We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sportsmans Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sportsmans Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menheniot
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Another trip to Cornwall and it had to be another stay at the Sportsmans Arms - 2 years since my last visit and a lot of updates and tweaks to the already excellent rooms.This time I had the pleasure of 2 nights, before and after the Cornish Marathon and another great welcome - almost a "home from home".

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHWMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
34
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Sportmans arms is definitely our faveourite place to go! Everyone is always so friendly, Rob and Christine (owners) are very welcoming and friendly, the drinks are the best prices for miles around, there's a brilliant pool table and jukebox! The locals all get on well, and always have great fun, definately ten out of ten!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sportmansfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTINE S, Owner at Sportsmans Arms, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thanx for your support!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a wonderful and inviting place, I have had the privilege of eating, drinking and staying here on numerous occasions and have always been more than happy with every aspect of the service. (And the locals!!) All the positive reviews about this place are absolutely spot on, to the negative review, I would say that is a reflection of your own personality as unless you were rude or "hostile" I can say with absolute certainty you would have had a pleasurable and welcoming experience. The Sportsmanship Arms is very much recommended and I will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samellacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocklington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Perhaps I am biased but compared to my usual stops this place offered me everything I wanted. A lovely smart & clean room with a nice view, next to a railway line. Don't let that put you off the trains are very infrequent and didn't bother me one iota.
The atmosphere in the place was very friendly, but be aware that food is not cooked on the premises apart from breakfast. However there is another pub in the village that does do food or a restaurant about 250-m back towards the A38.
Christine & Rob run a pleasant pub/hotel in a good location for exploring Cornwall generally. Clean and tidy with a good choice of local and national beers and lagers...weekends you can get a pie or a pasty whilst watching the footie.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saint_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHRISTINE S, Owner at Sportsmans Arms, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Hello everyone - this is just a note to let you know that we are shown in the wrong place on the map! We are actually only 300yds from the A38 (opposite Menheniot Station) and NOT almost 2 miles into the lanes. This should be corrected shortly. And..... Bob, thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our hosts were exceedingly helpful and friendly, they even let us leave our car in the big car park while we were doing a 10 days round-trip of Cornwall on bike.

The breakfast was good and plenty, the pub very comfortable, the rooms big, recently renovated and clean, and the nearby train station and major road are perfect starting points for exploring Cornwall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxBlasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The owners are welcoming and friendly and keep the rooms and bar spotlessly clean. I had a good hearty full English breakfast after an excellent night's sleep in very a comfortable bed. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelS537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy with the accommodation. The owners are lovely and friendly and keep the rooms and bar spotlessly clean. We had a good hearty full English each day after an excellent night's sleep in very comfy beds. Our daughter stayed in a reasonable sized single while we had an enormous double room that even had room for a daybed! Our rooms were right next to the railway, but I can honestly say that it did not disturb us at all and was the quietest line we have ever heard! Hairdryers are in the rooms and plenty of space for clothes. Wifi is available, can be a bit patchy in the room, but strong in the bar.
The pub is very much a locals pub and quiet in the evenings. If you enjoy sports you will love the 2 sky sports screens plus the snooker table, darts and even shove ha'ppeny. The locals were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
Its position was perfect for us as it was centrally placed for the places we wanted to visit - the Eden Project is about half an hour away, as is Morwellham Quay. It is just a turn off the A38 so easy to get wherever you want to visit.
The only downside for us was that there was no food available in the evening (we were aware of this before booking) and not that much choice locally. But if you are happy to drive into larger towns for the evening it won't be a problem.
The cost was by far the most reasonable around - which had made us a little nervous on booking- but we need not have worried at all. this is a real gem of a place and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyingfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sports2502, Owner at Sportsmans Arms, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you all very much - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with what you found!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menheniot
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Liskeard Hotel
1.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 2 in Menheniot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pencubitt House
Pencubitt House
#1 of 5 in Liskeard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
5.4 mi away
Trecarne House
Trecarne House
#1 of 1 in St Cleer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmans Arms

Property: Sportsmans Arms
Address: Lower Clicker Road | Menheniot, Liskeard, Menheniot, Liskeard PL14 3PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Liskeard > Menheniot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Menheniot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sportsmans Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated for exploring Cornwall and only 300yds off the A38, a traditional pub with large car-park offering accommodation with fresh clean comfortable en-suite rooms priced on a 'room-only' basis. Breakfast can be booked on arrival at either £3.50 For a Light Breakfast or £6.50 For Full English. Rooms all have flat-screen TV/DVD and a hairdryer and the well-stocked main bar has excellent ales plus Sky Sports/BT Sport. There is a large comfortable lounge solely for guests' use. An Italian/English restaurant is at the end of the road, Looe's variety of restaurants are only 5 miles away and the Eden project is approx 30 minutes drive. CYCLISTS - bikes can be stored free of charge in a dry garage. Note: The Sportsmans Arms does not offer an evening meal service. Free Wi-Fi provided although the signal for this can be patchy in some rooms but is good in the bar. Children over the age of 12 years are welcome - we do not accommodate babies and young children (sorry). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sportsmans Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmans Arms Menheniot, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing