We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Tub Experience was Out of This World!”
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We had a superb stay at The Scarlet this weekend. Whilst most of Cornwall was under the water, Newquay was beaming with clear skies and sun. we absolutely loved our stay, our hot tub experience under the stars was unbeatable. The Rassoul treatment was a unique offering from the spa as we had our own private steam room. Staff were friendly. The only let down was our arabiata pasta - the cherry tomatoes were too sweet! We would recommend a table tennis area.

We will definitely be visiting again during the summer with our bicycles!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChickpeaIsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Star gazing from our hot tub with a glass of fizz is, I agree, unbeatable! I'm really pleased that you also tried our rhassoul experience as well, such a wonderful treatment for a couple to enjoy together, especially over Valentines. Thank you for your review, and also for your feedback. I will raise your points to the relevant teams here. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I arrived here on Valentine's Day with my sister & brother-in-law after experiencing the most challenging landing ever into Newquay Airport, due to (yet another) exceptional storm hitting the south-west coast of England.
However as soon as we had checked in this was long forgotten as The Scarlet has a wonderful way of allowing you to completely switch off, as you're both mesmerised by the stunning coastal views and the outstanding surroundings of the hotel & spa.
Dinner on Valentine's evening was outstanding. Our spa experience on the Saturday afternoon was the best we have had and perfect after a lazy stroll on the sunny but windy Mawgan Porth beach below the hotel. Book a hot tub as you will enjoy this experience regardless of the weather - rain, wind, sun - who knows with our crazy weather at the moment! Luckily we enjoyed a glorious afternoon hot tub after a swim & steam in the spa.
The young staff were superb in their professionalism and attention to detail, delivering faultless service every time. A special mention goes to Aimee who gave me a fantastic hot poultice massage in the spa..... it's a shame you are based so far away as I would be tempted to make this a regular indulgence after a long week at work.
All in all, chose The Scarlet as you will not be disappointed. We hope to return, but might look into visiting their sister hotel the Bedruthen, with our daughter, as this is their family-friendly hotel in the area.
Thank you to everyone at The Scarlet who made our stay so enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: Room 8 has lovely views across the beach (as would all rooms in the hotel) and is situated with leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsALove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I am so pleased that you had a wonderful Valentine stay with us and that the storm didn't detract from your stay or our lovely coastline. I completely agree that our hot poultice massage is absolutely divine and will pass your compliments on to Aimee as well as the rest of the team. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at. The whole experience was absolutely amazing, they upgraded our room as it was our honeymoon and the room itself was really modern very nicely decorated and the views were incredible. The staff were so friendly and attentive which really added to the whole stay. We don't think we could have stayed at a better hotel, the facilities were superb including the spa and hot tub. We ate predominately at the hotel and the food was amazing and we could get room service for no extra charge which was lovely. Overall an amazing honeymoon and we couldn't recommend the hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, and congratulations again, to the both of you. A honeymoon is such a special celebration, creating memories that last a lifetime, so it's lovely to hear that you cannot recommend us high enough! Such kind words that I will really take pleasure in passing on to the team.

Best wishes to you both on your new chapter together and we hope to welcome you again soon (perhaps a nostalgic anniversary visit in the future?)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We have just returned from our stay at The Scarlet to celebrate my birthday, valentines day, and our anniversary. From start to finish it was another amazing stay. Once again the staff were friendly and helpful and went the extra mile to make sure we always had whatever we wanted.

Our room was incredible, and had gorgeous views that I could never get tired of! I had a lovely birthday card addressed to me from the staff which was a special touch, and it's personal things like this that make the difference.

We enjoyed 2 cliff-top hot tub sessions. One in the daytime, and one at night. A very romantic experience - for £15, everybody should do this at LEAST once during your stay. It was windy and stormy and cold, but we were warm in there! Absolutely lovely.

We ordered lots of complimentary tea, played pool, swam in the pool, relaxed in the steam room, had wine in the hot-tubs, and even borrowed a couple of chick flicks from reception to watch in our room. With rooms are as luxurious as this, we didn't feel much like venturing out!

Although it was stormy and cold, the sun came out for us for 1 day, and we made the most of it with a long walk on the beach, which is also stunning!

All in all, another incredible holiday at The Scarlet and we have already decided we are going to return for each anniversary to come in the future! Looking forward to it already - Thank you!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

I am so glad that your return visit to us was as incredible as the first, and we made it special enough for a triple celebration! I completely agree that our hot tub experience is absolutely a must for any couple - nothing more romantic than watching the waves together from them, especially with a glass of fizz. It's also lovely to hear that the sun did make an appearance for you as well so you could go for a wander. I'm perhaps a little bias but I do think we have some of the prettiest coastline in the whole of Cornwall.

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience, and it's wonderful news that you're planning to return next anniversary. We look forward to welcoming you back then, if not sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

a great place for a winter stay, but i'm looking forward to going back in the summer too. The whole hotel was top quality, but it was the staff who made it even more special. Every single one was out to make the stay enjoyable for guests. the public areas were wonderful with log fires, fresh flowers and ultra comfortable relaxation areas with stunning views. The room large and comfortable. the clifftop hot tub not to be missed even in stormy weather. food excellent, even a complete vegetarian menu.
I hope they have a fitness centre sometime to complete the facilities. i didn't want to put one star for that, but didn't seem to have an option for saying they haven't got one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morwenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. It was a joy for me to read out to the team (who, I agree, work really hard to make the experience here as special as possible).

I will pass your feedback on with regards to a future fitness centre. In the mean time our guests are always more than welcome to use our sister hotel's fitness suite, just a two minute stroll away.
Thank you once again, for your comments, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My family stayed two nights at The Scarlet in early February to celebrate a special occasion. As other reviewers have commented, the hotel is located amidst a residential area which is perhaps a little surprising. The less than dramatic approach is however soon forgotten upon entering and encountering the stunning views out over the beach and Atlantic beyond.

The service from the predominantly young staff is certainly unusual, and won't be to the tastes of all. The approach is characterised by informality and friendliness though this does not in any way stray into being overly familiar. The overriding impression given is that the staff genuinely care about ensuring the guests have an enjoyable stay. The approach is consistent across all staff at all times, it gives the hotel a warm and welcoming character and we found it quite exceptional, never seen better.

The food is very good indeed: the menus at dinner offer four choices for each course with options being interesting and varied, the food is beautifully presented and tastes delicious. There is even better elsewhere in Cornwall at The Driftwood for example, however you are very unlikely to be disappointed. Some might want more choice, we were perfectly happy with what was on offer. The range of wine choice is very good too with some really interesting bottles to choose from.

The pool and spa facilities are OK, maybe a little on the small side for a medium sized hotel, 6 or 7 people in the pool begins to feel overcrowded.

If you are looking for a bargain The Scarlet is not the place for you. The hotel is firmly positioned as an up market destination and is priced accordingly. For me the primary justification for the high price is the spectacular aspect from so many guest rooms as well as from the restaurant and various other lounges, the hotel has been designed to take full advantage of its location.

For me there was only one significant negative, regrettably it was enough to spoil the experience on this occasion. Our stay unfortunately coincided with one of the more severe storms of this blighted winter. Storm "Ruth" brought gales with steady wind speeds of 35 - 50mph with stronger gusts and this lasted for getting on for 36 hours - the majority of our stay. Of course, the location of the hotel means it is very exposed to the winds, this shouldn't cause a problem for a modernly constructed building, but that wasn't the case in one of our two rooms. The room on the top floor of the hotel had badly fitting floor to ceiling windows which let in a substantial draft - enough to blow the heavy curtains around and drop the temperature to 17C according to the display on the thermostat.

The very obliging staff addressed that by the loan of two storage heaters (one didn't do the job). Unfortunately there was nothing that could be done about the loud whistling caused by the howling wind as it roared through the gaps. This was bad enough to make staying in the room not an option during waking hours, it was far more comfortable to be in the public areas of the hotel.

The very concerned staff asked repeatedly if there was anything they could do to help, but moving rooms would have been the only solution and, given the hotel was full, this was never an option. Sadly therefore, what should have been a restful stay was marked by two nights of badly disturbed sleep. I should stress that the storm was unusually violent and so hardly normal conditions. I do though think that it would be reasonable to expect better construction in a hotel built as recently as 2009. It is worth noting that there was no such problem with the window in our other room.

The experience has not however put us off, we intend to stay again. Maybe next time we will either see if we can find a room at late notice coinciding with a spell of good weather (!), or else possibly go for a room away from the prevailing south-westerlies. It would though be a great shame to miss out on that view when drawing back the curtains in the morning...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

I am so sorry that the storms we faced over the weekend blighted your time with us. Storm Ruth saw us braced for severe weather warnings, with winds of up to 80mph and waves of over 35 feet down here in Cornwall; the worst weather since the Great Storm in 1987. We thankfully fared much better than a lot of the local area with regards to storm damage, but our maintenance department are investigating the window for faults as a matter of urgency so we can prevent this issue reoccurring should we be unfortunate enough to have any weather as severe as that again. I apologise that we could not move you due to the hotel being fully booked, but am thankful that we did everything we could to make you more comfortable, and appreciate that you describe our service here, as you did during our chat at the bar, as exceptional.

We are very happy to hear that, despite the weekend’s events, that you are planning on visiting us again in the future. I promise that Cornwall is not always this wild and windy and that another stay that involves watching the sun set over the sea from one of our balconies, with only the sound of the waves to listen to will be more than worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This has to be one of the best hotel stays ever. They looked after us from the start and we had the most amazing room. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The dinners and breakfast were world class and our spa journey was the best I've experienced. We will definitely be coming back. Thanks.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TheVanMichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you ever so much for sharing your thoughts, and it's wonderful to hear that you found The Scarlet to be one of the best hotels ever! I will pass your kind comments on to the teams, who always really appreciate the feedback, and hope that we will be welcoming you both back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,267 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £224 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing