We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luxury family break”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I can't recommend this hotel enough. We've just returned from our second trip to Bedruthan and are somehow even more thrilled with it. We went with our three young children (3, 1 and 6 months) and everyone had a great time.

The kids loved the pool, soft play, ballroom with ride-on toys, playground and of course the beach. They also enjoyed eating in the restaurant, which catered really well to them all. Even when our son was sick at dinner the staff didn't bat an eyelid!

I had an incredible massage and both of us were able to enjoy the well-appointed spa. But our highlight was probably the fact that we were able to go out for two meals as a couple at The Herring. I can't remember the last time we did that!

We were able to do that because of the baby listening service at the hotel. I was very apprehensive about leaving the children but as the room had an alarm on the door and staff were constantly listening in I was reassured.

All the staff go out of the way to cater to your every need, our seaview villa was spacious and well-appointed, and all the food and drinks we had were high quality, well-sourced ingredients and totally delicious.

Of course the setting of the hotel speaks for itself, it's simply stunning. Looking over the Atlantic waves, the constant roar of the waves and motion of the ocean were mesmerizing. The dramatic February weather did not ruin our enjoyment of our break at all. There's so much to do both inside and out.

We're already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: Villas have two seperate rooms which are great for families with noisy children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauzFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    289
    110
    42
    20
See reviews for
549
345
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful clean hotel, friendly professional service, excellent food, great location. A different experience from shiny hotels in cities, more natural but still of high standard quality. Can't praise the homemade food enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Spent 3 days at the Bedruthan hotel, our 3rd visit. The hotel and spa are excellent. The staff are so helpful and happy we can't praise them enough. The food in the restaurant was first class couldn't fault it. Also the breakfast are brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Warm welcome on arrival. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay. The room was good - spotlessly clean and well furnished. Nice quiet areas to sit in the hotel and admire the views out to sea. The food was good - especially the muesli at breakfast! My only gripe - I stayed here on my own and felt self conscious when at dinner I was placed at a table underneath the specials board. Felt like people were staring at me all night. Otherwise an excellent hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was living at Cornwall at the time and wanted a weekend away but not to far so we opted to head to Bedruthan, a great choice as well and far better than The Cornwall where we stayed a few weeks before.

The service was really good through out, particularly at night when we played pontoon with the local barman, well he was from Liverpool if I recall but he made the night thoroughly entertaining for those that were there.

Lots of things to do and plenty to explore within the grounds as well regardless of the weather conditions.

Breakfast was great as well, it was a really stormy morning so it made good viewing being on top of the cliffs pearing over the sea crashing into Mawgan Porth.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had another great stay at Bedruthan Steps! - We love the Spa and Jacuzzi! - Great walks on the beach and really appreciated the new dressing gowns. Breakfast was fantastic and we really recommend this hotel for families. One day we will get to the Scarlet Hotel next door!

Room Tip: Get one near the Spa! - With the Sea Views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We had a very good stay. The service was first class, the facilities excellent and food of a high standard.

What stops me giving a higher mark is the price. We paid about £450 a night and not everything was included. You had to pay for dinner or lunch. I think this was just too much for what was provided.

Also, I did feel that for the price, the room could have even bigger. For example, it was divided by a blind covering half the room which meant that when your child was asleep, you could not really watch a movie in the room.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiskerprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
4.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,550 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Property: Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Address: | Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall's Large Hotel of the Year 2010/11 and Enjoy England's Sustainable Tourism Business of the Year. Bedruthan offers magnificent views over the Atlantic, an award-winning restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, children's clubs and a stunning Ocean Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing