We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Scarlet Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa(Mawgan Porth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Retorrick Mill(St. Mawgan)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa(Newquay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pendeen Hotel(Newquay)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,662)
Filter reviews
1,662 results
Traveller rating
1,302
248
80
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,302
248
80
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe cliffrelaxation roomspa journeyhotel dogeco hotelindulgent roomglass of champagnegenerous roomopen plan bathroomspecial occasionworth every pennyamazing hoteltea and coffeeoverlooking the beachsteam roomwine list
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,276 - 1,281 of 1,662 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

In our opinion and experience the Scarlet Hotel has a unique combination of wonderful location, excellent service, friendly staff and a lovely relaxed atmosphere but without compromising efficiency in any way. This was our first stay and we shall certainly return !

Michael & Christian Wright

Room Tip: Room 7 for space,comfort,location, marvellous view and good facilities for a partially disabled person.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

From the moment you round the headland travelling from Newquay and you spy The Scarlet nesstling like a modernistic rose amongst a bunch of fairly hideous 60's & 70's thorns, you realise you're in for a bit of an adventure!

This hotel is quite like no other - both its situation, carved as it is into the hillside and it's unique architecture promise a quite different experience. And so it proved from the moment we entered the hotel: there is no reception as such (which is a tad dis-concerting at first) but within moments a member of staff appears to warmly greet the visitor, seemingly sensing his/her presence with zen-like efficiency. Casually, yet efficiently one's details are taken and recorded at a sofa strategicaly placed in the lobby to take maximum advantage of the gloroius views. And so the tenor for our stay was set.

We were escourted to our room, for us a ground floor one within the "front" block, past the bar, restaurant and health spa which gave us time to cast an eye over the facilities, all of which looked smart, with number of nice design touches. The room was, however, a bit of a surprise - a minimalist / modernist design statement, it seemed to us that form (or the outward expression of it) had taken precedence over function from a guests perspective. I say this because, whilst we were immediately struck by yet another fabulous view from full-height sliding doors at one end, we were also struck by the lack of any real division between the bedroom and the ensuite. In fact, it'd be wrong to call it a division - there's a sleeping area and an "ablutting" area within a single space. And yes, that does mean what you're thinking - the toilet is effectively in your bedroom, albeit behind a kind of basic modesty screen.

Now whilst this is an interesting style statement, I think somebody forgot the practicalities of what actually happens in a hotel bedroom, often in the middle of the night (no, not THAT!). Going to the loo ( at whatever time) is, for most of us, a fairly private affair but at The Scarlet one has no option but to share the experience with one's public!! This may do it for you, but for us it was all just a little unnerving.

But enough of the bedroom - the public areas a chic and contemporary, and we especially enjoyed the outdoor seating gallery (see the website for images) which, with the blankets supplied (it was early May afterall!!), was a real treat. Our dinner was good, if a tad safe, served by pleasant and courteous staff and there was a reasonable choice of wines. The focus of the hotel is, quite clearly, its spa centre: we didn't use it (our reason for going was to experience the architecture and "ambience"), but clearly those who were using it obviously enjoyed it.

In summary, if you're a spa-junkie or just appreciate unique buildings, this is definately a place to check-out. It IS an experience. But if you like your comforts a little more traditional, this isn't going to be the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RugbyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed review - and yes the design of the open plan bedrooms isn't for everyone! - but it sounds like you had a lovely relaxing time and we hope to see you here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. Everything was perfect, from the comfy beds, the breakfasts, the setting, and the design. We well and truly relaxed here, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were great. We used the excellent spa and would recommend the Rhassoul treatment. On our stay we were able to get out and about to Watergate Bay and Padstow - the hotel is also perfectly located for coastal walks.

We especially loved taking the hotel dog Jasper out for walks on the beach (although it felt like he was taking us for a walk, he is one energetic little dog!)

If you need an escape from everday life, to unwind and relax, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you for your lovely review it was good to hear how much you relaxed - and glad you had a good walk/run with Jasper! He is such a strong dog!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

modern designed building (award winning) directly on the coastal path and above the bay. great views.
friendly high class rooms with large bathroom/ seperate toilet. all luxury.
not cheap but you get a lot.
friendly and professional service and delicious food at the restaurant.
on our round trip (2 weeks, 9 different hotels) in south-west england by far the best
hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansh194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

What a great trip! 9 hotels in 2 weeks! So glad you particularly enjoyed staying with us, and hope to see you back, maybe for longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have resisted writing a review because I am not sure I want to share this wonderful place! Everything about the hotel says 'relax'. We have just returned from our eighth visit and I cannot fault the determination of the management in their attempts to improve the service. Since our first stay, every niggle we mentioned in our feedback has been addressed and it is clear that this is continuing. Nothing is too much trouble and our request for a particular room is always accommodated. The room we stay in has a fantastic view and a lovely little balcony. Throughout the hotel, there are a variety of beautifully decorated rooms in which to read, relax or just look at the view and staff are discreetly on hand to bring a tray of tea or coffee. Even though the hotel is often full, it never feels too busy because there are so many places to relax such as the spa, the pools, the library, the cloister garden and the outside decking area.
The food never disappoints, it is varied and always delicious. The restaurant is very much geared to couples with a good amount of space between tables to allow some privacy but there are also tables at the edges for groups of friends. The service at breakfast and dinner is now excellent and staff are attentive without being overbearing.
We really appreciate the time and attention afforded us by Alison Black who ensures our stays are the very best.
Our aim each time is to not leave without booking our next stay! So far, so good!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookiecrewBathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you so much for your gorgeous review and my name check! I think your trick of booking your next stay while you are still here is a great one! Look forward to seeing you when you are next at The Scarlet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews