We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay”
Review of The Merrymoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Merrymoor Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights the first being the "big storm" our room (6) had fbulous views of the beach and most of Mawgan Porth, it was spotless with a large en-suite really verry nice.
The staff were very friendly and helpful nd the fact that it's been in family hands for four generations came through. The food was really very good, breakfast was excellent. As a base for our short break, this was a perfect situation.

Room Tip: specify a room overlooking the beach you won't be dis-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your review, pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this pub approximately 30 years ago and loved the location. We stayed again on Friday 25 October 2013 while in transit to a wedding in Newquay. The view is still breathtaking; the room was clean, comfortable with a stunning view over the beach; the food was excellent and the owners/staff were warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment was we could not stay longer, but we have decided to return again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which has a wonderful view across the bay. It was well worth paying a bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Criticala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again for a longer stay next time!
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Merrymoor is perfectly located opposite the beach and we were lucky enough to have a room at the front overlooking it. The room was really clean and comfortable with fantastic views and the staff very welcoming and friendly. Although we didn't eat in the pub during the evening, the breakfast was great and much needed before a big surfing session!

Flexible during the summer months (many b and b's in the area have a minimum 2-night stay policy) - we stayed in August for one night and we were accommodated at relatively short notice.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kernowsurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again when you are down surfing!
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our first stopping point after walking around 18 miles along the SWCP from Padstow, on our way to St. Ives. The place unfortunately lost out rather in comparison to where we had stayed and eaten the previous night in Padstow.
We did have a good sea-view room, but the bed was not overly comfortable and the bathroom rather small. The evening meal was OK but not outstanding (I had the steak & ale pie), and the breakfast fine (poached eggs on toast with a sausage).
I suspect we had been spoilt the night before!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stranded at Newquay airport by fog we were found a room here by a very helpful man at a pub opposite the airport.
A very friendly place and we were very impressed by our room - bathroom with Jacuzzi and a fantastic view over the bay. We ate here and the food was very good.
It was the service and friendliness that we liked. We had a very early start the next day but we were given some breakfast even though it was only 6.45.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safariUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your comments, pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay and hope to see you again,
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Staff were very friendly and showed us to our room. The room was lovely and clean, I loved the bathroom!!!
I would give the merrymoor inn 5 stars but sadly I couldn't sleep very well as the walls were very thin and I could hear the people in the next room.
I would recommend this place though, we had a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Merrymoor in a room with views over the beach. It was definitely worth paying the extra for that view. The room was very clean and nicely furnished and the bathroom had both a spacious shower cubicle and a bath. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the meals in the evening are good value although I would advise booking a table as it does get very busy. The staff were all lovely. Would definitely recommend for people wanting a beach holiday as the beach is clean and literally just over the road. We are already planning a return visit for next year.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a lovely view over the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieQuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

We are all delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather not being so great. Look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
4.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrymoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrymoor Inn

Address: Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £59 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Merrymoor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat Drink Sleep and Relax in our Family run beachside Freehouse midway between Newquay and Padstow and only 1 and a half miles from Newquay Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Merrymoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merrymoor Hotel Mawgan Porth
The Merrymoor Inn Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing