We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab holiday home, right by the beach. The...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beach Retreat on the edge of Mawgan Porth Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach Retreat on the edge of Mawgan Porth Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Beach Retreat on the edge of Mawgan Porth Beach
Balcony off main bedroom
The sunny beach at Mawgan Porth - taken from just near the property
Well equipped kitchen with dining table
Beautiful Mawgan Porth beach
1 single and 1 x bunk bed in 2nd bedroom.  Egyptian cotton bedlinen
beautiful sandy beach - perfect for sandcastles and surfing.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Mawgan Porth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon C
1 review
“Fab holiday home, right by the beach. The children loved it.”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Number 7 Sandy Court was a lovely place to stay. It looked freshly decorated (even though we stayed at the end of the season), it was furnished very comfortably (comfy sofas, soft carpets upstairs, big bunk beds, outdoor tables and chairs, etc.), and it was equipped with everything needed for a self catering holiday (including new appliances, plenty of kitchen things and even properly sharp knives). The house was spotlessly clean and the bed linen was white as the driven snow. The main bedroom has a wide veranda with a view out to sea, and the back bedroom comfortably sleeps three. Mawgan Porth has a great local store plus several places to eat (including a mobile wood fired pizza van and a fab fish and chip shop). The bay was at its best at low tide, when the beach can be walked to the south around the headland, past caves and rock pools. I would recommend Bedruthan Steps for stunning coves and pristine sand and rock pools - either a walk north or a short drive. My children enjoyed being able to walk down to the beach across the dunes (no roads to cross) and the old folk (my parents) appreciated being able to pick up the morning paper and croissants for breakfast on the veranda. All in all a super place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thanks you for your lovely review with helpful holiday tips. So pleased you and your family enjoyed it and we would love to see you again. All the best from The Team at Cornish Seaview Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue G
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Double WOW”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Recently returned home from our 2nd visit to Beach Retreat. Loved it before but love it even more as it has had a small makeover (cleaner and less cluttered) The house is very cosy and homely. The view from the balcony is wonderful full sea views. The only thing nearer the beach is the Lifeguard Hut! The house is well equipped. There is lots of book, Games, DVDs and Buckets, spades Belly and Surf Boards. Mawgan Porth is a small resort. Pub/Restaurant, Restaurant, Fish & Chip shop, General Grocer, a few takeaways and a few giftie shops. The beach is lovely flat and lovely soft sand, great for children. Mawgan Porth is not very commercialised (no amusements). It has every thing for us and is very central for all the more popular places (then come home to Beach Retreat for Peace and quite). Have re-booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Hi Sue

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of Beach Retreat. The property does get people coming back year after year and we're so glad that you've decided to book again for next year. We'll keep our fingers crossed for good weather for you!

All the best,
The Team at Cornish Seaview Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house is in the most amazing spot and has everything you need, including a lovely balcony only reason we had to leave only an average score was the cleanliness. The grill was so dirty we couldn't face eating in the property so ended up spending more eating out. Its as if it gets left to the previous holiday maker to tidy and has a quick check over before the next arrives. I would recommend this property if the cleanliness was looked at, is a shame they don't take dogs now, surely dog owners are capable of cleanliness otherwise a fine should be made. Mawgan porth beach is a stone throw away it has a small river that runs down the beach, our kids loved playing in it to save going down to the sea as the spring tide can be quite strong. Mawgan port a lovely quiet little village in an ideal spot to explore the north coast of cornwall

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry and I do apologise that the property was not we would expect and you found it to be below the standards we set. Unfortunately we have had an issue with the caretaking at the property, but I am pleased to say this has now been resolved. Since your stay, the property has undertaken a complete refresh and spring clean and we have new caretakers in post who will be keeping it spick and span! I do apologise that this had not been picked up prior to your stay, but would like to reassure future guests that the property and all its fittings, including the oven are now spotless! We are so pleased you enjoyed the location and the location of the property. From the Team at Cornish Seaview Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue G
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful stay here. This property was touching distance to the beach. Lovely soft sand flat beach ideal for children. The house had everything you need Childrens beach equipment even belly boards. All you need to bring is Hair dryer, clothes, shampoos! There is a good food pub, small grocers, Fish & Chip shop, and a few general nic nac shops. We had a wonderful stay and couldn't fault it. (I think sometimes people are happy to complain or are too fussy). Have booked again and can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: comming home!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review, we're delighted you had such a great stay and were able to make full use of all the equipment, local shops and the gorgeous beach! We look forward to welcoming you back next year! Best wishes from The Cornish Seaview Cottages Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracywacy
rotherham, s.yorks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, a bit disappointing for the price”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Location is stunning just a few metres from the beach but it needs a bit more for the money. View from bedroom balcony is amazing. Dog friendly so you don't expect the fixtures and fittings to be top notch but it was a bit shabby downstairs. I think it relies on location and doesn't try very hard in any other aspect.

No wifi at all, not even a pay to access service and with no mobile signal we had to utilise a payphone which has been installed. I don't know if it had been empty for some time prior to our visit but there were cobwebs all over. Basically it was clean, but the Windows hadn't been cleaned on the inside or outside for a very long while judging by the dead flies stuck in the cobwebs in corners of the Kitchen Windows. Toilet seat broken and lid was missing. The kitchen dining chairs were orange plastic 'community centre' style, not particularly nice or comfortable. All in all we enjoyed our stay as we love Mawgan Porth and we loved being so close to the beach but for the price I think we were disappointed and expected a bit more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Beach Retreat after your stay there. We are sorry you were disappointed with the interior, and can make a recommendation to the owner to upgrade the chairs there. We will be speaking to the caretaker today regarding the cobwebs and windows, and also to find out about the toilet seat and lid. Whilst we appreciate this won't help for your stay, we are grateful we have been made aware of the issue for future guests, and you have our assurance we will act upon these observations. Kind regards, The Team at Cornish Seaview Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden B
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A comfortable home amazing close to a wonderful beach with everything you need close by. In easy distance of some lovely locations like port Isaac and Padstow. The balcony was a lovely surprise and much rewarded for day time or night time gazing over the beach which we hadn't known about when we booked. Impressed to the point that we have already booked for next year and for longer!
My only criticism would be that the bed should face out to the beach and be a bigger bed(only because am used to a bigger bed).
No WIFI or mobile signal which suited us but teenagers might not be so accommodating.
All in all a very lovely stay , dogs were also welcome which was good for us as we never go anywhere without them. All year round dog friendly beach as well which was a bonus. Great beach for paddling, surfing, boarding etc. nice village with all ameneties.
A great find and hopefully many more holidays to come at Beach Retreat xxxx

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review of Beach Retreat. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and made use of the balcony overlooking the beach.
We do have several properties which are dog friendly as we appreciate that they are part of the family too! All our guest's feedback is appreciated and we will pass your comments regarding the bed on to the owner.
I see you're all booked up for next year but do get in touch if you need to in the mean time. All the best, the team at Cornish Seaview cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay S
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Holiday”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in August this year with my husband and 7 year old son. The cottage is situated within walking distance of the village amenities and the beach. The beach was literally down a small path next to the car park. The village is lovely with a pitch and putt and crazy golf course, mobile pizza oven, local shops including coop type shop and newsagents, excellent pub with beer garden, fish and chip shop, cafe etc.

The cottage itself was small but more than adequate. It had everything needed and the owners had left plenty of reading material and games, even some food items in the kitchen. There is little to no mobile signal in the property but there is a pay phone. I was expecting to be woken by seagulls in the mornings but it was surprisingly quiet.

The only slight niggle for me was the lack of storage space, only because what was available was already partly filled with spare blankets, pillows etc. The Kitchen cupboards had so much in them there was very little room to put our own food, likewise the bathroom cabinet. I realise this is meant as a helpful gesture and is not a criticism just a point to note. It wasnt a major issue and would not stop us from returning which we may well do next year! Thankyou

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to send a review of your holiday, it is much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The issue of storage is a problem and we are looking at ways we can alleviate it, but appreciate your positive take on this matter. We would love to hear from you again next year! Kind regards, the team at Cornish Seaview Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing