We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of The Merrymoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Merrymoor Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

As usual we were given a very warm welcome by the owners to this pub/hotel, just a stones throw from Mawgan Porth beach.The sea views are amazing .
It is family run , with a hard working friendly team of staff.We enjoyed good evening meals in the bar and superb breakfasts served by the lovely Lynne, whose parents initially had the pub in the sixties .
It was a grim winter weekend with heavy rains and ferocious winds, which we viewed through the large picture windows ,but we were very comfortable as it was really warm .
We look forward to returning again soon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Devongirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, l will pass them on to all the team here. Look forward to seeing you again soon,
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    70
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
69
122
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

There is a large choice of inn accommodation available in cornwall , The reason my wife and myself chose The merrymoor inn was the location and views , located nearly on the beach it looked perfect ! . We were delighted on our arrival with the warmest of welcomes, we soon realised we had made a good choice , During our stay we were looked after well and enjoyed the meals and drinks available at The merrymoor inn . An excellent family owned business , We both enjoyed our out of season midweek break .

Room Tip: would recommend room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are all so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights the first being the "big storm" our room (6) had fbulous views of the beach and most of Mawgan Porth, it was spotless with a large en-suite really verry nice.
The staff were very friendly and helpful nd the fact that it's been in family hands for four generations came through. The food was really very good, breakfast was excellent. As a base for our short break, this was a perfect situation.

Room Tip: specify a room overlooking the beach you won't be dis-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your review, pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this pub approximately 30 years ago and loved the location. We stayed again on Friday 25 October 2013 while in transit to a wedding in Newquay. The view is still breathtaking; the room was clean, comfortable with a stunning view over the beach; the food was excellent and the owners/staff were warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our only disappointment was we could not stay longer, but we have decided to return again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which has a wonderful view across the bay. It was well worth paying a bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criticala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again for a longer stay next time!
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Merrymoor is perfectly located opposite the beach and we were lucky enough to have a room at the front overlooking it. The room was really clean and comfortable with fantastic views and the staff very welcoming and friendly. Although we didn't eat in the pub during the evening, the breakfast was great and much needed before a big surfing session!

Flexible during the summer months (many b and b's in the area have a minimum 2-night stay policy) - we stayed in August for one night and we were accommodated at relatively short notice.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kernowsurfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again when you are down surfing!
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,790 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 903 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our first stopping point after walking around 18 miles along the SWCP from Padstow, on our way to St. Ives. The place unfortunately lost out rather in comparison to where we had stayed and eaten the previous night in Padstow.
We did have a good sea-view room, but the bed was not overly comfortable and the bathroom rather small. The evening meal was OK but not outstanding (I had the steak & ale pie), and the breakfast fine (poached eggs on toast with a sausage).
I suspect we had been spoilt the night before!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stranded at Newquay airport by fog we were found a room here by a very helpful man at a pub opposite the airport.
A very friendly place and we were very impressed by our room - bathroom with Jacuzzi and a fantastic view over the bay. We ate here and the food was very good.
It was the service and friendliness that we liked. We had a very early start the next day but we were given some breakfast even though it was only 6.45.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safariUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynne47, Owner at The Merrymoor Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your comments, pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay and hope to see you again,
Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.4 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,529 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merrymoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merrymoor Inn

Property: The Merrymoor Inn
Address: Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Merrymoor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eat Drink Sleep and Relax in our Family run beachside Freehouse midway between Newquay and Padstow and only 1 and a half miles from Newquay Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Merrymoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merrymoor Hotel Mawgan Porth
The Merrymoor Inn Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing