We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food and place”

The Scarlet Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant menus are simple yet bursting with flavour, changing daily to ensure that full use is made of what is at its local, seasonal best, whilst remaining reasonably priced. Breakfast and lunch are relaxed and served in the restaurant or the terrace. For dinner we add a shot of glamour to both the menu and the atmosphere, ensuring a memorable evening whether a romantic dinner à deux, or a long-overdue catch up with friends. Our comprehensive wine list includes plenty of unusual choices available by both the bottle and the glass, with selections made daily to complement the restaurant menu. Our enticing deli menu and ‘to die for’ Cornish afternoon tea can be served in your room or anywhere else you like at any time.3 course lunch £23.50. 3 course Sunday lunch £25. 3 course dinner £45.50.
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had lunch on a beautiful sunny day on the terrace,service and food sublime,portions quite small and bill quite high.all in all top quality .would visit again.

Thank davidshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Isn't lunch on the terrace, soaking up the sun and watching the waves, just the perfect afternoon?! Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience here. Hopefully we'll see you again soon (maybe for dinner on the terrace as the sun sets!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for The Scarlet Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Valet parking on our arrival set the scene, an extremely friendly greeting and surroundings and views to die for. The service was impeccable and the meal was excellent, but the view from the restaurant was amazing and just the place to share a glass of champagne to toast our daughters excellent results on her degree. A superb location with top nosh too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Congratulations to your daughter with regards to her degree, and I'm so glad that you had a wonderful time with us! I do hope that you'll be back to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had delicious food, great service all whilst watching the most amazing sunset - really fab evening!

Thank Shona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review, Shona. Dinner with the sunset and sea as the setting is really a magical setting, and I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! We understand that you have a busy and exciting time ahead over the next few months (best of luck!) but do hope to see you again in the future. Thanks once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Like another reviewer, we were a bit confused by a large sign at the entrance that suggested someone would park our car. We hung about for a bit, and a person who looked like a member of staff smiled fulsomely at us for a bit, but made no attempt to park us, but he did gesture helpfully to the double parking bays, and asked us to leave our keys at reception in case our car needed to be moved. I'm not complaining about not having our car parked for us - we've never moved in those circles anyway - I'm complaining about the prominent misleading sign. So, just park and go inside.

The restaurant overlooks the sandy beach and the bay and cliffs beyond, and you see this as soon as you enter. The view is stunning on a sunny day, and can be taken in from a number of different levels - the reception area, the restaurant (from inside, and also outside on a terrace), and also a sundeck on the roof. Up there, a kite in the shape of a bird of prey darts around above you, presumably to deter seagulls from troubling you and the cleaners.

This is an interesting building, on four levels, with modern décor (the opposite of chintzy) and interesting sculpted artwork dotted around. It is very spacious and relaxing. Below, built into the slope, is a 'natural' swimming pond. It's difficult to convey how much more pleasant this looks than a traditional tiled pool. A traditional pool looks like an intrusion into the landscape, but this pond looks almost as if it was there before the hotel was built.

The three of us were there for lunch on a Saturday in June 2014, and we had just over an hour. We were given the choice of seating inside, or outside on the terrace. We received an apology because the adjustable awning blinds were not working, but every effort was made to seat us with as much or as little shade as we wished. The staff were attentive and when I mentioned our tight schedule they advised that we would not have sufficient time for three courses (not surprisingly) but they could pre-prepare the dessert course so we would not have to wait.

As vegetarians we are often offered a mushroom omelette, or something smothered with goat's cheese. Not so here. There was not much choice for vegetarians in the 'mains', but there was a wide range of vegetarian starters and the waitress readily agreed that any of them could be served as a main. The bill came to £55 for the three of us - each of us had a main and a dessert, and sparkling water. You may think this is a bit pricey for lunch, but the food was superbly cooked and presented, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and the atmosphere was marvellously relaxing. I just wish we had been able to stay a bit longer. I want to give a special mention to the pepper and chilli bread which I believe is prepared in house. Try it if you get the chance.

So, apart from a misleading sign and some wonky awning, there is nothing whatever to criticise. If you want to spoil yourself, give it a try. I thoroughly recommend it. It's a credit to Cornwall, and we'll certainly visit again when we get half an excuse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave0xford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review, and it's great to hear that you had a great time with us and found the food superb. As a fellow veggie I also often find that options when I go out can sometimes be a little lacking in imagination, so it's really refreshing how Tom and his team here put so much thought into the menu... with so much fresh, seasonal produce that we are blessed with here in Cornwall it would be rude not to! The other great thing about the kitchen only working with the freshest seasonal produce is that the menu changes daily, so there's always something new and exciting to try (a perfect reason to come back).

We are always looking for ways to improve so thank you for your feedback, which i will pass on to the relevant teams (rest assured, both are a working progress at present, with recruitment campaigns for a dedicated valet host taking place. We always have somebody valet trained on duty to move cars, so sorry that this was not communicated to you. Thank you for letting us know and I will ensure that this is raised). The awnings, as well, are in the process of getting fixed, and some have already been repaired so it's a little shadier again. Thank you once again for your comments. It will be my pleasure to pass them on and we really look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, maybe for a special occasion?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The kitchen were able to amend the menu to fit in with our specific dietary requirements without any issue whatsoever.

Thank JohnathonBrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica L, Manager at The Scarlet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, and I'm glad that you found us excellent. We really pride ourselves on being able to cater for any dietary requirement sensitively and creatively, so thank you for your feedback and I will pass it on to the team. We look forward to seeing you in both the hotel and restaurant again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scarlet Restaurant also viewed

 
Mawgan Porth, Cornwall
St. Mawgan, Cornwall
 

Been to The Scarlet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing