We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Saw England win World Cup in 1966 when on holiday in Porth. Returned 2012. Stayed with Pippa, James and family at Blue Bay Guest House, Trenance, Mawgan Porth. Excellent place to base yourself. Lovely family and very friendly to all guests. Food second to none. Clean and well equipped accommodation. Good value. Highly recommended. Beaches are fantastic, weather excellent for October.

Room Tip: All rooms of similar standard. Also do self catering accommodation.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusty247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Recently returned from Blue Bay Hotel will always book this small family hotel, Visited again.and will return.r your guarantee excellent home cook food .clean bedroom and comfortable bed. and customer service. owners Pippa and James and additonal staff friendly. lovelly location and coastal walks. Booked early Dogs welcome at small additonal charge.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Not long back from my 6th stay at Blue Bay, each time better than the previous excellent visit. I've stayed at quite a few hotels etc in the UK and world-wide, but they have a long way to go to match the overall cuisine, hospitality and ambiance at Blue Bay. From the moment I arrived I knew I was going to enjoy yet another stay - the room was fresh and clean, the meals excellent, and Pippa, James, and team made me feel most welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them (especially regarding food), and Pippa a delightful font of all local and Cornish knowledge. I'll be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desmolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Fantastic location, fantastic rooms and fantastic hosts. The room was great and the morning breakfast was excellent. Excellent break for us and our dog Silver. Thanks Pippa and James for a great holiday. Carlos and Paz. London.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosjgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and two teenagers (17 and 16) and a dog, decided to explore Cornwall for 5 days in July. We chose the Blue Bay after finding good reviews on trip advisor, we were not disappointed. The rooms are very nice, clean well decorated and very comfortable, however what really makes the Blue Bay such an enjoyable stay is Pippa and James and their wonderful family, absolutely nothing too much trouble and really make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The food prepared by James was excellent ( breakfast fab ) and better than we have had in far more expensive Hotels/ restaurants. Pippa was very helpful in where to go and what to do whilst we were there and a great personality. We were only going for 5 days but decided to stay on as we were having such a fab time. location is excellent for views of the bay but be prepared for a brisk walk back up the hill if you decide to walk down to the beautiful beach. Very dog friendly as well. We stayed in sandpipers, which had patio doors out on to a timber decking looking out to the sea. Perfect for watching the sunset. Thank u Pippa and James for making our holiday such a pleasure. We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Curlew if a family of four is lovely and sandpiper if a couple.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Since my last review which was in April I have been back twice more. Once in June and then again in July. Different seasons same great place and warm welcome. I just love it so much I am going back in September too. A few hours there and I feel totally relaxed. It is lovely for the dogs who now know where they are and dont run away so to sit out on the deck in the evenings is just heavenly. The food is really delicious and if you like fish I would highly recommend eating at the resteraunt. You dont have to be staying but booking is advisable. With the bit of summer I experienced in July (which lets face it is the one thing we cant do anything about) it was as good as anywhere abroad and when chatting to other guest we agreed that if you get the sun really you CANNOT beat Cornwall, and you cant beat the Blue Bay in my eyes

Room Tip: If you have dogs, Windhover or the rooms on the decking are best.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

What can I possibly add to the glowing reviews already written about Blue Bay? The guest house and rooms are spotlessly clean, the welcome and attention to customer service are 1st class and the food is absolutely delicious. The location is great for access to the beach at Mawgan Porth and for walking the coast path to explore on foot, or if you really feel the urge to drive about and discover more of the County, then Blue Bay is pretty much smack bang in the centre of the North Cornwall coast, so nowhere would be too far as a motoring excursion. I'm already planning a return visit, and I only got home 2 hours ago!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheMovingFinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,580 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
406 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge

Address: Mawgan Porth TR8 4DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £99 - £611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run accommodation and restaurant situated in the seaside village of Mawgan Porth on the north coast of Cornwall. Seaviews, beach 400 metres down private lane, genuine hospitality, quality food a secret shared... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Motel
Blue Bay Guest House & Lodge Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing