We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What service !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Scarlet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What service !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had no idea what to expect - booked by my wife for my birthday. But honestly, just the best service I have experienced anywhere - relaxed, friendly and helpful without exception. The food is to die for, and lying on a sofa outside under a blanket watching the sunset was wonderful. Yes, it's pricey, but worth it, and I would return without question.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Happy birthday, once again. I'm absolutely delighted that your wife decided to treat you to time with us, and so glad that you enjoyed it! I agree that the sunset from the retreat terrace, curled up with a blanket and a hot drink is very special and something that is definitely a must during a stay with us. A perfect experience to share with a loved one or friend! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words regarding our team. It was an absolute pleasure to pass your compliments on to them. We all hope that you will be back to stay (maybe for another special celebration) in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    218
    71
    17
    12
See reviews for
69
1,171
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We are returning from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. The hotel gets things done in promptly but in a unhurried and chilled out way. It feels like you are staying in someone's house- rooms lovely and lots of lovely public areas too. Great food and wine. And so lovely not to encounter a breakfast buffet; instead a lovely breakfast menu which changes a bit day to day.

The location is amazing. You can see and hear the sea and get to the coastal path very easily.

We'll be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am so glad that you felt so relaxed here. A luxurious and tranquil 'home from home' experience is exactly what we are hoping to create, so it's wonderful to read that you really felt this during your time with us. I completely agree with your comment with regards to a breakfast menu... A good breakfast really sets you up for the day, which is why we decided on a relaxed three course affair, cooked fresh to order whilst you read a paper of enjoy the view... so much of a nicer way to start the morning than a hurried, busy buffet (even more special when taking advantage of our complimentary room service... Breakfast in bed with a view of the sea, and the breeze coming through the patio doors just cannot be beaten!)

It's lovely to hear that you will be returning, so I look forward to welcoming you back then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at The Scarlet during the Easter holidays. From the moment we arrived we had a wonderful experience! The staff are friendly and attentive, the design and décor are refreshing (enhanced by the great music!), the food is delicious and the spa area is SO relaxing..! We had a Just Right room that opened directly onto the grass and offered us uninterrupted views of the ocean. The room was spacious and light and a little quirky which we loved - our only quibble would be the slightly too 'open plan' toilet arrangements!! We had a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing and rejuvenating time at The Scarlet; we hope to return soon and have been confidently recommending it to friends and family!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJGF776112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I am so glad that you had an lovely Easter with us and left us feeling relaxed and rejuvenated, which is exactly the effect we hope for! It's so nice to hear that you found our music here so special... We pour a lot of thought and energy into providing what we hope is a lovely background soundtrack to the hotel... In fact some of our laid back live acts at the weekends have as much of a following here as our gorgeous desserts and wonderful wine list! Of course nothing quite beats the peaceful sounds of the birds and sea, which I love the rooms with the gardens so much... so lovely to be able to walk straight out of your door and down l to the beach to make the most of it!

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience with us... it's lovely to hear that you are recommending us to friends and family and we look forward to welcoming them, and you again, hopefully very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We popped into the Scarlet Hotel for an impromptu lunch and we were bowled over .... what can I say about this place .... just WOW! springs to mind. We were made to feel so welcome and relaxed right from setting foot in the door, the customer service was just perfect, absolutely spot on, the attention to detail, attentiveness and helpful attitude of everyone was just wonderful and we were made to feel very special, I think when that happens someone is doing something very right. Lunch was superb, served very quickly and delicious, just the right amount of food and cooked to absolute perfection. The vegetarian choice was superb, twice cooked cheese souffle, very cheesy and delicious, with side salad and an extra portion of chips. I had cod and chips and it was absolutely scrumptious. This place is sublime, the views are incredible, the decor and ambience are delighful, not overwhelming just beautifully done. Just observing people who were staying there, they looked to be relaxed and happy and even though we were just having lunch it made me want to book into the hotel and stay! Even though we live close by we will definitely be back for some more of the Scarlet experience and we will be staying next time ..... thanks for a lovely lunch experience. Top notch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolsybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
It sounds like we really made an impression on you, and I'm delighted that you had such a lovely time! We often find that our locals pop in for a lunch, coffee and spa treatment and fall so deeply in love with the place that they end up staying for the night or booking a future visit, which is always a nice little pat on the back for the team here. Thanks ever so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review - it was so nice to read to everyone, especially to the kitchen. I agree, the souffle was absolutely amazing! Our menu changes here daily dependent on what wonderful fresh produce we buy in, so there's always something new to try, and there is always something just as special for the veggies amongst us as the meat eaters. We're looking forward to giving you another special and very warm welcome again very soon. Please don't be a stranger!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Initially parking looked a problem. Apparently you leave the car, give them the keys and they will sort it. We didn't realist this nor did other guests. That aside, first impressions wow, room wow. I had a 'just right' room and though I would have liked a larger king sized bed but this was the most comfortable bed ever so no complaints. This is more than a hotel, it's a whole experience. We enjoyed the spa. Hot tub overlooking glorious beach and sea. There are lots of rooms and balconies to sit or lie enjoying the peace or view. Dinner was exceptional. Breakfast was great.
Fortunately the weather was with us and we enjoyed glorious sunshine. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thamesbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for telling others about your experience with us! Yes we do offer valet parking here whilst you rest after your journey, as we want to help you shrug off the stress and start to relax as soon as possible... and by leaving your keys with us you are completely safe in the knowledge that should your car need moving that you can continue to relax and we'll do it for you... we do really try and think of everything, are are always open to hearing how we can make things even better.

I'm glad you enjoyed the whole experience here, and it's lovely to hear that the sun even stayed around to make your memories even more magical... As every room, terrace and balcony faces the wonderful sea view it's easy to make the most of the summer here with alfresco dining, and drinks by the pool... Hopefully you'll be visiting us again very soon for another amazing time. The hot tub will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one night birthday break at the Scarlet, this is our 5th visit and by far the best! Our short journey treatments were great, leaving us both wanting more! If you want a grown up, truly relaxing break away then the Scarlet is a must.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazzakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
What a perfect way to celebrate a birthday (especially with the wonderfully indulgent spa experiences), and I'm so glad to read that it's been your best stay yet! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope to see you for your sixth visit soon, and will do our very best to continue to raise the bar for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I was taken as an anniversary surprise and had no idea what or where I was going, nor did I know I would be leaving with a fiancé.

We arrived on the 1st day of business after winter closures (apparently they decorate the entire hotel each year) and without going into detail and spoiling it, it was perfect. Everything that happened was a lovely surprise. And the fact that it was adults only was just magical. It was the weekend of the storms that battered the country and it was amazing to watch from the comfort of our beanbag, or, if your like me.....in the freshwater pool which was 6 degrees!!!!!!!!

With regards to the negative reviews......ignore them. People forget to think of the bigger picture. No children means no children.... relaxation and switching off from the world means no signal and no tele. It's just you, your partner and the sea. Peace and quiet. Home from home. Without all the distractions (and someone else to do the dishes).

It is expensive, and maybe you can get more 'things' for your money elsewhere, but unfortunately in the hustle and bustle of today's society, it takes a lot to make you STOP ..... and RELAX ..... and it certainly succeeded in doing that.

We booked the same date and room the following year as soon as we arrived home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review, and congratulations, once again! I don't think it's a big secret that we are old romantics here at The Scarlet and that we do love to be a part of this type of celebration. The engagement stories are always some of our favourite stories here, and never fail to melt my heart (as yours did when I read it in the guest book) It's lovely that you are coming back and sharing your anniversary with us again (even more special, this time around). I look forward to welcoming you then if you're not back in Cornwall before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.1 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Property: The Scarlet Hotel
Address: Tredragon Road, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply put, we are a beautiful 37 bedroom hotel built to the highest eco standards, boasting delicious locally sourced food and the best Ayurvedic inspired spa you can imagine.Discover an escape for grown-ups, to eat, dream and play in peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scarlet Hotel Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing