We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Probably the best self catering pad we've ever...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penleaze Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marhamchurch, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ClaireVar...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Probably the best self catering pad we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved it and even better the kids loved it so much they were kissing it on the way out! High quality finish, looks exactly like the website and maybe even better. My wife too advantage of the Salon which is also excellent. The hosts are real characters, nothing too much trouble and look after you as and when you need them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the finish
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Wow, you're making me blush. Thank you so much for your amazing feedback! It was great having you here, you were such a lovely group of visitors!...and we hope to see you again one day!

Kindest regards,
Stefan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerpan...
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the Penleaze Lodge for 1 week in early September. There were 5 adults and 1 toddler in the group and the accommodation was perfect.

The hosts, Stefan and Richard, were incredibly friendly and made us feel really welcome.

The property was only completed earlier this year but it has a real wow factor and has been finished to a very high specification. We had a couple of minor issues during our stay but they were dealt with efficiently by our hosts. The underfloor heating in the bathrooms was lovely and the bedrooms are all pretty spacious. We also have to mention the mezzanine level which was great for releasing and reading, we also read our daughter bedtime story up there every night because it was such a great chill out area. The views are outstanding!

Bude is only a 5-10 minute drive away and offers all the shops you are likely to need plus there's plenty of activities for both adults and children. Our daughter is nearly 2 years old and she loved the rock pools on the beach and the parks / activities that we all comfortably within reach of the area.

I would highly recommend this property and will certainly consider returning here when we come to the Bude area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review!
Very much appreciated! It's so good to hear you've had such a great time at Penleaze. You were fantastic guests and it would be great to see again one day at Penleaze.

Kindest regards,
Stefan&Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at The Lodge in August 2015 and it was absolutely perfect. The welcome from Stefan was wonderful and after a six hour drive - being offered a glass of Prosecco started our holiday off in real style. The property stands in large grounds with open views - brilliant if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life! The Lodge is very modern (exactly as in the pictures) fully equipped, spotlessly clean and the attention to detail is just outstanding!
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, and TheSalon next door provided superb beauty treatments for the family. We all thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and will definitely stay at The Lodge again! However when word gets around how fantastic it is - that might be difficult!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The design and comfort of the property
Liked least: Cornwall's narrow roads!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Dear Ian, Thank you ever so much for your gorgeous feedback. We couldn't have wished for a better group of visitors then you and your lovely family and we really look forward to hopefully see you soon! Thanks, Stefan and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B H
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marvellous country side and coastal views”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This property has a modern and fresh feel along with outstanding views and facilities. The open plan living area was great for socialising and for admiring the views. The house and contents were well thought out and the three en suite bathrooms were an added bonus. The Jacuzzi was a great hit with our three teenagers.

The 'Salon' next door has a great range of services and treatments on offer for all ages and tastes. The owners are very friendly and helpful and it was good to be in a farm location with wonderful walks nearby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation about returning.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family stay at Penleaze!Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards, Stefan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing