We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing stay ever”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was my first time in the hotel my daughter's second. It lived up to all expectations. The views are fantastic, food incredible and our room was immaculate. The artwork on display is amazing. Spa was so good loved the pods. The staff were helpful but not intrusive, At lunch a member of the team came to speak to my daughter, he remembered from her previous visit her food intolerances and amended the menu to suit her both at lunch and dinner. Only problem with the stay it came to an end too quickly!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 940Diane_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

How kind of you to write such a lovely review of your stay here with your daughter and it was great that you had such a relaxing time in the spa and enjoyed the restaurant so much. I hope you will come back with your daughter again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was our second time in the hotel. You will never feel more welcome and like at home in any other hotels. Rediscover Each Other Journey in SPA - Definitely worth a try. It was fantastic birthday treat for us. Watching sunset from hot tube with glass of champagne - just perfect and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

It was really lovely to read your review of your stay with us and to hear how wonderful the Rediscover Spa Journey was for you both .... and the bubbles in the hot tub at sundown seemed to top it all off nicely! Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed at the Scarlett a couple of weekends ago in one of the Ground Floor rooms. Fabulous, wife loved it. Very blissed out, didn't want to leave. The rooms was great (OK it was an open bathroom arrangement which may not suit couple who are new to each other, but it was our 15th anniversary), very clean and freshly painted (slight smell of paint as you entered the room makes you realise what the Queen must think all rooms smell like), and all services worked, with exception to the phone that was connected incorrectly (impeccable service put this right).

Super breakfast (best porridge in the south), lunch there is perfect. Amazing views, spa is terrific. Very, very quiet and long may it remain so.

Looking forward to returning sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beedied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Wow! What a really lovely review of your recent stay with us and so glad you both completely chiled out - I have passed on your kind comments to the teams and they look forward to your return next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Amazing if a little expensive beautifully thought out hotel that's more of a new way if being than holiday.
Helpful friendly staff a little odd not having a reception - feels a little " big brother" when staff magically appear.a great vegetarian menu and happy to advise which wines onthe menu are vegetarian but would be good if this linked to the suggested wines on the veggy menu .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyppasnappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

It was great to read that you enjoyed the environmentally sound luxury of The Scarlet - and good of you to post such a kind review of your stay with us. We hope you can come back to stay again in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had the most amazing stay at The Scarlet Hotel and we cant wait to go back.

We can not fault anything, the hotel and rooms are immaculate, the staff are so friendly and happy to accommodate any request and the food is lovely – we stayed 2 nights and had a different breakfast and diner menu on each day which we thought was really good. We also liked the fact you get a jug of juice on each table in the morning rather than having to keep getting up to re-fill a tiny glass like most hotels.

We ended up getting a free upgrade to the best room in the hotel through a mix up with rooms which was so unexpected but fully appreciated, the rooms are lovely – so clean and fresh.

We stayed on the 2 night mid week spa package which included breakfast, 3 course meal on both nights, a spa treatment each and a cliff top hot tub. The massage I had was so relaxing and then the deep relaxation room after was incredible – I could have happily slept in there all day. This hotel was recommended to us and we had been told the deep relaxation room was a little off putting as you could hear people walking about in the room above, they had left feedback to say this and I was delighted to receive a pair of head phones to listen to chilled music which completely drowns out any noise so it was nice to see the hotel takes feedback and acts on it.

I would highly recommend the cliff top hot tub, so romantic and a stunning view.

The 2 days we had were so perfect and as partner proposed to me on the gorgeous beach we have a good excuse to keep returning to this stunning spa hotel!!

Room Tip: when booking ask for a room on the upper levels for the best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Congratulations! How very romantic ..... and so glad you are both coming back for more celebrations! Thank you so much for taking time out to post your review as it was lovely to read it out to the teams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

It was a surprise birthday pressie for my husband wow did i enjoy it too.... The team contacted me prior to our stay, helping me to choose the perfect extras. On arrival i was thrilled to be shown around, and to be told they had upgraded our room or should i say apartment WOW, the view, the size the attention to detail heavenly. All the staff were professional, helpful and made our stay so special. The food was glorious and the sunset hot tub experience awesome as our girls would say ! i am already planning our next visit, just making space in the diary.

Do not delay book now for one of best hotels/experiences in the world !!!!

Room Tip: no phone signal but free WI FI so enjoy the peaceful atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

What a lovely birthday surprise! & it sounded like you both enjoyed the celebrations here. It will be great to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a pleasure to find such a lovely Hotel. Clean, comfortable and in a great location. Very pleasant staff and good food. A different take on traditional Hotels in design and layout. Would recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Really kind of you to post such a nice review about your recent stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,276 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
222 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
21.4 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £236 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing