We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Scarlet Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa(Mawgan Porth)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kenton Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porth Lodge Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$107
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sandy Lodge Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,662)
Filter reviews
1,662 results
Traveller rating
1,302
248
80
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,302
248
80
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe cliffrelaxation roomspa journeyhotel dogeco hotelindulgent roomglass of champagnegenerous roomopen plan bathroomspecial occasionworth every pennyamazing hoteltea and coffeeoverlooking the beachsteam roomwine list
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,478 - 1,483 of 1,662 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed here with friends for three days - so chilled we added another day on! The area is beautiful and the hotel just seems to slot in. Staff were lovely - not in your face just there when needed and food very enjoyable. Atmospher is very relaxed but professional and what you would hope from a coast hotel - some how stuffy county house just don't suit the beach scene . Enjoyed our stay and will be back.....pennies permitting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evamayjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sacrlet on trip advisor we really apreciate our guests taking the time to tell the rest of the world about our hotel. I do hope we will see you here the next time you feel the need to chill out for a few days.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Starting at the end; yes, we recommend it and would go again. Food excellent and good value (especially if you book the all-in package). One always feels a bit churlish criticising a very good establishment...but some niggles: the owners promote the place as an ECO-wotsit hotel, which is fine up to a point. You may not like the outside pool which is edged and lined by rocks and plants; not sure what you are treading on! And it's cold. Whereas in the indoor pool you could poach an egg; far too hot.Odd for an ECO-wotsit hotel. Why do (most) hotels believe that 4 pairs of sun loungers is sufficient when you have 37 rooms; there is loads of room for more. Spend some money please. Room is good but spartan; bed, bedding and pillows 10/10 but one piece of soap the size of an After Eight Mint to share around between your basin, shower and bath; and they give you a bag to take it home in if there is any left.Ha! They won't change your towels or sheets without a specific request; so don't stay for a month! The 'blurb' in the room takes half a page of text telling you why they are NOT giving you a coffee/tea tray in your room; having said that they have an 'any time, any place' service for drinks and snacks which works really well. The food is interesting and good and the menu changes substantially every day which is good if you are staying a while. However the eating experience is slightly spoiled by two things. There is no-one 'in charge' in the restaurant. Their relaxed approach is fine if it works (all the staff are bright and pleasant) but you can be asked by three different staff if you are ready to order and you can wait an age for drinks to arrive from the bar. No real system, it appears. Also the chef will not be rushed; it says so on your menu! Particularly at breakfast; if you need to eat in less than an hour and a half you will need to make a fuss. Don't be content with a table in the middle of the restaurant; the floor bounces (the structural engineer was mean with the steel) and this could really put you off your meal; stick to round the edges. All-in-all a good place and relaxed atmosphere; the ECO-wotsit thing is fine for getting planning consent (done) and for the owners (somewhere else by now?) but is a bit overplayed, especially when you look at the posh cars outside which have each probably put 200+ Kilograms of CO2 into the air just getting there and back. Not as bad as I make it sound. Try it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Scarlet. I would like to assure you and other readers of our genuine commitment to the environment which is inspired by the owners Debbie, Emma & Rebecca and is delivered by our team all of whom do their bit.

For further information please visit http://scarlethotel.co.uk/environment.asp

We are a Luxury Hotel and as such we often have some very luxurious cars in the car park, but we do offer guests who arrive by public transport, on foot or by bicycle a 10% discount off their 1st night.

Thank you for your comments on your dining experience. We have recently made some changes to how we run breakfast and feel sure our guests will see the difference.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact me nikki.broom@scarlethotel.co.uk

Kind regards


Nikki Broom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We went for lunch - but go for anything - you just want to sit on one of these ridiculously big rattan chairs and look out over the natural pool to one of Cornwall's most beautiful beaches. Sip a cocktail while watching beautiful people sit in giant red tea cup shaped Jacuzzis by the side of the pool. I found it on the recommended list on Nathan Outlaw's site and it is quite hard to find under restaurants, its main thrust is as a spa/hotel. It is designed to the nth degree and great fun for posing. I particularly liked the offer of a friendly dog to accompany you on your walks, just ask at reception, now that is a spa first as far as I know and a real treat. The food is ok - lunch is set £16 - £19 and represents good value for the opportunity to be part of The Scarlet for a few hours. it is not really a foodie destination, although the staff are lovely and the tables have stunning views, the food is fairly pedestrian, if it ever gets its food to match its views look out Padstow you won't get a look in. Waxlyrical Oxford

Room Tip: Quieter further away from the pool
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordWaxlyrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following a visit to the Scarlet. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Scarlet is a fantastic hotel which offer the combination of luxury and environmental awareness. Although not cheap it is a must for those with children who want a retreat for themselves from the hum drum of every day life.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redltcdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Scarlet. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I just wanted to avoid any confusion over this review. The Scarlet is a hotel for grown up's only and I think this reviewer is suggesting it is a good place to Escape to without the children and have a break away.

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had read a review of the Scarlet shortly after it opened so decided to stay here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.
We stayed in a Just Right room which was lovely, once we got used to the (very) open plan bathroom! The view of the sea, and the sound of the waves through the window were incredible, helped by the best weather we have ever experienced in Cornwall.
We ate at the hotel both nights and the food was amazing, although the service on Saturday night and Sunday morning, although friendly and welcoming, was a little slow. (I think possibly they were training new staff?)
According to the member of staff who showed us to our room the outdoor pool is rarely used, but we would encourage it as it was fabulous when we got used to the unheated temperature.
The layout of the hotel leads to the feeling that it is almost empty - despite the number of guests staying it never felt crowded or too busy.
Overall we had a great time, didn't want to leave, and will be back (when we have saved up!)
The website is a little difficult to use - prices were wrong when we tried to book, and there was a bit of a mix up so I would advise calling them as they were very helpful on the phone.

Room Tip: Call and speak to someone.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katethevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanviewCornwall, General Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thank you for reviwing the Scarlet. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the website. We always prefer to talk to people about their booking our rooms are all different and guests generally benefit from a conversation with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Best wishes

Nikki Broom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews