We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best short break location ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best short break location ever!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

For me this is the best short break location ever. The views are awesome. The hotel is bright, airy and spacious. Even when busy the hotel does not feel crowded. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. The spa is comfortable. The bedrooms are large and bright. The room temperature can be adjusted easily to suit taste. The food (especially the breakfast) is delicious. The most amazing beach is 5 minute walk away as are clifftop walks with the best views ever.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room if possible. It is worth the little extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    294
    111
    43
    20
See reviews for
555
346
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked an overnight spa break for a friend and myself as thanks for all her support over the years. Bedruthan turned out to be the perfect choice. From the moment we entered the hotel we really felt that the sole purpose of everyone there was to ensure our comfort and enjoyment. The staff were attentive and friendly, the rooms were beautiful and very luxurious and the spa to die for. Even though we were only there for one night we were encouraged to stay as long as we wanted on the second day to enjoy the facilities. Lounging in the jacuzzi and gazing out over the Cornish coastline is an experience I will long remember. One extremely small improvement would be if slippers were also supplied for use in the spa but other than that highly recommended. The food is absolutely amazing!!!

Room Tip: I really do think the rooms are all of an exceptional quality although those at the front are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipplepen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just got back from 3 nights with our 2 year old. The facilities for kids are excellent, swimming pool, soft-play area etc, and the hotel is focussed on helping parents to chill out. We only ate in the Cafe and it was relaxed and very child friendly, as were all the staff we encountered.

The room was of good standard and we were able to order room service in the evening so we didn't have to eat too early before putting the little one to bed. We had a great view of the beach and the outside play areas are of good quality.

Only negative comment would be that the room rate is not cheap, and for the price, the food is nothing special. We had sandwiches for lunch which for the price were very poor. That said, the overall experience was good and much better than the Watergate Bay Hotel where we stayed in the past. We will return for a short break at some stage.

Room Tip: We chose one of the villas which has a partition between the main bedroom and the kid's beds. Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A fantastic location for a surprise anniversary break. We travelled down from Dorset and thoroughly enjoyed our Saturday night treat; the Couples Hammam is a full blown luxurious and romantic pamper and definitely worth the experience.

Breakfast was the best we've ever had in this country. Bonus points for homemade bread and jams and locally sourced ingredients. Plus a big thumbs up for being a green hotel.

We rate this a 4 and 1/2 purely because the beds seemed a bit short and we were given a room with twin beds and a king size duvet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gezza67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We saw a fabulous deal on facebook, which was too good to turn down in order to stay here. We live 10 minutes down the road& have used the spa before. We love it in there (and treated ourselves to a couple Hamman treatment- so much fun) and the rest of the hotel did not disappoint. The room was spacious, food is locally sourced& delicious and the new bar manager made us unusual, but lovely cocktails. The only slight negative was our room was quite warm, but we slept with our window open. Falling asleep whilst listening to the surf roar was so relaxing and a reminder of the wonderful place we live in.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernowrlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were recommended this hotel by three different sets of independent friends. We are very glad we listened to their recommendations! Children were kept busy and happy with a great range of both indoor and outdoor based activities at the hotel.
Next time we go we will pre book crèche spaces for the children. Due to it being half term, all sessions were already booked up by the time we arrived.
The only small negative we had was that the dessert options for our two year old coeliac son weren't great, so we ended up supplying these ourselves at supper time.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I hesitated between "very good" and "excellent" for this hotel. But the facilities for children are simply amazing. We took a large party including seven children age 3 to 13. By the end of the holiday we did not see them all day. From the time they took themselves down to breakfast through all the activity rooms and supervised activities they were entertained all day. Magnificent views over the beach and sea. Excellent adult restaurant, very good food. Good general restaurant, though rather a lot of crying babies in it! We were in rooms on the first floor of the main building room numbers up to 37. Some of these were very noisy because the sound insulation is poor. Try for rooms on the top floor of the main building numbered 41 upwards, or perhaps elsewhere in the complex. The staff were simply excellent cheerful and helpful. So, on balance, five stars !

Room Tip: See notes above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chartseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
5.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,563 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
947 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Property: Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Address: | Trenance, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall's Large Hotel of the Year 2010/11 and Enjoy England's Sustainable Tourism Business of the Year. Bedruthan offers magnificent views over the Atlantic, an award-winning restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, children's clubs and a stunning Ocean Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing