We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel fabulous hosts”
Review of Thorncliff

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mawgan Porth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thorncliff
Ranked #7 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here before our wedding & Gary &Rebecca were great hosts our room was amazing a fabulous view of Mawgan porth &a lovely balcony. Breakfast was lovely homemade grenola was very tasty & smoked salmon delicious. thanks for a wonderful 3 days and giving tony a good send off on the wedding day we can't wait to come back.
Kerry & Tony xx

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have stayed at The Thorncliff on numerous occasions over the years and yet again this weekend visit has not disappointed. We stayed in the Garden Apartment, very clean and well appointed for our stay. Garry and Rebecca made us feel as part of the family and not just visitors. Well above the required mark of todays standards, so we have left today feeling as though we have left very good friends to return home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My boyfriend booked thorncliff as a surprise getaway for my birthday - and I have to say "we didn't want to come home" (as lovely as our home is in the new forest) we just had a magical time right from the word go! we were warmly greeted and instantly made to feel at home, the location in which the guest house is positioned -u simply couldn't wish for more except for beaming sunlight as u enjoy a btl of bubbly on the terrace ( ur own private terrace - which we were privileged to have) this seriously was a perfect break for us! breakfast was top notch, infect I'd go as far to say it was the set breakfast we've ever had from a B&B / guest house perspective and we know our food & rate our stays based on a good breaky!! we enjoyed long walks acros the cliffs of bedruthen steps and the mawgan porth beach, dinner in padaotw at rijanos, the basement and ricks fish n chips! the local bar/ restaurant of MP is also a must ( nice takeaway pizza & tapas!
I'm now in the process of booking my man a return surprise trip back to Thorncliff!!!
Can't wait!!!
Thanks for our lovely stay - u should be really proud of ourselves!
Hope ur making the most of the sun in NZ!!!! Lucky buggas ;)
Laura & Wes
x

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoobsnBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay in the garden apartment. We found it to be clean and bright and the view across the bay was wonderful. The accommodation is a great base as you are right in between padstow and Newquay. Great for families and groups. We will be returning.

Room Tip: You can have dogs in the garden apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snorklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and i have just returned from another fantastic break at Thorncliff, we want to thank Rebecca, Garry and there family for a wonderful time.
the hospitality that Rebecca and Garry offer is hard to find anywhere else, my husband is registered blind, the care, understanding and thoughtfulness shown to us by Rebecca and Garry is above and beyond anything we have received from anywhere else we have stayed, making it such a relaxing stress free holiday.
The accommodation is superb, with lovely views and the mouthwatering breakfast will set you up for the day.
i can not recommend Thorncliff enough, anyone who stays there is in for a real treat and will not be disappointed, we have already booked to stay next may and this time are also taking our son and his girlfriend, can't waite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca B, Owner at Thorncliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Hi Mary & Mike,
thanks for another great review, it was lovely to see you both again & look forward to meeting the family in May. Very Best wishes, Rebecca, Garry & Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We spent 6 lovely days in the Thorncliff with Rebecca, Garry and their family

We entered the house and it was wow, wow, wow, the views are amazing of Porth Mawgan Beach. We were lucky to have room 1 which was huge!! and had a little balcony to watch the waves from.

Breakfast was great, choice of cereals, yogurt and delicious fruit salad, followed by a full English Breakfast, toast and Croissants. We always tried to get down first to sit in the window and admire the view watching the early morning surfers.

We ate out in Trevance/ Morgan Porth, The Blue Bay was our favourite just a 2 minute walk across the cliff road.
I would love to go back as it is the best B+B I have ever stayed in.
Thank you both and wish we could sample your New Zealand house

Room Tip: Any Room has an Amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca B, Owner at Thorncliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Hi Judith & Chris,
Thank you for your fantastic review, it's much appreciated.
Hope to see you again in the furture.
Best wishes, Rebecca, Garry & Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

we spent wonderful 2 nights. superb accomodation with stunning views. but the best of it all is the hospitality and the mouthwatering breakfast. thanks to you both.
p.s. great that you accept babys and kids. Barbara and mark

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mawgan Porth hotels
4.4 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,247 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,612 reviews
3.9 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
103 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Merrymoor Inn
The Merrymoor Inn
#2 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
284 reviews
3.6 mi away
Trevarrian Lodge
Trevarrian Lodge
#3 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorncliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorncliff

Address: Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 Star Bed and Breakfast accommodation with stunning views overlooking Mawgan Porth Bay. Fabulous suites, award-winning breakfast & hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thorncliff Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing