We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent evening”

The Hayloft Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Menheniot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Hayloft Restaurant- Serving the best of ingredients in a relaxing and friendly, professional environment.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

What a nice evening, visited for my husbands birthday, fantastic service and outstanding food, great value for money what more could you ask for, have rebooked for a family dinner in the 18th.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    87
    35
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have been to the Hayloft three times now, nice ambience, friendly welcome and helpful staff.
The food on the whole was very good, with the odd disappointment.
Would I go back? Absolutely!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
254 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Dinner for five, we all had starters two prawns with garlic and ginger two calamar and one cold meat platter, all very nice. Mains were one stuffed chicken breast, two hake and two fillet steaks, all beautifully presented with nicely cooked vegetables, chips and salads. We all certainly look forward to an excuse to come here for dinner celebration. Will be back and always recommend to others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Longlegs1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Groupon deal ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I went this weekend under the hot-stone Groupon deal. I enjoyed the meal but wasn't overly impressed. We weren't given a menu for any side orders which was a shame particularly as the portion size of chips was barely enough for 1 let alone 2. The meat was of a very good quality but I had to cut the steak and sausage up into smaller pieces to cook it through and I would have liked some separate cutlery for cutting and turning the raw chicken. Would return but wouldn't have the hot stone meal again

Helpful?
Thank ljs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Was not sure , but very very pleased that we did.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We went on 15 Feb 2014, sorry for late review but we have had a very busy half term. That said, I really wanted to leave a positive review of the meal and the service that we received.
I had purchased a voucher from Groupon and looked at Tripadvisor the night before going. There were some negative reviews and I was a bit worried.
Well there was no need to have worried as from the moment we walked in it was perfect.
The staff were very professional and courteous but also very approachable. We were shown to a table (upstairs) and our drinks were brought to our table.
We did have a starter and a main course, but we would have done this anywhere that we went out for dinner. The starters were really tasty and plentiful.
Next was the main event... and I have to say that novelty value aside (we loved the concept of cooking our own food at the table), the meat was gorgeous. There was a heafty piece of steak, chicken fillets, sausage and bacon. There was also a bowl of chips and a beautiful salad. Plus each meal came with its own sauce boat of peppercorn/spicy tomato or gravy.
Dessert was next and my husband had the raspberry and white chocolate cheesecake. It was obviously homemade and was just heavenly. I had the cheese board and it was nice to see a restaurant doing that as you don't seem to get them much anymore.
All in all, the food, staff and atmosphere was fantastic. Those who have said that there was not enough to eat must have a much larger appetite than most! We were not rushed or bothered.
Would we go again ...... YES Would I recommend it to friends and family ...... YES
Enough said!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madmumoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hayloft Restaurant also viewed

 
Liskeard, Cornwall
Liskeard, Cornwall
 

Been to The Hayloft Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing