We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Place”
Review of Kernow Trek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kernow Trek Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My brother and I stayed at the Kernow Trek Lodge for one night just before Easter and it was absolutely fantastic! Andrew and Rosie made us so welcome. The rooms were extremely clean and lovely and the breakfast was great. We went to the local pub about 100 metres away and the food there was very good. We were so grateful that we didn't have to drive. It is also perfectly located between Padstow and Newquay where there is plenty to see and do. A great find and we can't wait to go back. It was a wonderful stay - thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were here for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. This was our first B&B stay, and we didn't know what to expect. Happy to say we are absolutely delighted with our experience. Firstly, the rooms are fantastic. Modern, decorated to a good standard, and spacious. The rooms were better than many hotel rooms we have stayed in. Secondly, the service is literally amazing, as all the reviews here so clearly indicate. Andrew and Rosie treat you like family, and couldn't do more to make your stay pleasant. Thirdly, the breakfast is brilliant. Eggs as you like them, sausages, bacon, pancakes, toast, cereal, fruit - you couldn't ask for more. Fourthly, the location is very close to Newquay, and there are a couple of local beaches too a very short drive away. Most importantly, our 5 year daughter loved the experience, and cant wait to go back again. Take a chance on this B&B - you wont regret it!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a wonderful Easter weekend spent at Kernow trek lodge. Everything was lovely from the imaculately clean rooms to the amazingly yummy breakfasts. Andrew and Rosie could not be more friendly or helpful. They really made our stay special and unforgettable. We even got Easter eggs left on our bed for us on Easter Sunday which was such a lovely personal touch. There was unlimited tea and coffee which was amazing, fresh cold milk and juice for us to help ourselves to. These personal touches really make this b&b a wonderful place to stay. The weather was pretty horrible on Sunday so the selection of board games and our very comfortable room made it very welcoming after a wet and windy walk on the beach. This b&b has great access to Newquay as well as Padstow and the surrounding areas. Thank you so much Rosie and Andrew, we will definitely be back to stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Needing somewhere to stay overnight while travelling through Newquay Airport, I had a fantastic welcome from Rosie and Andrew who did their best to make me feel "at home" during my overnight stop, a lovely end to my holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is my third stay so that should tell you everything (and I'm back again next week). I can only echo the other excellent reviews here. Rosie and Andrew make you feel at home. They are warm, friendly and helpful. A pot of tea and biscuits is waiting for you when you arrive which you can enjoy in the breakfast room or conservatory. Each tastefully decorated room (I've stayed in three) is en suite with excellent showers - perfect for post-surf relaxing. The rooms are cosy, warm and quiet. The beds are very comfortable and there are wall-mounted flat screen TVs to nod off to. Andrew and Rosie know loads about the area so just ask. If you are surfing there are washing and rinsing facilities out back to get your wetsuit etc sorted out. Breakfast is served at a very civilised time usually between 8.30 - 9.00. There are a wide range of cereals, yoghurts and fruit to start with while you wait for the main event. The Full English. Perfectly cooked sausages, bacon, eggs, hash browns, beans, tomatoes and mushrooms (or any combination) served with a stack of toast. Go for something on toast instead or try the pancakes. Or a bacon sandwich. You get the picture. Nothing is too much trouble and it all tastes great. You won't leave hungry. It's forbidden. Not that my stomach rules my head but the local pub - The Travellers' Rest does excellent food too so evenings are no problem. A few strides across the road and you're there. For a perfect B&B, choose the Kernow Trek Lodge, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I've stayed in three different rooms and they've all been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piers R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The double room was comfy, no problems, but what makes this place excellent are the owners who seem genuinely pleased to help you out with anything at all. If we were in the area again we'd definitely stay here once more - can't ask more than that! (P.S. The Travellers Rest a few minutes walk away is also a welcoming pub and does pretty tasty food!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at Kernow lodge for 6 days, we have travelled as far as Australia, and stayed in many
B & B s, and have never stayed anywhere as good as Andrew and Rosie's. There was nothing that was too much trouble, they were on hand with any info you may need. The room was spotlessly clean, also was cleaned every day! We took toiletries for shower, was not needed as they were supplied! We felt completely at home,as for the Breakfasts... They were amazing!! We assumed Rosie was a Chef! That was how good the Breakfast was, also the choices were 1st class, so many things to choose from. And not in our view a normal cooked Breakfast, as you were given so much it lasted us throughout the day. We will definitely go there again. Thank you Andrew & Rosie and your lovely Daughters. Wonderful Hosts. Quiet location. From Jackie & Doug in Hampshire

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mawgan Porth hotels
0.9 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trevarrian Lodge
Trevarrian Lodge
#3 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Merrymoor Inn
The Merrymoor Inn
#2 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kernow Trek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kernow Trek Lodge

Address: Trevarrian, Mawgan Porth TR8 4AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £49 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kernow Trek is a family run Bed and Breakfast. We welcome families, couples, singles and small groups. We are situated in Trevarrian, between Mawgan Porth and Watergate Bay. Our fresh, modern décor, superb location, and friendly welcome make this a fantastic base for holidays on the North Cornwall coast. We serve a traditional full English breakfast, with vegetarian/continental option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Kernow Trek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kernow Trek Lodge Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing