We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, feels like home but more relaxing!”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I dont really know where to start! WOW says it all!
From the moment you arrive you are welcomed by friendly attentive staff. A calm tour around the hotel and you already start to feel at home, meeting staff on the way. Although we arrived early we did not feel in the way and could enjoy the facilities whilst we waited.
Our room was then ready and it was fab! Great sea view and very stylish. The bed was amazing, wish we could have taken it Home!! :-)
Spa - wow, I have never felt so calm and relaxed.
Food - amazing!! You can clearly tell care, attention to detail and time has gone into putting these dishes together. Every dish is perfect.
Wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back! Thanks everyone at the Scarlet!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We loved reading your review - thank you for taking the time post it - and it sounds like you enjoyed all that Scarlet has to offer, it will be great to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

882 - 888 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

It has a fantastic position overlooking the Atlantic. It has excellent facilities with a fabulous Spa and a wonderful restaurant. But most importantly the team that run this hotel are genuine in the service they provide. It is engaging but not 'over the top', they are just really pleasant. The Scarlet makes your stay memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidpeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Well you have hit the nail on the head, - the 'Scarlet Stars' are our teams and it is really kind of you to write a review about them and I will enjoy passing your kind comments on to them all. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Well from the moment you arrive and see the staggering beauty of the place and the scenic views you cannot fail to fall in love with the place. The staff are friendly and warm and when you enter the spa you enter a little piece of paradise. you are given a personal hostess for teh day and ushered to whatever your treatments are. We had a couples day which meant we got the chance to rub each other down with a fantastically smelly salt rub, shower and then rub a clay mixture in before relaxing in the ark an automatic shower comes on and then you leave to the relaxation room. This is truly stunning in every way over looking the most incredible coastal view the room is warm, quiet and beautifully furnished. We enjoyed a swing in the hanging pod where ten mins feels like an hour of sheer relaxation and fun. We were treated to a fantastic lunch go for the duck pate it is to die for and then after yet another little relax we were escorted to the out door hot tub. The wind was blowing so hard we could hardly stand but once in it was totally amazing to be outdoors in November and yet so warm. Sadly we had to leave an hour after this but would so love to return thanks to the kindness and professionalism and all involved.

Room Tip: sadly we did not stay overnight but it looks lush
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I enjoyed reading your lovely description of your day here and the fabulous time you both had in the spa. Hope you can come back again and stay for longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were having a gastronomic week in Cornwall back in April and this was truly a highlight. We could find no fault - from the idyllic setting and friendly yet understated service to the fabulous food. A wonderful evening. Much credit to the kitchen staff - great care is evidently taken over the menu, the produce used and the presentation of the food. Our waitress was also very enthusiastic about the food - almost evangelical! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherpagirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of your stay, and I will read your it out ot the teams, especially the restaurant host!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for one night in mid October,wish it had been longer.Faultless.Champagne in the hot tub,very comfortable room ,superb food and attentive friendly staf.The indoor pool was a bonus before breakfast,and there was a sense of calm throughout the building.What more do you need?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustygloweth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review and it was good to read you left feeling relaxed and calm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely stay here recently. Beautifully designed hotel, amazing just to wander around. Location is fantastic with views to the sea from almost every room. Staff are helpful and discreet.

Food was disappointing in the restaurant and both main courses were cold on Friday night, surprisingly the food was better the second night when the head chef was out at a local food festival!!! And the restaurant is so dark in the evening I couldn't read the menu. But despite these two minor points it is still a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is the best in the hotel and huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

On arrival I was a bit nervous whether it would live up to expectations as pricy however it did. It is stylish but informal. The setting and views are outstanding. The spa mini journey was also superb. The food very high quality and the staff were all fab. We run training courses on customer service and this was first class. I will definately go back and have already recommended to friends.

Room Tip: We had a room where you could walk down onto the beach which was great. Beautiful view of sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you, that is a really lovely review of your stay and I have passed on your kind comments to the teams and mentioned what you do for a living! Looking forward to your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,225 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £233 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing