We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel but inconsistent service standards”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel but inconsistent service standards”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This is a gem of a hotel - beautiful modern design and spectacular sea view setting. It is perfect for access to the gorgeous North Cornwall coast path and Bedruthan Steps. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (celebrating our silver wedding anniversary and walking the North Cornwall coast path) but certain aspects of the service did not quite measure up to the standards to be expect for the price, nor to those the hotel obviously aspires.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly but at times the mistakes almost resembled Faulty Towers. For example:
(1) When we checked in a very competent receptionist met us, showed us around the hotel, explained how everything worked and then noted down in great detail our requests for a picnic lunch to take on a walk the next morning. Unfortunately the picnic order never made it to the kitchen, or got lost in the kitchen and so the picnic had not been made and we had to repeat the order over breakfast.
(2) On the Sunday morning we were the first to arrive for breakfast at precisely 8.00am - so that we could start our walk early. However, although we were the only ones in the restaurant, it took 23 minutes before coffee and tea arrived and another 5 minutes for some toast - both the tea and toast arrived after the cooked breakfast despite much chasing!
(3) When we ate dinner in the restaurant both the starter and main course selected by my wife were no longer available (probably because we were the last to dine at 9.00pm).
(4) Throughout the evening meal waiters were seen to be walking up and down the restaurant with plates of expensive and delicious food but with no idea which table they were for! This caused laughter several times amongst fellow diners.
(5) A vacuum cleaner was left outside our bedroom door for several hours.
(6) Used room service trays were not collected quickly enough so that the walk along the corridor from the bedroom to the dining-room became something of an obstacle course. It also detracted from the hotel's wonderful style!
The list goes on ....
These problems were minor irritations but they ought to be eliminated by management of a hotel such as this. Despite them we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMDBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for your review the hotel. I am glad that in general you enjoyed your stay. You are correct, your frustrations are not the standards we aspire to and your feedback will be put to good use. If there is more...... I would appreciate you taking the time to email me personally nikki.broom@scarlethotel.co.uk

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    231
    73
    17
    14
See reviews for
71
1,213
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

At this type of establishment you would expect high quality and service, unfortunately this was not the case. After enjoying a lovely day out in Cornwall we returned to our room and discovered that our keycard wasn't working. The receptionist gave us a new keycard without hesitation and once we entered the room we found out that all our belongings were removed and that new guests checked-in! Apparently these guests demanded our room and both the reception and housekeeping team thought that it was absolutely normal to remove all our belongings and literally throw them on a pile in another room. The room move was not communicated whatsoever and to make matters worse the receptionist was not apologetic at all. A gesture from the hotel, although appreciated, did not make up for the very disappointing and stressful experience. I would not recommend this hotel and advise guests to keep an eye on their belongings as they might unexpectedly be moved.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Th16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Scarlet both here and during your stay with us. I can fully appreciate how upsetting this awful misunderstanding was, my team were also very upset and sorry to have had such a negative impact on your experience. I know that my Duty Manager has taken on board and passed on the required learning to ensure this does not happen again. I do hope that should you feel you would like to discuss this matter with me personally that you will not hesitate to contact me nikki.broom@scarlethotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Went with friends whilst staying in Mawgan Porth. Arrived an sat in Bar area above resteraunt. We were given Menu's but it took a long time to be asked if we wanted drinks. The ladies were interested in Cocktails but the waiter only showed a list, we asked what was in each one but the waiter didnt know or provide a detailed list? So we didnt order any - missed out there?? We ordered 'ordinary' drinks instead. We were shown to our table, again the service was not great as we all had to carry our own drinks down the stairs to the resteraunt. The food was good though. They brought baskets of homemade bread then I had pan fried Ray fin starter and for the main the Saddle of Lamb with a mini Shepherds pie. Cheapest wine was £24!! They did provide their own mineral water, sparkling & still. Desserts followed, I had the Cheeseboard, 3 local cheeses a rich marmalade and light bread sticks (although I would have prefered 'propper' crackers!) Coffee and petit fours follwed. The ambiance and setting were lovely. The setting sun over the sea was fantastic. Staff we a 'mixed bunch' Too many individuals for one table.

Room Tip: Good for a special occasion-Deep pockets required!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrownAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant following your recent visit. We will take a look at how we might better communicate the limited cocktail list we offer. Just a small point on the wine pricing, our cheapest wine is £19.50 per bottle and our winelist features 9 wines at under £24.00 per bottle.

I do hope we will see you again next time you are in Cornwall.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This is perhaps the most spectacularly situated hotel I've ever visited. The view walking in the front door is amazing, across the lounge and an outdoor reflecting pool to a wide sandy bay, waves, and cliffs. Our room also had a terrific view, and I imagine if I were visiting in the summer, a swim in the outdoor natural pool would be stunning, too. We were there when it was mostly too cold for sitting outside, but we did get a bit of time in the late afternoon sun on our balcony. The free coffee and tea service was great, as was the hotel service overall. It seems perfect for a romantic getaway. The only downside is that the bathroom is not especially private, if that's important to you, and the shower area included the toilet, with the result that the toilet area was surrounded by water. The staff cleaned this up everyday but the area seemed a bit ill considered--unlike EVERY other aspect of the hotel. The food wasn't perhaps as amazing as the rest of the place, but it was okay and they made us a very nice packed lunch to take out walking. The hotel is right along the coast path and views abound in both directions.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LighthouseKeeper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves. Just a small note on the privacy in the loo, we do have some rooms where the loo is private. Please ask our reservations team to help guide you to the room that best matches your needs if you choose to come again.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We have just returned from the Scarlet and had the most amazing time. The welcome/check in process was the best we've ever experienced and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Complimentary daily tea/coffee anywhere in the hotel was great and we made use of this on arrival on the beautiful deck area.

Our room (as do all) had an incredible view of the bay and was decorated to a high standard with all the expected luxuries.

The hotel itself has the most amazing interior design and wanted to steal some of the artwork although not sure it would have looked as good in our home!

The standard of the food is second to none - the menu is mouthwatering and we wanted to try everything! Mid week low season break was good value with evening meals, breakfast and a massage in our room included. Wine was delicious and evening service great. The cliff top hot tub is a must with champagne to really enjoy the view!

The only point for feedback (rather than negative criticism) is that the service at breakfast could be improved - a little disorganised and had to repeatedly ask for items/service as did other tables around us - not a problem at lunch or dinner so maybe just a couple of off days?!

However, all in all this was a fantastic break, the staff do work really hard to make your stay as restful as possible and are approachable and friendly. We definitely will return and recommend to friends!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTravelCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Having read so much about The Scarlet we were reallz excited about our stay of 5 nights in early April. We had had a nightmare trying to get the spa to respond to us regarding our booked treatments in the weeks leading up to the visit and this meant that even on arrival we did not know what had been booked. They simply did not answer the telephone nor emails. On arrival there is a real "wow" factor of floor to ceiling window and a view to die for. There is no one to meet you when you arrive, nor take your bags from the car. But, we were pretty relaxed and happy to be there. We were shown round and eventually got to the spa. Treatments were in fact correct and we were promised that the spa manager would talk to us about out difficulties. This never happened.
We had a brilliant room, the view was truly amazing and we were lucky with the weather. Dinner the first night was good, not great, but decent. The room was comfortable but didnt have any luxury feel to it, and the bathroom was pretty sparse. Beds comfortable, only complaint was that the singles were a little narrow.
Breakfast is a hit or miss scenario. The service is shockingly bad and we were made to feel awkward when enquiring where our order was after 45 mins. This was repeated on every morning we were there. The same with dinner service. In fact on one night we simply gave up and walked out. They seriously need a Maitre D and some senior support for the very young team.
Tea and coffee is not provided in the rooms but on request,. Which would be great if when you requested it it actually arrived. Often took an hour, and then some kind of excuse.
The room was not cleaned properlz at any point in our stay. Really, dust balls, hair, shower not cleaned. This is pretty atrocious for a so called 5 star hotel. Towels left in the bath were not changed, we could not use the chairs on our balcony the whole stay due to the seagull excrement. We did ask for this to be cleaned, and our room, but to no avail.
Spa treatments are good quality, and staff friendly. The layout of the hotel is also great with many spaces to relax in. Especially like the pods!
Overall this was a hotel with some highs and some terrible lows. I guess it depends on what you expect before going. If you are pretty laid back, dont mind not getting service and the view and location are of primary importance to you, then you will be happy. If you expect true 5 star service, and value for money ( we spent over £2000 each on a 5 day stay) then go elsewhere.
There seem to be many people who love the place, but I cannot count myself amongst these. It is a real shame, there is such an opportunity for this place to be great, and I wanted it to be. But it isnt, there are too many problems and I couldnt recommend this hotel to any family or friends.

Room Tip: ask for a full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sbryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
I am very sorry that our service feel short of our stanards during your recent stay. I do hope you felt the time spend sharing this with our Duty Manager and the actions taken to try and rectify the situation were satisfactory. If you would like to share your thoughts with me personally please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We absolutely loved this hotel. The service and food was fab.
The hotel/rooms/facilities were clean and well kept.
The view from our room was breathtaking. The hot tub on the cliff is a must.
The staff were friendly and welcoming throughout.
Gorgeous location!
Negatives: the welcome pack was well used, the bed I felt was too small for a good nights sleep-personal preference and the bottles of products were half full!
Overall these are minor points, almost not worth mentioning. Giving a true reflection is important I felt for a review.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,157 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
471 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
165 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing