We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our little piece of Cornish heaven”
Review of Seavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seavista
Ranked #1 of 7 Mawgan Porth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Once again, a fantastic, warm, welcoming reception from Kate, Ozzy and Carol. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and it feels like a 2nd home in cornwall. This time we chose to rent out the lodge for a week.....What a beautiful retreat from the stress' of life. Fantastic views of the whole bay and lots of space to chill out and relax.

The lodge was fully stocked with all the essentials you need for a self catering break. Beautifully decorated throughout with loads of storage space this really is worth the money you pay.

We decided to go for breakfast at the B&B most mornings as I had to have my Seavista breakfast before going out and about sightseeing. Carol gives the best tips for places your visiting, so if you need some advice or tips, make sure you let her know where your off too!

This B&B is situated in a great spot, its on a quiet private road...with easy access to the costal road between Newquay and Padstow and with the A39 approx. 5 mins away, making it easy to get around cornwall and take in all the wonderful sights that this part of the world has to offer.

There is no doubt that we will be back to see everyone at Seavista very soon. Keep up the good work guys! xx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicNic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Seavista
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

It's a week since we got back from a six night stay at Seavista and everyday we wished we were back there!
Seavista is a really wonderful B&B with a relaxed and welcoming feel and much of what we say will echo many previous reviews.
First off,Carol very kindly picked us up from Newquay airport and in no time at all we were taking in the spectacular view of Mawgan Porth Beach (just a 5 min walk from Seavista).Once inside Kate introduced us to Barnaby before serving us a much needed pot of tea with tasty lemon drizzle cake then they headed off to pick up a new ginger kitten called Arnie (a new best friend for Mojo,the dog).
Our twin room was super clean and bright with beautiful decorative touches and really comfortable beds.The bathroom had a lovely valley view and was spotless with a great shower, soft towels and a heated towel rail , all just bliss after a long day exploring this beautiful part of Cornwall or getting soaked on the Sea Safari trip at Padstow (sadly no dolphins were spotted this time).
There's plenty to choose from at breakfast including the full Cornish breakfast ,though we were tempted by Kate's homemade Granola, fruit smoothies (raspberry & strawberry every day for Jack),acai granola and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on a toasted bagel (all so delicious and will set you up for the day ahead).
We must give a special mention and thanks to Fran and Jess who served us at breakfast and kept our room in tip top shape whilst we were there.
We had to use the hourly bus service to get around and it was quite an adventure at times (due to the narrow lanes) but do be prepared to wait half an hour for the bus!
We didn't get chance to take advantage of Kate's cream teas or jug/glass of Pimms or the surfing lessons from Kingsurf at Mawgan Porth which means we will just have to come back again!
Don't hesitate for a minute to stay at this wonderful B&B, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you are looking to stay in this beautiful part of the country, then I suggest that you look no further than Seavista! A group of us, some with children, stayed here for a Brazillian Jiu Jitsu and surfing weekend! On arrival we were greeted with a beautiful view overlooking Mawgan Porth! Kate, Oz and their two staff couldn't have made us feel more welcome, our room was perfect for our needs and like the rest of the premises was finished to a very high standard.
The breakfast was varied and of a very high standard, they even had Acai and Granola which if you know anything about BJJ then you will know how welcome this was! I only wish our stay would've been longer, we will staying here again next year, if not before!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michaelsb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

There are few places in the UK that manage to deliver all round excellent value for money and this is one of them.

The Bed and Breakfast consists of only 7 rooms so if you want to stay somewhere relative quiet, this is the spot. Seavista is located on the hill just outside Mawgan Porth (a lovely small sandy cove great for families and surfers) and is a 5 minute walk from the beach. If you haven't got the stamina to walk up a hill though, you shouldn't stay here.

The atmosphere of the place is genuinely relaxed but the owners are very helpful and willing to assist with all reasonable requests. The décor is relatively new and nods to a vintage Cath Kidson style of vibe; however this is more chic than shabby and the rooms are spotlessly clean, well decorated and cared for. We stayed in the valley bedroom and the size of the room was extremely comfortable. The B and B has wifi and flatscreen TVs. Bed's are comfortable but it seems that you cannot get anything larger than a standard double (it is a shame that king sized beds are not on offer as the bedrooms are large enough to take these). The bathroom was spotless and modern with a lovely waterfall shower.

Breakfast is top notch; guests are offered a choice of the standard English breakfast with all ingredients locally sourced (including black pudding and hog's pudding). As a healthy option you can choose a smoothie or home made granola with a fruit compote. We tried the latter and it was heavenly. Their fruit juice is fantastic and not the usual tasteless fayre and coffee is served in a cafetiere and tea was served in a sturdy tea pot with lots of flavour. You cannot fault the food and the bed and breakfast also offer guests the opportunity to buy a cream tea in the afternoon (£6 for two scones, tea, cream and jam). We decided to take advantage! The scones were fresh, home made and delicious - to be recommended. We noticed that you can also arrange to have a three course dinner (this does not appear to be advertised on their website so we had already made other arrangements) and there is an honesty bar with a jug of Pimms being on offer to the more adventurous guests.

When we stayed there the weather was fantastic and we were able to relax in the back garden and make use of the garden furniture and the brilliant views of the seaside undisturbed.

If I was going to be critical about the place it would be that the room did not contain any information about the facilities in the room. We had to ask for the wifi passcode and we took a while to work out the lighting arrangements by the bed because they were on a dimmer switch. In the summer months, the duvet needs to be of a summer weight as I found it too hot.

However, these points are minor and would be easily addressed. We would love to stay here again (and we probably will) and would recommend this to others. If you want a relaxing atmosphere with first class facilities, this is the spot.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - if you want a sea view you pay extra for this. The hotel is split level and s...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2jus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here along with a number of friends and family for the weekend of our wedding. Everything about this b&b was perfect for us. The rooms are gorgeously decorated and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was outstanding! (I could happily eat their smoked salmon and scrabbled eggs every morning for the rest of my life!). Everybody there couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The location is ideal and the views breath taking! I cannot recommend this place enough...a little piece of heaven, can't wait to go back for our anniversary next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeandthee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Wanting to spend a couple of days near to Newquay, before flying to The Scilly Isles, I booked into Seavista. The write up on Tripadvisor looked good and well deserved. Parking outside Seavista needs care as the parking spots are narrow and turning not easy in the lane.
The hotel was however super, with comfortable beds and clean rooms. Breakfast was excellent too, though one morning the fire alarm went off, necessitating a rapid exit from the dining room! It turned out to be a false alarm, but seemed to take ages to be silenced.
There are a few restaurants at the bottom of the hill, serving good food from a varied menu.
Unfortunately we had some rain while there, but there is an interesting aircraft museum at Newquay Airport, 15 minutes away. It's on the opposite side of the airport to the terminal building and not signposted from there, so you will have to just drive along keeping the airport on the right and you will find it at the end of a new road leading to the hangars.
If the weather's OK, Padstow is worth visiting, with walks along the coast, or bikes are available to rent too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed here for around a decade and have been here for weekends and week long breaks.
The hotel sits near the tp of the hill overlooking Mawgan Porth beach and village. A 3-5 Minuite walk up down to the center and less than 5 minutes from Newquay airport. The food in itself maybe worth a visit and everything is Home made and purchased locally. Comfort is fantastic and there is plenty of space in the rooms and bathrooms. They are kept immaculate as well on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Despite it being a bed and breakfast by tradition, you should look at evening meal here. also a...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hulkster19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawgan Porth
0.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Scarlet Hotel
The Scarlet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,582 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.4 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
13.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seavista

Address: Mawgan Porth TR8 4AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mawgan Porth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mawgan Porth
Price Range: £71 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seavista 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seavista is a family run, luxury Bed and Breakfast. It stands on the hillside of Mawgan Porth with breathtaking sea views and across the beautiful valley of St Mawgan. All seven of our rooms are individually designed with tasteful decor throughout. Each room is fitted with a luxury bathroom suite including a rain fall shower in most of our rooms. We have a breakfast terrace where you can start your morning the right way with our renowned Cornish breakfast, spend your afternoons in our lounge enjoying the view and finish your day on the patio with a drink from our honesty bar watching the sunset over the ocean. Close to many restaurants, including Jamie Oliver's Fifteen just a few miles away at Watergate Bay and Rick Stein's famous seafood restaurant in Padstow which is approximately 8 miles away. With Newquay Airport only a few minutes away, we are ideally placed to explore all that Cornwall has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Seavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seavista Cornwall/Mawgan Porth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing