We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£70
Fully refundable before Thu, 29 Feb
Expedia.com
£70
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£70
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
143
17
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
143
17
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub plenty of parking space home from home stayed for nights hidden gem south east cornwall tea and coffee easy access enjoyable stay peaceful location range of beers lovely beer garden curry comfortable room couldn't do enough breakfast was excellent ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2023

I was very well looked after at the Sportsman's Valley Hotel. This is a friendly, family run b&b at the pub. It's right opposite the railway station, so an ideal stay without a car. There are beautiful views down the valley at the back. The rooms are fresh, clean, and very well appointed. The evening meals are superb, delicious, and very popular with locals and visitors. The breakfast was wonderful. It was a joy to stay. Thank you.

Room tip: Rooms at the back have lovely views down the valley.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 594ohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

We ate here last night. I had a Beef & Stilton pie, my wife had a Prawn Curry, our friends a fake Hake (halloumi) and Chicken Rogan Josh. The food was absolutely exemplary.

The staff / owners were friendly, helpful and professional.

We would definitely return to the sportsman’s Valley Hotel.

We didn’t stay here so can’t comment on the accommodation but food and service was excellent.

Room tip: There is parking at the property
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Coolswagdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Booked direct with the hotel so we had breakfast included in the price. The breakfast was served between 7.30-9am and you prebooked it the night before with your timeslot of choice, which worked really well. The breakfast was lovely with fresh orange, tea, coffee, cereals, yogurt and then cooked breakfast or whatever else you ordered from the menu. There are 5 rooms. We stayed in room 1 overlooking the valley. The room was spacious and extremely clean. We had a bottle of water left for each of us daily and there was a kettle and mugs and glasses with plenty of tea, coffee and milk sachets and also a hot chocolate sachet and biscuits which was a nice touch. There was a small built-in wardrobe cupboard and a couple of free standing units to store shoes and accessories etc. There was a mirrored dressing table and a decent hairdryer and even a USB port and plenty of electric sockets to use. There was also a full length mirror. The bathroom again was very spacious and extremely clean with complimentary shampoo, conditioner and shower gel and handsoap. Towels and bath mat were also provided. We ate lunch and dinner several times as the food choice and quality was so good, beautifully presented and such generous portions and at lunchtime they did half size portions if you didn't want a huge amount. The views from the garden terrace were lovely. Plenty of outdoor seating with umbrellas and covers to shade from the sun.
The pub has a real friendly welcoming vibe to it, with a restaurant part and a pub area, where there is also a pool table and they show sport on the tv. Once the bar has shut at night there is a keypad to gain entry to your room.
The owners and their staff were all super friendly and so were the locals we chatted to.
It's just off the dual carriageway so it's easy access and not far from Looe, Polperro or Liskeard and only took about 25 mins to reach the Eden Project. Tge Adrenaline Quarry is just over the road where you can zip wire, go kart amongst other things. There is a big car park at the rear of the pub so we had no parking issues. Everything was just A1 and I would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BevElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Very nice family run small pub hotel, excellent breakfast with plenty of options and good pub menu which we used a number of occasions, room was very clean and spacious with good views over the valley and a spacious garden with plenty of covered seating with umbrellas and canopies which we used on a number of occasions to entertain friends, good value for money , I would definitely recommend this location and Ryan and his family for making our stay a memorable experience,

Room tip: Ideally suited for travelling around the local area by car and train and just over the road from the the Adrenaline Quarry experience
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stay41768075993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2023

Popped into this pub following a visit across the road to Adrenaline Quarry.
Wanted just a ‘snacky’ meal so our boys had the ‘Party Platter’ to share and my husband and I had a toastie each. The boys commented on how nice and filling it was and that they were ‘stuffed’ by the end if it. It was freshly cooked and everything came to the table hot and crispy. I tasted some of the onion rings….lovely.
The toasties were made from quality bread and fillings and tasted delicious. The plate also had some chunky chips and a fresh side salad. Overall very happy with our freshly prepared ‘snack’.
I can hear you say… “but it was only a snack”, well if I can rave on about a fabulous snack what would the main meals be like?
The owner was very pleasant and the service was great so I definitely feel that he and his co -owners deserve a shout out!
We would highly recommend this pub/hotel.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews