking out over the fields to the sea. Great views from the tennis court too.
Our hot tub, open all year round.
Spectacular views from the South West coastal path
Black Rock beach - a walk over the fields or 10 minutes in the car.
Our all-weather tennis court.
Early winter mornings
Amazing sunset over the sea
Farm house main bedroom
Farm House second en-suite
Farm house third double
Farm house kitchen
Farm house dining room
Double room Primrose
The kitchen and dining area in Swallow's Nest, one of the barn conversions overlooking the pool
Pound Cottage
Games room
Games room
Manor Cottage
Parsons cottage
Parsons en-suite
Stable double
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Marhamchurch, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nikkismit...
1 review
“Hen weekend at Hilton Farm Housw”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I booked the large farmhouse for my hen weekend as it looked stunning on the website and there were plenty of rooms for the girls. It did not disappoint, there were three bathrooms two of them en suite which was useful for 10 of us. Whilst some of us had surf lessons 10 minutes away at beautiful Widemouth Bay the others stayed and enjoyed the hot tub and swimming pool. The location is quiet as a mouse over looking rolling hills and countryside. Restaurants and bars are only a 10 minute car journey in the beautiful town of Bude. This is a lovely destination for chill out time with the family too although if you are looking for a wild night out this is not the town for you. Luckily for us girls we had most of our fun at the farm house and on site. Perfect for families and children there is plenty for them to do with parks, trampolines, tennis, swimming and a games room I forgot to explore. We were left essentials such as milk tea, coffee, washing up liquid and toilet roll too which was really helpful. Supermarket is only in Bude so plenty of things close by.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky2007
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were kindly aloud in early after travelling seven hours down south. We were greated by a lady who quickly showed us into The Farmhouse who then disappeared. Last we seen of her and only know her name is Faye from the book of rules we read in the cottage. 16th century is fabulous and it does feel homely except for the amount of cobwebs we came across, past guests say it's all immaculate and the hosts are very welcoming but we didn't find that to be true. Second day in, myself and two others from our group of 12 went to see the animals on site, coming up to the ponys, our auntie put her hand through the fence to stroke it as the rules claim children are able to pet the animals so assumed it would be safe. Unfortunately she got an electric bolt through her body and was in tears with shock imagining if it was one of our small children. We knocked at reception to see how it had happened and Bernardo explained that one of the wires is electric and the sign had fell down. Should have been replaced immediately in our eyes. He didn't ask if she was ok, just that it had fallen but did replace it soon after. The only other encounter we had with either of the hosts was when we knocked for more eggs as we didn't realise the chicks there only lay six per day. The pool is described as clean by lots of others on here and yes, most of the time it was except for the odd occasion when it was full of dirt and dead creatures. Even the hot tub had the occasional ring of dirt around the top which we couldn't stay in. The games room was large, has all sorts in and the views are amazing. Another down side is the area in which it is situated. It's not really close to anything and there are no foot paths so you can't really take young children out for a walk etc as the roads surrounding are quite busy. As we were departing, i knocked at reception to be greeted by a little girl who was no older then 5 or 6. She took my key and i waited for a voice from Faye or Bernardo to shout me back as i was leaving but i heard nothing so that was our goodbye. I don't think we would return, not made to feel welcome by the hosts at all. On a good note, we came home with a suitcase full of clean clothes after using the on site washing machine which is a good touch and saved us doing it all once got back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
We are sorry you were a bit disappointed with your stay. Most of our guests love the area, the peace and quiet and beautiful scenery and find lots to do around here. We did get the impression that you were enjoying the break - certainly the children seemed to enjoy themselves outside. We do spend a lot of time cleaning the pool and hot tub every day - unfortunately as it is outdoors, there are always leaves and insects around. We also keep the hot tub as clean as possible, but obviously we don't want to get in the way of people who want to use it. The farmhouse is cleaned thoroughly after every stay - it is a lovely old house as you say, but one of the difficulties with an old house right next to farmland is the spiders and however hard we try to get rid of them, they do seem to reappear the day after. I am really sorry that you didn't find us welcoming and that I wasn't available when you left - we do our best to be helpful but unobtrusive and we are always willing to answer questions about where to go and local attractions. I hope this won't put you off visiting Cornwall again - it is a beautiful place, but perhaps this wasn't the right spot for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookie501
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow !!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What an amazing place to come a relax.Great accommodation,,we rented 2 properties and both were absolutely outstanding.Everything was just perfect.The facilities were brilliant too with a heated outdoor swimming pool and a hot tub along with a tennis court.
Great location not far from the beach and shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Fakenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything you need to keep the kids entertained”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a terrific place. Our kids are 7 and 10.
There is plenty to occupy them without even needing to go to the beach.
The games room is well-stocked, with baby football, pool, Happy Street, board games, etc. for rainy days or evenings chilling.
The hot tub is well maintained and refreshed regularly I'm glad to say, ditto the pool.
The tennis courts are level and the fencing intact, and there is decent equipment and new balls available to borrow.
The accommodation is clean, modern, comfortable and well-equipped.
So I'd say a faultless place. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsSDWhit...
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all expectations!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

What a wonderful place for a family holiday. Our cottage was immaculate, warm & comfy. The children swam in the pool every day, played tennis and bounced to their hearts' content. Glorious weather and stunning views made this break a truly relaxing one. Faye and Bernardo are superlative hosts.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CurMon
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two weeks of Bliss”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Hilton Farm house was a pleasure to stay in and such lovely old world charm. It really has a home away from home feeling. Nevertheless, that is in large part to the owners, Bernardo and Fay, they are fantastic hosts, and they really do everything to make your stay enjoyable. Especially enjoyed the pool and hot tub, which I do believe, Bernardo is quite proud of and takes exceptional care with the cleaning and maintenance. The Tennis Court is another advantage; for those that enjoy an active life style Hilton Farm Cottages has that covered also. For me, the Farm House was suited for a large family and with the two drawing rooms and dinning room, there is an opportunity to find a room to unwind and relax with a good book without too much disruption by others in the house. It is an idyll in the North Cornish country-side that gets my approval. I must admit, there is one flaw in the Farm House, which is the stairs...difficult for the elderly to manage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue A
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family accommodation”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here For a few days in order to attend a family party. We were a mixed age group from 1- 57. The cottages are very well equipped, clean and the beds are very comfortable. the outside space is very good especially for young children as there is a pool, play area and some animals. The owners are very friendly and accessible but not intrusive. there is a BBQ area and also a hot tub. we would definitely stay here again when visiting the area

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing