We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedruthan Steps Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bedruthan Steps Gem”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel ticks every box for me and my family. It is beautifully decorated with a really welcoming atmosphere. Staff are both friendly and professional. There is plenty to do both within and outside the hotel. The restaurants are fantastic with well thought-out, locally sourced, freshly prepared food choices. As a family hotel I have struggled to find better. My children are really at home here. Well worth the drive!

Room Tip: Get a sea-view room for a treat...the view is awesome. If your children enjoy the park get a villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieWhite, Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
What a lovely review thank you very much for your kind words, I’m really pleased to hear that Bedruthan is a hit with all the family and that you can always find something for everyone to do. We really enjoy helping families have a fantastic time by the beach and we look forward to being able to welcome you back once again.
With my best wishes
Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    279
    107
    41
    20
See reviews for
528
334
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Get a sea view room - the view is amazing. Seriously - who needs tv with a view like that. Location, location, location. Minutes from an amazing beach with a great surf school - yes even if Feb. You can walk to Bedruthan or Watergate bay.
Staff are friendly and baby listening is fab - adult dinner and no worries. Dinner excellent - only criticism is too much salt. Celeb chef was eating there - need I say more.
Lovely salads for lunch. Tasty, imaginative tapas.
Your children should never be allowed to swim alone - shocked that another reviewer would want to do that - no matter how well they can swim.
Spa is lovely. Good choice of treatments and they weren't all booked up - although I did book in advance.
Baby sitting available. Loads of outdoor play areas for the children. Kids club. Jungle gym. Will be coming back when small one is older.
Just need to wash those high chair straps and make sure you clean up after previous kids in the restaurant please.
Not cheap.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieWhite, Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay I’m so pleased to hear that you had a lovely time. We try really hard to make sure that our facilities suit the guests we have at the hotel whether younger or older so it’s great to know that you were able to make use of them. Thanks for your feedback on the highchairs and food I will make sure that this is shared with the team so that we can keep an eye on this. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.
With my very best wishes
Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We visited the spa as a treat. Took a package including lunch(separate review as so good!) hotel is tired, spa staff were only really counting numbers in and out rather than looking after guests. Pool is tired and nothing special very clean but nothing special. My wife and daughter had a treatment but Pretty basic. Hotel staff friendly and helpful however.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazzagazebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieWhite, Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your visit to the spa, I am really sorry to hear that we haven’t delivered the experience you were looking for, this is unusual and I would really like to understand a little more about your visit so that we can ensure we learn from any points highlighted. We really want all of our guests to have a wonderful and relaxing time with us and I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly so that we can talk about this. I can be contacted on jwhite@bedruthan.com
With my very best wishes
Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Really lovely weekend here. The rooms are lovely , setting magnificent and loads to do. As well as the beach there's an outdoor pool, indoor pool and spa , games room, beautiful areas where you can read with the view, ping pong and air hockey. Food delicious. Only lost points for 1030 kick out time on a Sunday. However, you can stay and use the spa etc all day after checking out. The staff are really friendly and it really is laid back luxury. It's not cheap, but it's worth every penny. Lovely details include organic local toiletries, REAL milk in the fridge, robes and spa towels, free WIFI. All the furniture is well designed, very well thought through. It is a family hotel, but there are adult only areas and as a couple it was a great weekend. Really hope I get to go there again .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newstigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieWhite, Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
What a lovely review thank you very much. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to come back. We try really hard to get the balance right between family and adult areas and it’s always great to hear when we have got that right as it’s something we are passionate about. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and I hope it won’t be too long until we see you again.
With my best wishes
Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I wanted you to know how charming it is to pop in here during the day time and partake in a coffee and snack. There are comfortable, informal, seating areas to sit and relax and take advantage of the spectacular scenary. Super to look out and watch the waves crashing into the sea. Staff are eager to make your time there very pleasant and the logs were regularly topped up on the open fire whilst we sat in the "Tranquility Area". Perfect for a cold winter day. Additionally, the day time menue has something for everyone. My friend and I shared the tappas and had a lovely glass of wine whilst passing the time away. Staff came in regularly to check that we were fine and enquire if we wanted any additional refreshments. The biscuits served with the coffees were a very pleasant suprise. We had a couple of rounds of coffee and with each serving came a different variety of biscuit-quite charming and typical of the attention to detail that was experienced. There are a variety of art objects on display and it is worth a wander around to fully appreciate the collection.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourcoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieWhite, Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We love to welcome guests who are here for the day as well as residents and I hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon to enjoy the beautiful views and food we have to offer at either the Wild Café or The Herring.
With my best wishes
Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I've just spent a weekend at this hotel on a free machine embroidery course.
It was fantastic. From the inspirational teacher (who'd come all the way from Cheshire to teach) to the attentive service of the hotel staff. The spa staff were very helpful as we're the reception staff. What was incredible was if you needed a member of staff for additional materials for the course or for a top up of hot water for the coffees and teas one seemed to appear without being summoned. Hats off to matt for this. The food in the wild cafe was delicious.
The public areas were spotless and the tranquility area was just that, with a roaring wood burner. Here's to cosy hotels in the winter! Well done Bed Steps.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The villa rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamishFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieWhite, Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we have so many wonderful craft breaks going on at the hotel this year and you really have captured what our vision of the experience should be. Relaxed and attentive service, good facilities to enjoy when you’re not too busy learning your new skill and a space to learn that is inspiring with views that overlook the beach and Atlantic Ocean. Our staff and course leaders are such an important part of the experience and we believe that they really add to the enjoyment so thanks very much for recognising them. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
With my best wishes
Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
callington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I cannot tell you how disappointed I was in this hotel. Maybe if I hadn't read the hype I wouldn't be as it wasn't terrible just not in my mind a top flight hotel. Firstly the outside is 'tatty'. that's fine. Go inside and it is fine. We went in January so maybe out of season meant not much going on. We took our grandchildren 8 and 10. Nothing much for them to do apart from video games room. Went to pool and despite being excellent swimmers were not allowed in without one of us there!
Kids rooms definitely meant for little ones. Food so disappointing. Could only eat in Wild Cafe with kids which is plastic chairs plastic tables and the most limited menu I have ever seen at a top hotel.

Room Tip: If in winter do not get sea view, the windows are draughty and if as when we were there high winds y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barbarajoan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieWhite, Manager at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thanks for your honest feedback about your recent visit to Bedruthan. I am so sorry to hear that we weren’t able to fully delight you while you were with us. We take our feedback very seriously and I would really appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail so that we are able to learn and develop what we offer to our guests. Our desire is to make sure that all of our guests have a fabulous time and make some really long lasting memories. I can be contact directly at jwhite@bedruthan.com. I look forward to speaking with you.
With my very best wishes
Janie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
4.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
8.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Property: Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Address: | Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall's Large Hotel of the Year 2010/11 and Enjoy England's Sustainable Tourism Business of the Year. Bedruthan offers magnificent views over the Atlantic, an award-winning restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, children's clubs and a stunning Ocean Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing