We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Wonderful! ”
Review of Bre Pen Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bre Pen Farm B&B
Ranked #4 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Wonderful! ”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

5 dots is not enough! My husband and I were on a walk along the Southwest Coastal Path and were lucky enough to overnight at Bre-Pen Farm. This is a working farm (think sheep and chickens) run by a most warm, hospitable couple named Jill and Rod. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable and well appointed . The fresh Cornish breakfast was divine. (The breakfast room looks out over the gardens and the beach).They also run a fantastic farm store right there on the premises- while we were there a group of apprentices from Jamie Oliver's chef school were there to get locally sourced products!
There is also a bistro on site ( we didn't try it- but I wish we had!) and
a very nice pub just a short walk away.
This is the kind of place that you think about when you think of Cornwall! Stay here! You will NOT be sorry!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

stayed here for 6 nights in July 2014. It was an amazing little find. More than I ever expected from a B+B. Owners were incredibly welcoming. The room was slightly cramped but the comfort more than made up for this. View across the fields from the window. Super comfy bed. Tea, coffee,hot chocolate, biscuits and mints provided which was re-stocked each day. In the bathroom shower gel, shampoo and conditioner were provided. Free wifi too! (even if it was a little slow) The breakfast was AMAZING with a menu of hot food to choose from each day and cereals, fruit and yoghurt and seemingly limitless supply of tea/coffee. The views from the breakfast room, lounge and conservatory all look over Mawgan Porth bay which is absolutely beautiful, even in the rain. Loads in the area to do and see and lots of good local restaurants for evening meals. 10 mins drive from Newquay airport. Will DEFINATELY be returning :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandora2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

went here a few years ago the best b and b we have stayed in. the breakfast is out of this world. hope to go again soon. jill and rod were such friendly host. so much so we went twice in 1 year taking mu 2 sisters the 2nd time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sg15dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just enjoyed a 3 night out of season break at Bre Pen. Gill & Rod were excellent and friendly hosts, in spite of being in the lambing season. The breakfasts are superb, accommodation very clean and comfortable ( must be the fluffiest white bath sheets I have ever used!) and the views from the room simply wonderful. If anyone walking the coastal path needs accommodation, or for a longer stay in a lovely setting, we can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights on a wet November weekend. Although they only have a few rooms we actually had a choice as no-one else was staying. We were made very welcome and were delighted by the comfortable, clean room with all the facilities we needed - there is even a guest fridge. The breakfast (the full Cornish) was outstanding - just don't plan on eating for the rest of the day! The adjacent Jon's Bistro is also not to be missed (book beforehand) and the Traveller's Rest Inn is just a five minute walk down the road - we were supplied with a torch and umbrella to get there. An ideal base away from the over-crowding of Newquay - we almost do not want to tell people about it in case it becomes too popular!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bre-Pen Farm B&B for 2 nights in early August. Our only regret was it was far too short. Despite Jill being in hospital at the time, Rod and his helpers took care of our every needs, which we really appreciated, given the circumstances. The upstairs room was great as were the bed and bathroom facilities. As other reviewers have mentioned the Bre-Pen Farm is located close to some great cliff-top coastal walks toward Mawgan Porth or Newquay and the local Travellers Rest pub. We didn't get to eat at Jon's Bistro at the farm (it wasn't open during our stay) but enjoyed great local meals in both Mawgan Porth and the Traveller's Rest as well as lunch at the farm café on one day. Despite the stress of having Jill in Hospital, Rod was most generous in spending time with us each evening in the lovely lounge room, making us feel at home. All in all we had a great time in Mawgan Porth made even more special by staying at Bre-Pen Farm.

Room Tip: Only experienced our room which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My family and I spent 5 wonderful days at Bre Pen Farm in August 2013. Rod and Jill are lovely hosts and provide a warm, relaxed place to stay at in addition to great breakfasts and lots of good advice on where to go and what to see in the area. Easily the best B+B we've stayed at yet!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bristol
0.1 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bre Pen Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bre Pen Farm B&B

Property: Bre Pen Farm B&B
Address: Bre-Pen Farm, Mawgan Porth TR8 4AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bre-Pen Farm Bed & Breakfast accommodation. Rod & Jill Brake welcome you to Bre-Pen Farm, Mawgan Porth, offering comfortable & friendly Bed & Breakfast accommodation on a working National Trust farm, where animals roam the fields and courtyard, and the promise of a traditional Cornish farmhouse breakfast greets each new day.The farm is perched on top of the cliffs of the north Cornwall coast, between Newquay and Padstow. We enjoy spectacular views over the Atlantic and towards the village and beautiful beach of Mawgan Porth, with direct access to the south west coast path. We're open all year round and we look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bre Pen Farm B&B Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing