We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“February half term family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“February half term family break”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were recommended this hotel by three different sets of independent friends. We are very glad we listened to their recommendations! Children were kept busy and happy with a great range of both indoor and outdoor based activities at the hotel.
Next time we go we will pre book crèche spaces for the children. Due to it being half term, all sessions were already booked up by the time we arrived.
The only small negative we had was that the dessert options for our two year old coeliac son weren't great, so we ended up supplying these ourselves at supper time.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    279
    107
    41
    20
See reviews for
528
334
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I hesitated between "very good" and "excellent" for this hotel. But the facilities for children are simply amazing. We took a large party including seven children age 3 to 13. By the end of the holiday we did not see them all day. From the time they took themselves down to breakfast through all the activity rooms and supervised activities they were entertained all day. Magnificent views over the beach and sea. Excellent adult restaurant, very good food. Good general restaurant, though rather a lot of crying babies in it! We were in rooms on the first floor of the main building room numbers up to 37. Some of these were very noisy because the sound insulation is poor. Try for rooms on the top floor of the main building numbered 41 upwards, or perhaps elsewhere in the complex. The staff were simply excellent cheerful and helpful. So, on balance, five stars !

Room Tip: See notes above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chartseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I can't speak for the hotel experience but my girlfriend and I visited for a Spa and dinner evening (one of the hotel's deals on their website) and it was superb.

The way to the spa is labyrinthine but snaking one's way through the underbelly of the hotel, along kitsch but understated and tasteful decor, was actually quite delightful. The smell of chlorine and bath salts intensified in parallel to my excitement.

I had a brief conversation with the assistant about the merits of Japanese bath houses and we were then given a personal tour of the facilities, and basically told we could go wherever. Towels and robe provided we set off into two hours of intense heat, steam, bubbles and even a Hammam room. It was quiet and one could even step outside and cool off on the veranda overlooking the sea and the breathtaking Bedruthan Steps. We got dried up and went for meal at the Wild Cafe.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW6
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from a great four night break over half term. Hotel is brilliant for children - our two loved it, what with pirate ships, assault course, indoor pool (too cold for the outdoor one which looks lovely), jungle tumble soft play, evening entertainment and child care if you want it. Food was delicious with excellent wine pairings in the Herring for grown up meals, using the baby listening, and equally good in The Wild Cafe for a noisier but fun meal with the children and another family who live locally. Staff are very friendly and helpful - reflected in the atmosphere of the whole hotel. Although busy for half term, there were no delays for food or service unlike our previous stay. Yes, it's not an attractive building from the outside but bedrooms are all well appointed and ours nicely decorated. We had two adjoining rooms at the back of the hotel which suited us well. Last time we had a room overlooking the sea but it's one room with a curtain to pull down to divide the room. Spa lovely - had two treatments which were very relaxing. Only small gripe - rooms not that soundproofed - woke to a crying child (not ours). We will be back again - girls already asking when.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lostwithiel
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Book last min.what a weekend the reception staff where very helpfull and welcoming and followed by the kids club espaically Nat, who looked after our 2 girls.The restaurant staff again very welcoming and looked after us very well,nothing was to much. the swimming pool was good ,a little small but we still had fun,The bar manager again was very knowlageable and chattie.I went to the spa again excellent.Well done we'll be back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyyorkshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Worth getting the negatives out of the way.The parking area and road facing facade resembles a sixties council office building.It is also very child friendly so although was quiet when we were there the following week (half-term) they have 130 adults booked with 100 children.
So many positives though.Great staff-all genuinely friendly-special mention to the waitress from Huddersfield who served us a delicious dinner,Emily-who gave a fantastic shoulder massage and Ian who made the great cocktails which gave us a bit of a thick head in the morning.Stunning location and views.If you are going all the way down to Bedruthan it is worth the extra for an ocean facing room.Food was excellent-cream tea was a real treat.Spa was as relaxing as the brochure stated and again great views.So much to do in the hotel almost impossible to use all the facilities during a short stay.Had booked some extras as it was Valentines day and everything was there beautifully presented and at the right times.Room was huge-we were upgraded to a family suite and could not fault anything in it.Whoever has organised their customer service training has done a great job as this really does make this hotel standout.If you have young children this would be a perfect hotel as they have a baby alarms and kids clubs for even very young kids.Beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Beg,steal or borrow for an Ocean view........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I can't recommend this hotel enough. We've just returned from our second trip to Bedruthan and are somehow even more thrilled with it. We went with our three young children (3, 1 and 6 months) and everyone had a great time.

The kids loved the pool, soft play, ballroom with ride-on toys, playground and of course the beach. They also enjoyed eating in the restaurant, which catered really well to them all. Even when our son was sick at dinner the staff didn't bat an eyelid!

I had an incredible massage and both of us were able to enjoy the well-appointed spa. But our highlight was probably the fact that we were able to go out for two meals as a couple at The Herring. I can't remember the last time we did that!

We were able to do that because of the baby listening service at the hotel. I was very apprehensive about leaving the children but as the room had an alarm on the door and staff were constantly listening in I was reassured.

All the staff go out of the way to cater to your every need, our seaview villa was spacious and well-appointed, and all the food and drinks we had were high quality, well-sourced ingredients and totally delicious.

Of course the setting of the hotel speaks for itself, it's simply stunning. Looking over the Atlantic waves, the constant roar of the waves and motion of the ocean were mesmerizing. The dramatic February weather did not ruin our enjoyment of our break at all. There's so much to do both inside and out.

We're already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: Villas have two seperate rooms which are great for families with noisy children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauzFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
4.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
8.2 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Property: Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Address: | Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall's Large Hotel of the Year 2010/11 and Enjoy England's Sustainable Tourism Business of the Year. Bedruthan offers magnificent views over the Atlantic, an award-winning restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, children's clubs and a stunning Ocean Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing