We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Scarlet Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa(Mawgan Porth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Retorrick Mill(St. Mawgan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pendeen Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,664)
Filter reviews
1,665 results
Traveller rating
1,305
248
80
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,305
248
80
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe cliffrelaxation roomspa journeyhotel dogeco hotelindulgent roomglass of champagnegenerous roomopen plan bathroomspecial occasionworth every pennyamazing hoteltea and coffeeoverlooking the beachsteam roomwine list
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,513 - 1,518 of 1,665 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We have just returned from the Scarlet and had the most amazing time. The welcome/check in process was the best we've ever experienced and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Complimentary daily tea/coffee anywhere in the hotel was great and we made use of this on arrival on the beautiful deck area.

Our room (as do all) had an incredible view of the bay and was decorated to a high standard with all the expected luxuries.

The hotel itself has the most amazing interior design and wanted to steal some of the artwork although not sure it would have looked as good in our home!

The standard of the food is second to none - the menu is mouthwatering and we wanted to try everything! Mid week low season break was good value with evening meals, breakfast and a massage in our room included. Wine was delicious and evening service great. The cliff top hot tub is a must with champagne to really enjoy the view!

The only point for feedback (rather than negative criticism) is that the service at breakfast could be improved - a little disorganised and had to repeatedly ask for items/service as did other tables around us - not a problem at lunch or dinner so maybe just a couple of off days?!

However, all in all this was a fantastic break, the staff do work really hard to make your stay as restful as possible and are approachable and friendly. We definitely will return and recommend to friends!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrTravelCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Having read so much about The Scarlet we were reallz excited about our stay of 5 nights in early April. We had had a nightmare trying to get the spa to respond to us regarding our booked treatments in the weeks leading up to the visit and this meant that even on arrival we did not know what had been booked. They simply did not answer the telephone nor emails. On arrival there is a real "wow" factor of floor to ceiling window and a view to die for. There is no one to meet you when you arrive, nor take your bags from the car. But, we were pretty relaxed and happy to be there. We were shown round and eventually got to the spa. Treatments were in fact correct and we were promised that the spa manager would talk to us about out difficulties. This never happened.
We had a brilliant room, the view was truly amazing and we were lucky with the weather. Dinner the first night was good, not great, but decent. The room was comfortable but didnt have any luxury feel to it, and the bathroom was pretty sparse. Beds comfortable, only complaint was that the singles were a little narrow.
Breakfast is a hit or miss scenario. The service is shockingly bad and we were made to feel awkward when enquiring where our order was after 45 mins. This was repeated on every morning we were there. The same with dinner service. In fact on one night we simply gave up and walked out. They seriously need a Maitre D and some senior support for the very young team.
Tea and coffee is not provided in the rooms but on request,. Which would be great if when you requested it it actually arrived. Often took an hour, and then some kind of excuse.
The room was not cleaned properlz at any point in our stay. Really, dust balls, hair, shower not cleaned. This is pretty atrocious for a so called 5 star hotel. Towels left in the bath were not changed, we could not use the chairs on our balcony the whole stay due to the seagull excrement. We did ask for this to be cleaned, and our room, but to no avail.
Spa treatments are good quality, and staff friendly. The layout of the hotel is also great with many spaces to relax in. Especially like the pods!
Overall this was a hotel with some highs and some terrible lows. I guess it depends on what you expect before going. If you are pretty laid back, dont mind not getting service and the view and location are of primary importance to you, then you will be happy. If you expect true 5 star service, and value for money ( we spent over £2000 each on a 5 day stay) then go elsewhere.
There seem to be many people who love the place, but I cannot count myself amongst these. It is a real shame, there is such an opportunity for this place to be great, and I wanted it to be. But it isnt, there are too many problems and I couldnt recommend this hotel to any family or friends.

Room Tip: ask for a full sea view
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sbryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

I am very sorry that our service feel short of our stanards during your recent stay. I do hope you felt the time spend sharing this with our Duty Manager and the actions taken to try and rectify the situation were satisfactory. If you would like to share your thoughts with me personally please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We absolutely loved this hotel. The service and food was fab.
The hotel/rooms/facilities were clean and well kept.
The view from our room was breathtaking. The hot tub on the cliff is a must.
The staff were friendly and welcoming throughout.
Gorgeous location!
Negatives: the welcome pack was well used, the bed I felt was too small for a good nights sleep-personal preference and the bottles of products were half full!
Overall these are minor points, almost not worth mentioning. Giving a true reflection is important I felt for a review.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

It is difficult to write in a review just how special The Scarlet really is. From the moment you walk in to the reception area you know that this hotel is going to be different to any other. The decor is great and ranges from funky looking chairs to tranquil paintings and sculptures. The staff are all local, and local drinks (wines/beers) are always offered before non-local produce, which gives the feel that the hotel is really trying to help the local community. Our room was beautiful, very modern and fresh interior, with a real 'chill out' feel, we had a private garden area, and an upstairs pod with a huge bean bag and views to the sea. Whilst in our room we did not hear any noise from outside, no voices in the corridor, or doors being closed, TV's etc..... It was very quiet and very relaxing. The spa area is amazing, lovely steam room and pool with a great relaxation room next door, I would advise against the outdoor natural pool unless you are brave, as it is freezing!!!
There are so many areas within the hotel where relaxing (indoors or outdoors) is encouraged and all have views of the breathtaking coast and sandy beach.
The staff are ALL very helpful and friendly, and they make you feel that nothing is too much trouble. The food is amazing, and the recommended wines for each course is a great touch, however beware some of the sprirts (vodka) can be a little pricey!!!
Our stay at The Scarlet was truly unforgettable for all of the right reasons, and whilst it is a little bit more expensive than your average hotel, The Scarlet is anything but average and it is well worth paying that bit extra to enjoy the most relaxing, pampered, and perfect break you could ever imagine!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I really don’t know what the previous reviewer (PADSTOWWINDSOR) is talking about. Without exception all the staff were extremely friendly, attentive & smiley. But as this reviewer obviously didn’t even stay here, it would be prudent to ignore his/her review.

From somebody who has actually stayed at The Scarlet - fantastic staff, beautiful location, clever & inspiring décor, food gorgeous, lovely spa treatments – especially the red tub! Everything was perfect. You won’t be disappointed. I unfortunately became ill for 24 hours & the care & attention of the staff was second to none - & greatly appreciated.

The only thing to mention as a friendly bit of constructive criticism is that their admin could be a little more efficient. I had to twice request a booking confirmation via email, & still never received one. Also, when we were checking out their credit card machine wasn’t working so they said they would post the invoice to my home. This never arrived so I had to contact them & request it again. These are small details, but would be seen as a larger negative by some people.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews