We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Cautious!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Trevarrian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trevarrian Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Be Cautious!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Having spent 4 night in Cornwall in a beautiful B&B, We made our way to this establishment for a 2 night stay, after reading the previous reviews we were expecting to find ' A little gem' ........ oh dear!...... this place needs some serious updating and a good clean. Our room was room 2 you nearly walked into the bed when you opened the door, no space for luggage, the room and en suite smelt fusty, no heating at all in the bathroom, old and dirty shower with a noisy fan rattling whenever you turned the light on, previous guests rubbish left in bedside draw and also something in the KETTLE....obviously not been checked or cleaned properly....Thank fully there was a good heater in the room. The following day i went to open the window behind the nets and it was a disguisting state, our room was not serviced properly....I roughly tidied the bed and they just put the cushions on...not even straightened the fitted sheet, tea and coffee was not replenished nor were the cups cleaned out.... The towels were changed but they forgot to replace the bath mat. Breakfast ok however the fruit nor the juice was not fresh as claiming to be. Watch your car on the approach road....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank karlynn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz V, Owner at Trevarrian Lodge, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to say that the vast majority of our guests do not share your views. I am aware that on check in you were considering cancelling your booking due to the weather conditions and maybe this has tainted your view. The lodge has been refurbished and all the rooms decorated in the past year or two and was inspected by Quality in Tourism just prior to your visit awarding us 5 stars for cleanliness and a very safe 4 star overall.Of course the room was thoroughly cleaned from the previous nights use before your stay, there may have been some residual water in the kettle, but nothing else. All our rooms are serviced daily and the trays refreshed and replenished, beds made (we do not use fitted sheets) and bathrooms cleaned. Only dirty towels & mats left in the shower are replaced in line with our environmental policy. Unfortunately the double glazed window in the room has blown and we have been unable to replace this during a busy season, we will attend to this over the winter. Our breakfast buffet offering changes with a variety of grapefruit, fresh fruit salad and individual fruit, I am sorry if the offering of the day was not to your taste. It is disappointing that you did not mention any problems during your stay with us as we may have been able to rectify them or offer another room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    23
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
33
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Booked as a late deal and before booking we were reassured by the numerous positive comments posted on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. This is a relatively small guest house offering very clean and comfortable bedrooms. Although I am not a great lover of the full english breakfast, I surprised myself every day by thoroughly enjoying the cooked to order breakfasts served by the friendly owners. Would we stay her again, definitely. Would we recommend the accommodation, absolutely

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz V, Owner at Trevarrian Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, hope the big breakfasts didn't spoil the cream teas that Cornwall is so famed for! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here three nights as a single traveller. Location is excellent, ideal for exploring the whole area.
I simply couldn't fault the place, from the friendly welcome to the comfy and spotlessly clean rooms to the excellent breakfast, it was fantastic. There is a really comprehensive booklet in the room with tons of information for travellers new to the area, which I found immensely useful. I would recommend it to everyone and anyone. I only wished I lived closer and could be a more regular visitor. But one things for certain, I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhinomanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz V, Owner at Trevarrian Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to seeing you again if you come this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had a great holiday visitng Mawgan Porth, Padstow, Watergate Bay, Harlyn Bay and Wadebridge. Location of Lodge meant that we were within easy reach of all of the locations.

Breakfast was spot on. We put in food request the night before and specified time. Food was aleays ready promtly around time specified and was prepared to a good quality with helpful service.

Clean and tidy rooms with en-suite and Freeview TV.

The couple running the lodge were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was a family room with double bed and book beds in attached room with door to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriB742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz V, Owner at Trevarrian Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us, hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My niece and I stayed here so we could attend a wedding nearby. Trevarrian Lodge is located in an ideal spot for enjoying any part of this atmospheric and beautiful County. After a long car journey the warm welcome we received was such a treat. Nothing is too much for the owners of this delightful B&B. Both Roz and Colin are perfect hosts, consistently helpful, attentive, who so evidently enjoy pleasing their visitors. The room has a spectacular sea view, is clean, comfortable with all the required amenities. We both slept like babies in our comfortable beds. Breakfast was 'par excellence' - great choice healthily produced, the best I've eaten in a long time, definitely cooked and presented with love! All in all this B&B is fantastic value for money. So pleased to have discovered a true gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daphnenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz V, Owner at Trevarrian Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on our home. It was a pleasure to look after you both. Hope to see you again if you are visiting Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very nice place to stay. Welcome was great and the room was brilliant.
Booked through Late Rooms as I had a short notice over night stay. I had a single room , which I found to be bright and well decorated. Everything was well maintained and appeared new.
Breakfast was one of the best I have had for a long while. Obviously cooked to order. The breakfast room was bright and very well laid out.
I would stay here again without doubt.
Brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortboyold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz V, Owner at Trevarrian Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to seeing you again if they send you back to appointments in Cornwall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed at Trevarrian Lodge for third time for two seperate overnights on our annual visit to the Isles of Scilly. Colin and Roz have done a super job in updating the accomodation and the bedrooms and dining area are excellent. Nothing seems to be a problem, room and breakfast very good value and they are also very helpful.
Ideal location for airport and the Newquay/Padstow area.
Can only highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz V, Owner at Trevarrian Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments. It's great to see you each year - pleased you are enjoying the improvements - something new to see each time. See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
1.0 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seavista
Seavista
#1 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Merrymoor Inn
The Merrymoor Inn
#2 of 7 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevarrian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevarrian Lodge

Property: Trevarrian Lodge
Address: Trevarrian | Mawgan Porth, Mawgan Porth TR8 4AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Trevarrian Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevarrian Lodge is a comfortable, contemporary B&B in the hamlet of Trevarrian, a rural setting close to Mawgan Porth and Watergate Bay on the north coast of Cornwall. Set amongst spectacular scenery with sea views from some first floor rooms, it offers family, double, twin and single rooms all are en-suite. One family room has a king size bed and sofa bed, the other a king size bed and bunk beds in their own area, both sleep 4(cots can be provided). A hearty breakfast is served with a choice of cereals,fruit, toast and full Cornish breakfast, continental, vegetarian or pancakes are available. Those requiring a special diet can by catered for on request. There are several good pubs serving food nearby and of course Jamie Oliver's Fifteen Cornwall is a mile away and Rick Steins many eateries are nearby in Padstow. Local attractions include Newquay Zoo, Dairyland Farm World, Blue Reef Aquarium, Crealy and The Eden Project. From the airport you can fly to the Isles of Scilly and we offer overnight stays with parking for those wishing to holiday on the islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trevarrian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trevarrian Lodge Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing