We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for Families or Couples” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for Families or Couples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just arrived home from a short break at Bedruthan Hotel & Spa. As we approached the hotel, we were slightly disappointed by its' slightly 1970's appearance. But the interior of the hotel more than made up for our first impression - the decor was retro-contemporary and beautifully done. The reception staff were cheerful, friendly and efficient. We were there with our 21 year old son for whom we'd booked a single room. We'd booked a family room for ourselves, even though we are a couple. as it was the only way to get a sea view. Our room was beautifully decorated, lots of storage and spacious. The bathroom was slightly tired looking though. But the sea view more than made up for this ... stunning! Our son's single room was compact as you might expect and overlooked the tennis court. Unfortunately, it had a slight whiff of body odour and the single bed was unusually short. Our son at 6 foot 1, had a very restless first night as a result. But the next day, after a quick word with reception, he was offered a kingsize family room, overlooking the car-park, which was more than adequate., so no complaints there. The restaurant has a beautiful view over the bay, which we enjoyed whilst eating breakfast. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and impressively 80% of the food was locally sourced. We did not visit the spa but we did sit by the outside pool, which was a lovely, sheltered peaceful area - a real sun-trap with lots of loungers and seats. What we felt the hotel was particularly good at, was offering both families and adult only parties, such as us, a break that catered to theirs and our particular needs. For example, we were served breakfast in a section of the restaurant, where there were only adults and occasionally older children. Whilst, we don't dislike children, it's quite nice when on holiday, not to have to deal with the noise and disruption that children inevitably bring. Also, children were not allowed in the lounge after 10pm. At the same time, families appeared to have their needs adequately served, with children's entertainers and child-friendly food. The separation was sensitively done and resulted in a relaxing break for everyone. I would heartily recommend this hotel to everyone whether you are part of a family, a couple or an adult-only party. Hopefully we will return soon.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are sunny and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    272
    106
    40
    20
See reviews for
518
314
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Hatch end
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We got married at the hotel in March and we can only sing the the praises of the hotel and the staff envolved in our wedding. We could not have asked for a more beautiful setting, or more professional staff. The Food was exquisite and the whole day was magic!
We would like to single out Amy and Anneliese for extra praise,they took charge and coordinated the whole day and with out there experience and thoughtfulness to all concerned with the wedding party I am sure the day would not have passed with out a hitch and it did, it was perfect in every way.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough to get married in and if you do, you your day will be so special, as was ours.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woadys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Went to the spa and had dinner afterwards in the evening. Thought that it was very good value, the facilities were really good and the view super. Would definitely return, the staff were very welcoming in the spa and the restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank endlesssummer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited Bedruthan Steps hotel in May this year. Friends of ours had visited several times and had been nagging us to come with them to see just how awesome this place is.

I only have positive things to say!

We stayed on a stormy weekend in early May, but the only downside was the wind blasting at our hotel which faced out to sea. We didn’t mind, our 5 year old son was mesmerised by the view (when we were actually in our room) and it was pretty spectacular. The reception staff were friendly and informative, the check-in process was pleasant.

Our room was a family sea view room which was spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. There was lots of storage space in the room, and although the bathroom wasn’t massive it was roomy enough and the free toiletries smelled fabulous! A big bonus was the little fridge, having a 5 year old with us it meant we could store drinks and snacks and the hotel provides a pint of milk in the fridge with extras on request. The rooms also have a listening service (which we didn’t use) so if you wanted to put the kids to bed and pop down to the bar for a nightcap then you could ask for the listening service to be switched on.

The hotel is paradise for families with young kids. Our kids had the most amazing time; there are lots of outdoor play places and equipment, the indoor pool and the kids favourite which was the ‘Jungle Tumble’ room. This is a very large indoor soft play area which was card access controlled for safety, and was a great way for the kids to blow off some steam and make some new friends while we were waiting to go in to eat in the evening – and allowed us adults some time for a G&T and a chat. There was a show each night for the children, we saw ‘Marks Ark’ where a very knowledgeable chap (called Mark, obviously!) brought in lizards/snake/bugs/an owl for the kids to meet and talk about, and there was a clown show on the other night we were there.

The proximity to the beach is also another big plus, even though the weekend we stayed was stormy, we got down to the beach in a break in the weather and had a great time running around finding pebbles, watching surfers and drawing in the sand.

I believe that there are early times to eat for younger kids, but ours stayed up a bit later and ate in the restaurant with us. The staff in the restaurant were brilliant; they brought over colouring books and pencils for the kids and checked in regularly to see if they needed more drinks etc. The food was great, we all found something we liked and the standard was high. Breakfast was a highlight, I don’t think I have ever been to a hotel with so much choice, and the locally made preserves were gorgeous.

There was a hen party and a big wedding on the weekend we were there, but there was no noise and the different type of hotel guest blended perfectly.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone with young kids. I’ve not been to any hotel that caters for families as well as this place. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janner
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night on 5th July. We went for the B B and Evening Meal option . I must say from the start the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was just what we ordered with a great sea view .. The bathroom was spotless and the room decorated well and was also spotless.
The restaurant had friendly helpful staff who made us feel very special and were very attentive. The food was good quality but in my opinion there could have been a little more choice, but I am very fussy!!!
The duo singing were also very good and provided nice background music.
Breakfast was buffet style with great choice and well cooked quality products.
Will we return? Definitely ,it may be a family hotel but we found it spacious and quiet.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Absolutely amazing views from the spa and restaurant. We did the spa and lunch package which cost £15 for the spa and £15 for lunch, we also booked a back and shoulder massage for £19 each. The whole day was excellent value. One room has hydro pool, sofas, lounger, sauna, steam room and aromatherapy room with amazing views out of the floor to ceiling windows. In the second room there is a swimming pool with the same views. We went up to the Wild Cafe for the spa lunch which was tapas style, very tasty and there was plenty of it. Again the view were stunning. I would highly recommend this package. The only criticism is that the drinking water in the spa was very warm, they need to look into having chilled drinking water available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Like a previous reviewer our first impression of the hotel from the outside was of an 80's style hotel but once inside we changed our minds. Our hotel room was very nice although not too sure about the retro decor! We had a room overlooking the car park and had to have the windows open due to the heat and the absence of air conditioning. This was okay until we tried to sleep. Woken up frequently during the night due to people rampaging through the car park shouting at the tops of their voices. As the majority of the guests were families with small children or couples in their later years this did make us wonder if this was staff as this was in the early hours. We did hear that there were approximately 60 staff living in. Otherwise we were enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were delicious. We dined in the The Herring restaurant and enjoyed our meal apart from my husband's dish which was accompanied by various sea plants!

All in all we would recommend this hotel. We were visiting our daughter who stays in Newquay and took taxis to visit other restaurants in the area. Drinks were a bit expensive in the bar so we usually only stayed for one. Views from the hotel were spectacular.

Room Tip: Get a sea view. Car park facing rooms very noisy. Also if in an inte-connecting room you can hear ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen_as_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
4.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.1 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedruthan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedruthan Hotel & Spa

Property: Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Address: Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedruthan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall's Large Hotel of the Year 2010/11 and Enjoy England's Sustainable Tourism Business of the Year. Bedruthan offers magnificent views over the Atlantic, an award-winning restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools, children's clubs and a stunning Ocean Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bedruthan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedruthan Steps Mawgan Porth
Hotel Bedruthan Steps
Bedruthan Steps Hotel
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing