We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, great facilities, good food and a very relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked a spa break over a long weekend and I have to say were not disappointed. The location of the hotel is fantastic, spa is very relaxing and quality of the treatments was good. One of the best hotel breakfast I think I have experienced and the lunch and evening meals were of a very good standard. Whilst it is a family orientated hotel there are still plenty of areas which are adult only so you can relax away from the "younger" generation if that is what you want. In my opinon it caters for both familys and adults well. Definately recommend taking a surf lesson from Nick at the surf shack if you are a beginner! We have already booked a stay again for next yr

Room Tip: Has to be sea facing - stunnig view over the bay and cliffs beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gowersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

834 - 840 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent a fantastic couple of days on a spa break in September. We came away feeling really chilled out and felt we had been away for a lot longer. The hotel feels so relaxed and had a wonderful atmosphere. All the staff were lovely and the food and facilities were very good. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Looking from the outside this hotel does not look anything special, but as they say beauty is only skin deep. Once inside this hotel is just great and although we only stayed 2 nights, as we were travelling around Cornwall, it was just great! The dinner we had at the Herring restaurant was first class, not quite as good as the famous "15" down the road, but at a quarter of the price, excellent value for money (don't miss it!!). We would rate this hotel as one to return to in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinaboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I'm amazed that there are a couple of pretty harsh reviews left previously on here. I guess you can't please all of the people all of the time.

Although we are fairly local (Torpoint,) we thought we'd head down with our 14 month old for a 2 day break and we were blown away by the attention to detail. First impressions, We loved all of the local art proudly displayed throughout the premises and it was lovely to sit down in the lounge and read through the artists profiles........we are considering purchasing a fine painting from one of the featured artists.
Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but we did get there 3 hours early. We were invited to make use of the facilities, which I have to say were very good. They prepared a lovely lunch for our daughter and free broadband access for me as soon as we arrived in the Wild Cafe, a contemporary setting with amazing sea views. As well as an abundance of high chairs for little lady and even her own plastic cutlery and bowl.
We nipped off into Newquay (15 minutes away) and did a little shopping before returning to the hotel where our room was ready. We booked a sea view and the room was amazing. Very spacious with large sliding doors looking out over the cliffs of Mawgan Porth. The beds were comfortable even if the little monkey did keep us awake for half the night. The organic soap in the bathroom was very good quality. In the evening we just turned on the room monitor and was given a pager by reception leaving us free to enjoy an adult evening meal. We got involved in one or two too many mojitos perfectly made by a lovely guy in the cocktail bar. Expensive but worth every penny.
Our one and only criticism was the evening meal which we had pre booked at the time of making the reservation. We ate in the Herring restaurant under the flexible dining scheme and our preferred choice advertised on the menu upstairs wasn't available. We opted instead for the Asian curry and to be honest with you, it was horrific. It was bland and reminded me of some kind of Happy Shopper tinned sauce thus leaving only a trace of bitterness to our stay. I think if we had eaten in the Wild Cafe in the evening we would not have been disappointed. The butternut squash risotto looked fabulous.

We had a great time with our daughter playing together in the soft play area which could have put some purpose built establishments to shame. The swimming pool was lovely and waking up to a gorgeous breakfast overlooking pumping surf was the cherry on the cake. A keen surfer myself, the trek down the cliff can be done in about 7 minutes and the locals in the water all seemed friendly enough

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abaysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel and we'll be booking again for next year. We stayed the first week in September and were really lucky with the weather. The things that make is so great for us a family with a three year old are - 1) Location: it's so close to such a nice beach and Padstow etc 2) The child friendliness and children's facilities: these are excellent - particularly the soft play and swimming pools. The children's outdoor pool is toasty warm, but take your flip flops as the grass around it can get squidgy. The quality of the children's food is excellent too 3) The baby listening which allows for grown-up evenings with the security you'll be swiftly alerted to any issues 4) The Herring - we had more meals in this restaurant this time round and the food was really delicious - the service was also more professional (and as such more relaxing) than in The Wild Cafe. It's accurate the drinks are pricey, but the quality of the wine is excellent and the prices are similar to most quality bars all over the country 5) The indoor pool & spa. 6) The free wi-fi (although slow!). The reasons I haven't given it 5 stars are a) the service is occasionally a bit "flaky" - i.e. some of the staff seem very young and to have very little experience/awareness of customers' needs. That said, the majority are very friendly & efficient, and b) the beds.....they're pretty hard and unforgiving! If you're wavering about trying it, book a sea view room (on the second/top floor) and give it a go!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room on the second/top floor. Eat in The Herring in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We enjoyed 6 glorious nights here (having extended our stay!), and look forward to returning soon.
We travelled with our 15 month old boy, demanding and full of energy and not a good sleeper. We arrived worn out, worn down, and in dire need of a break, and Bedruthan delivered provided the perfect tonic for us, welcoming the entire family with great food, great views, and great child friendly facilities.
However, it wasn't all positive, and I would be reluctant to return at anything other than off-peak season, as I honestly can't see how the staff or facilities would be able to cope (see notes on service below), and frankly, given we were paying £310 a night inc. flexi-dining & breakfast + extras, I can't see they can fully justify any more. On the other hand, given the quality of the holiday we had, I think we would have paid nearly anything!
The View
Well it starts with the view - We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather, and every morning we sat at breakfast and marvelled at how wonderful it was. That combined with the fantastic beach and coastal path walks lifted our moods, cleaned out our lungs and made us feel very happy indeed.
The Food
- The food is superb, albeit expensive. We were on a flex-dine package, which worked out very well for us, although if you are likely to have lunch and then eat in The Herring, you soon go over your allowance
- The Wild Cafe is nice enough - It's the location for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and has segregated spaces, such that space allowing, those not wishing to eat around children have their own section. The food was consistently good (my wife says excellent), with 2 exceptions; the steak sandwich and the rump steak, which were very poorly executed. Breakfasts were superb, and we looked forward to them every morning. Plenty of choice for adults and children alike, and very casual! There are one or two oddities - Others have mentioned the orange juice charge, and although i was very happy drinking the apple juice there, i left still confused as to why their menu says it's £3 a glass and the sign by the apple juice says it's £1.50 a glass - different glass sizes perhaps? The other slightly odd thing was charging £2.50 for pancakes - Given the quality of the other food on the buffet, i can only assume this is because there is an opportunity cost of doing individual pancakes, where everything else can be done in bulk - it certainly isn't a function of the ingredients.
- The Herring restaurant was superb - You'll see from other review that we are lucky enough to go to some very good restaurants - I honestly thought the food could have been Michelin Star - indeed better than that because the portion sizes were generous compared to M* - It felt like a dining experience, with amuse bouches to start with and petit fours to finish - Lovely. As for the comment someone else made about ties, this is completely untrue. The official dress code is smart-casual, which in practice means no beach-wear - I asked them about this review, and they laughed and said they had no idea where that had come from as this had simply never been the case.
- Finally a word on the wine list - Lots of good wines available by the glass and a wide selection of varietals. Good work!

Childcare
- The main reason for our visit was to ensure we had a holiday and our son had a holiday, and there was as little compromise as possible in achieving both. In this respect above all, Bedruthan delivered.
- We discovered Jungle tumble on our first day and then spent many happy hours there- Imagine a large room dedicated to soft play, ball pits, assault courses, slides - I think the adults had more fun than the kids!
- The room listening work wonderfully for us as well - Such a simple system and gave us great confidence - Nothing more to add
- The crèche was phenomenal and Robin and colleagues deserve a medal for the relationship they quickly built with our son and the energy they put in to playing with him and the other children. Lovely capable people who are a credit to childcare
- Just to address some of the points others have made about where and when children are welcome. 1) It's not true that children can only eat 4-6, but this is "tea time", and therefore the time at which most children were eating - For us this worked brilliantly as his bed time is at 7. There were other evenings when we went in for a drink or early dinner and found children there much later than 6 - 2) The ballroom is supposed to be childfree after 10pm; however there is a caveat to this, and that is that children is defined as under 13 - therefore "well behaved teenagers" would be welcome.

The Spa and Pool
- Overall very good - we went swimming most days and had a few treatments, and were impressed. The only improvement I could suggest is to make the waiting area a bit more pleasant - Being in a corridor is not particularly relaxing, but this is no doubt a function of available space.


The Service
There are two sides to this story.

First the good - Everyone was welcoming, friendly, and keen to help. They were understanding about child-related mess and nothing was too much trouble; likewise when our keys randomly and intermittently weren't working, they provided a solution for us quickly and with the minimum of fuss.

The not so good - Lunch and dinner service were just comical - Everyone we spoke to agreed that the relaxed, easy atmosphere of breakfast, completely appropriate to that meal and a self-service setting, was carried through to lunch and dinner. At lunch this resulted in long delays between ordering and children getting served (as a parent, as soon as you strap your child in to a chair, the fuse is lit and the clock starts ticking down!) and dinner in both the Wild Cafe and The Herring (although less so in The Herring), we regularly had the following: 1) long delays for drinks, before, during, and after the meal 2) being inconsistently offered water and bread 3) not taking starter cutlery away when just having a main 3) being given a wine menu and then the waiter not coming back to check whether a wine had been chosen 4) not offering steak knives automatically when ordering steak - Really just a general lack of ability to work the room and run a service - We did notice on our last day that the Maître D was working much harder to pre-empt the needs of guests, and it was a noticeable improvement, but at these prices, service should be slick, and waiters ready to attend. Why only have 1 person serving drinks? Given the number of covers, it's impossible to serve all your customers in good time. These things are so easy to sort out and make a huge difference! It's difficult with seasonal staff, and striking the right balance between formal and relaxed, but a restaurant can still be relaxed and have great service.

The Room
- Great positioning over the childrens playground and with a killer view. The separate bedroom with independent bay listening was worth the price alone. My only criticism is that they are a bit dowdy and could do with a spruce, or some art, or something - The hotel is full of beautiful art, and the rooms are just drab - As for the toiletries, we decided we didn't much care for the "shower soap" and were given shower gel and shampoo without any issue at all - Also liked the fact that the two rooms meant that we had a separate bath and shower.
- The King size bed was actually two beds put together, with what appeared to be 2 mattresses that had a slight gap in the middle - I found this really uncomfortable, and it minimized the advantage of a large bed - I understand the need for flexibility in room set up, but surely they can spring (no pun intended) for a full size mattress if not a full size bed, so that these tick the luxury box?!
- We asked for new bedsheets for the cot (which was excellent by the way), and they left the new sheets there, without taking the old ones - A minor point, but sloppy.

Other small matters
- The table mats and cutlery are just horrible - I don't mean aesthetically, i mean functionally - the table mats rotate with the slightest provocation, and the cutlery is rounded and doesn't fit in the hand well, and slides down the plate
- The key system isn't perfect as we found when trying to get back in our room having returned from the pool with our wet child - Quick call to reception sorted it, but it did get slightly farcical at one point with the manager running back and forth.
- Everyone knows phone reception is going to be terrible down there, and indeed it is. What's great is that if you do need to make a call from your room it's relatively cheap - I made 2 short calls and was charged only 15p each time, which I think is entirely reasonable
- The wifi is "hotel wide", except that much of the time even with a half full hotel it was at best patchy/slow - This is another area where they could improve hugely and it would make a difference to many of their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Digital_Goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had many lovely holidays at Mawgan Porth when our Girls were little including this hotel,fast forward twenty years or so and we decided to revisit by ourselves unfortunately for us we picked the week in September when we had a very wet and windy start to the week.
We were allocated room 11 on the first floor with a sea view which I think you need if you stay in this lovely part of Cornwall,even with the bad weather it was wonderful to see the sea rolling in.
The room was rather small for the price and dated but everything was clean and worked well includingFree wifi.
On our first morning we were woken by the cleaning staff a little after 9am enquiring if we were ready for a room service,could have done with asking nearer 9.30 not every body wants to be up that early especially when you are on hols,all the cleaning staff were polite and friendly though.
Plentiful breakfasts but did not like the buffet style hot breakfast arrangement for supposedly a reasonable calibre hotel like this continental style buffet is ok but I found not every thing was as hot
From the cooked breakfast side.
Ate in the Herring restaurant on two nights, first night I had to pay a £3 supplement for a starter dish that had just 2 scallops in,main was turbot but was on the small side.
Wine choices were great,maybe a little pricey but the quality was good.
Second night we had a more satisfying meal as the portions were much more ample.
I would not fault the service in this restaurant as the staff that attended to us were lovely.
As much as I love the situation of this hotel I probably would not return again there was nothing wow about this hotel except for the sea view which I expect is why the prices are high.

Room Tip: Always choose a sea view it compensates for bad weather and room size,second floor is probably the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minkywinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.1 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,642 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
3 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
8.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
988 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Address: | Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £140 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed Cornwall with beaches and stunning coastline on our doorstep, Bedruthan is so much more than a hotel with theatre, workshops, fairs and a art gallery. Spend your days enjoying locally sourced food in our Wild Cafe and Herring Restaurant or indulging and unwinding in our indoor spa, for a really invigorating experience try our Sensory Spa Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing