We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a fantastic 4 day spa break which surpassed everything you see on line. The photos don't do it justice . From the moment you arrive in the lobby ( no reception, they just know you're there !) to the fantastic view of the sea and the artwork around the hotel. The room was the best we've stayed in, the only complaint was we couldn't cool it down quickly, but that will be an advantage during winter !
we had a couples spa experience which was the best we've had and the Hammam was hilarious... try it and see :) you've also got to try the hot tub on the cliff, it was raining but so what, the water was 40 degrees - lovely.....
we didn't enjoy the food as much as other people seemed to - perhaps we were there at a bad time ? it certainly won't put us off going again

Room Tip: Indulgent is the one but any with a seaview will do it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florence88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
It was really lovely to read your review of your stay and it sounded great fun in the spa! I hope you can come and stay with us again and I have passed your comments onto the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    235
    74
    17
    14
See reviews for
72
1,231
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We didn't know quite what to expect but from the minute we walked in through the door till we left we enjoyed every single minute. The attention to detail and the courteous staff meant we didn't want to leave. The staff are worthy of particular mention because nothing was too much trouble. There was a relaxed feel to the whole place with lots of areas that you could sit, relax and have a drink.
The food in the Restauarant was first class and our room had a great view and a small balcony to sit and enjoy it from.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a kind review of your recent stay - and I will let the teams know you were well looked after, and that you will be back to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Simply the best venue, service and food we have experienced in a very long time. This place raises the bar for other hotel restaurants. The location is simply stunning and the staff are incredibly attentive. We went with another couple of friends for lunch and felt like we could've stayed for a couple of days. The place is so relaxed and tranquil. We will definitely be going back for a short break to enjoy all the facilities.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ggm_devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I am so glad you had such a good lunch here with your friends and that you are coming back to stay with us for a short break soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I dont really know where to start! WOW says it all!
From the moment you arrive you are welcomed by friendly attentive staff. A calm tour around the hotel and you already start to feel at home, meeting staff on the way. Although we arrived early we did not feel in the way and could enjoy the facilities whilst we waited.
Our room was then ready and it was fab! Great sea view and very stylish. The bed was amazing, wish we could have taken it Home!! :-)
Spa - wow, I have never felt so calm and relaxed.
Food - amazing!! You can clearly tell care, attention to detail and time has gone into putting these dishes together. Every dish is perfect.
Wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back! Thanks everyone at the Scarlet!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We loved reading your review - thank you for taking the time post it - and it sounds like you enjoyed all that Scarlet has to offer, it will be great to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It has a fantastic position overlooking the Atlantic. It has excellent facilities with a fabulous Spa and a wonderful restaurant. But most importantly the team that run this hotel are genuine in the service they provide. It is engaging but not 'over the top', they are just really pleasant. The Scarlet makes your stay memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidpeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Well you have hit the nail on the head, - the 'Scarlet Stars' are our teams and it is really kind of you to write a review about them and I will enjoy passing your kind comments on to them all. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Well from the moment you arrive and see the staggering beauty of the place and the scenic views you cannot fail to fall in love with the place. The staff are friendly and warm and when you enter the spa you enter a little piece of paradise. you are given a personal hostess for teh day and ushered to whatever your treatments are. We had a couples day which meant we got the chance to rub each other down with a fantastically smelly salt rub, shower and then rub a clay mixture in before relaxing in the ark an automatic shower comes on and then you leave to the relaxation room. This is truly stunning in every way over looking the most incredible coastal view the room is warm, quiet and beautifully furnished. We enjoyed a swing in the hanging pod where ten mins feels like an hour of sheer relaxation and fun. We were treated to a fantastic lunch go for the duck pate it is to die for and then after yet another little relax we were escorted to the out door hot tub. The wind was blowing so hard we could hardly stand but once in it was totally amazing to be outdoors in November and yet so warm. Sadly we had to leave an hour after this but would so love to return thanks to the kindness and professionalism and all involved.

Room Tip: sadly we did not stay overnight but it looks lush
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I enjoyed reading your lovely description of your day here and the fabulous time you both had in the spa. Hope you can come back again and stay for longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were having a gastronomic week in Cornwall back in April and this was truly a highlight. We could find no fault - from the idyllic setting and friendly yet understated service to the fabulous food. A wonderful evening. Much credit to the kitchen staff - great care is evidently taken over the menu, the produce used and the presentation of the food. Our waitress was also very enthusiastic about the food - almost evangelical! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherpagirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of your stay, and I will read your it out ot the teams, especially the restaurant host!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,177 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
479 reviews
8.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing