We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 July 2012

As someone that stays in a lot of hotels, for business and pleasure, I have to say I rarely come across one as well designed as the Scarlet. Everything fits together well, and the views from so many parts of the hotel are spectacular.

Service is, as you would expect from a hotel of this standard and pricing, absolutely perfect, and all staff go out of their way to assist you.

For a few small negatives, I thought our room wasnt perfect. I liked the open layout with the sink area more part of the bedroom than the bathroom, also allowing for some great views, but the water piping was quite noisy and whilst this didnt affect us in the evening it did spoint the sereness somewhat. Also we were on the first floor next to the stairs, and the sound insulation wasnt great both for when people went up and down the staircase, but also when people in the room above us walked around, the floorboards creaked quite a bit.

However, let this not detract from the overall experience. The location is wonderful, you can get to Newquay and Padstow (with their wildly different offerings) within 25 mins drive, you are 5 mins drive from Jamie Olivers restaurant, and a stunning 2 min walk from a beautiful beach.

The restaurant is really top class, I did enjoy our dinner there, but even more I thought the daily options for breakfast were great. Not an expansive menu, but really great quality and a willingness to be flexible from the kitchen to adapt to dietary restrictions meant there was a great informality to the experience.

We booked last minute and I think were really lucky to get a room. On a sunny weekend this hotel is really unbeatable. Finally the no kids policy is great, I believe they have another hotel under the same ownership nearby that is more family friendly, so whichever way you can enjoy the experience, but keeping this one adult only was a really great choice in my opinion.

All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely detailed review and it was good to read that you liked the design and lay out of the hotel - most people who stay with us can find a 'getaway from it all' spot to take in the views, as you did, in the hotel. Hopefully see you back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,231 - 1,237 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Returned a couple of days ago from The Scarlet and this is the first time online since. I've been so calm I haven't wanted to return to the real world.
The experience at The Scarlet was more wonderful than words can say.
I would like to thank Melina, Katrina and Amanda, our therapists for our Journey, the massages and breath work were outstanding which promoted self discovery and a postive start to a lifelong healing process.
Our Spa Escape really was life transforming. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Spacious room which truly was spacious. The view, bed, balcony and ensuite were more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyInProgress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

What a fantastic review of your time here - I have taken it down to the spa for the team to read and they were so pleased that had that experience with us. Hope to see you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed for five nights B&B. An amazing hotel, relaxing and very clean, staff very helpful. We had spa treatments and the retreat is very relaxing. We had lovely sunny weather so made the week.
Stayed in room with bath at bottom of bed and open shower, room was very nice. Had our own small garden which did get the sun but was overlooked. Also had a pod upstairs which had a sea view. Plenty of outside space to relax and short walk to beach.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was my second trip to The Scarlet and my husband and I have already booked to go back again in September. Although the high end of what we would normally spend on a hotel, the beauty is the absolute sense of calm and relaxation that cocoons you as soon as you arrive. All the staff are trained beautifully to be friendly and open without being intrusive. The spa is wonderful and the deep relaxation area is definitely a must. One of the best things for us is the fact that you don't need to "dress" for dinner - you can wear whatever you feel comfortable in - lovely (and not a bit pretentious!) Considering the pace that normal lives run at now - a couple of days stay gives plenty of time to recharge the batteries!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but some don't have a full view - ask for one that you can see the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

It was lovely to read your review of your return trip to stay with us, and we are already looking forward to seeing you again! I have passed on your really positive comments to our teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Utterly amazing, best hotel I we have ever stayed in, let alone imagined. They think of everything, beautiful location, spa, food, staff and food, plus-dog friendly! Can't wait to go back, well worth the cost.
Nik and Jen Luffman

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Jen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

What a lovely review! thank you - and so glad you enjoyed your special clebration here, Hopefully see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

In our opinion and experience the Scarlet Hotel has a unique combination of wonderful location, excellent service, friendly staff and a lovely relaxed atmosphere but without compromising efficiency in any way. This was our first stay and we shall certainly return !

Michael & Christian Wright

Room Tip: Room 7 for space,comfort,location, marvellous view and good facilities for a partially disabled pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

From the moment you round the headland travelling from Newquay and you spy The Scarlet nesstling like a modernistic rose amongst a bunch of fairly hideous 60's & 70's thorns, you realise you're in for a bit of an adventure!

This hotel is quite like no other - both its situation, carved as it is into the hillside and it's unique architecture promise a quite different experience. And so it proved from the moment we entered the hotel: there is no reception as such (which is a tad dis-concerting at first) but within moments a member of staff appears to warmly greet the visitor, seemingly sensing his/her presence with zen-like efficiency. Casually, yet efficiently one's details are taken and recorded at a sofa strategicaly placed in the lobby to take maximum advantage of the gloroius views. And so the tenor for our stay was set.

We were escourted to our room, for us a ground floor one within the "front" block, past the bar, restaurant and health spa which gave us time to cast an eye over the facilities, all of which looked smart, with number of nice design touches. The room was, however, a bit of a surprise - a minimalist / modernist design statement, it seemed to us that form (or the outward expression of it) had taken precedence over function from a guests perspective. I say this because, whilst we were immediately struck by yet another fabulous view from full-height sliding doors at one end, we were also struck by the lack of any real division between the bedroom and the ensuite. In fact, it'd be wrong to call it a division - there's a sleeping area and an "ablutting" area within a single space. And yes, that does mean what you're thinking - the toilet is effectively in your bedroom, albeit behind a kind of basic modesty screen.

Now whilst this is an interesting style statement, I think somebody forgot the practicalities of what actually happens in a hotel bedroom, often in the middle of the night (no, not THAT!). Going to the loo ( at whatever time) is, for most of us, a fairly private affair but at The Scarlet one has no option but to share the experience with one's public!! This may do it for you, but for us it was all just a little unnerving.

But enough of the bedroom - the public areas a chic and contemporary, and we especially enjoyed the outdoor seating gallery (see the website for images) which, with the blankets supplied (it was early May afterall!!), was a real treat. Our dinner was good, if a tad safe, served by pleasant and courteous staff and there was a reasonable choice of wines. The focus of the hotel is, quite clearly, its spa centre: we didn't use it (our reason for going was to experience the architecture and "ambience"), but clearly those who were using it obviously enjoyed it.

In summary, if you're a spa-junkie or just appreciate unique buildings, this is definately a place to check-out. It IS an experience. But if you like your comforts a little more traditional, this isn't going to be the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RugbyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed review - and yes the design of the open plan bedrooms isn't for everyone! - but it sounds like you had a lovely relaxing time and we hope to see you here again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,254 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
215 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,620 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £206 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing