We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't expect much but was very pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheel House Restaurant

Wheel House Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 38 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham
Level Contributor
386 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Didn't expect much but was very pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have been to Mevagissey before and was underwhelmed by the grub on offer and the restaurants - think nasty "UK" seaside tat. Visiting from our home in Fowey by ferry we decided to have moules and frites here. Got a table (one of 6) outside and went in to order. Nice chap at the bar and goodish selection of bottled beers. Ordered "small" Cornish mussels (Rattler/cream/leaks) with fries and brown bread and butter. Very good it was too. Good moules, fab sauce and nice bread with real butter. Chips were not hand cut - sad but not a deal killer. Service was lovely, young chaps but came and ensured we were happy so could not fault.
Beware the seagulls however - you have been warned!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    180
    86
    71
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food ... Eventually”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Got a nice seat by the window overlooking the harbour. Had a look at the menu and ordered the food which was a fairly basic order. It would appear the chef does one order at a time because it took a good long while for restaurant which was about a quarter full. The food was pleasant and reasonably priced. We then queued for 15 minutes to pay as it would appear only one staff member can take orders and payment. You have a good location and good food but you need to invest in getting your staff up to speed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Found by chance but will definitely be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were staying in St Austell and went into Mevagissey for the evening. Walked along the quayside and spotted the Specials board outside so decided to see if they had space. Very friendly welcome and we were seated at a table in the window. An excellent menu with a very good choice of specials as well.

We started with bread and olives which were lovely. The olives had a citrus marinade and the balsamic vinegar in the dip was thick and flavourful. The warm flat bread offset them beautifully.

I had been spoiled for choice with main meal, being very tempted by the cod and crab thermidor but decided on sea bass and scallops. It was stunning! Served with new potatoes and wilted spinach the sea bass was so fresh I'm convinced it was still in the sea that morning. The scallops were perfectly cooked and included the coral which I love but is not often served. It was a delightful meal and washed down with a very pleasant glass of Pinot Grigio.

My husband had duck breast with oriental vegetables which was very tasty and he had a pint of Betty Stoggs ale which he assured me was beautifully kept. We're not pudding people and were fairly full but I could have been tempted by the sundae which I saw being taken to another table

The level of service was excellent and friendly, helpful staff. The card provided when we paid states that it is also a guesthouse so we enquired if they had rooms with king size beds and told that room 3 did so we will definitely look to book next time we visit the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annedee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The advertised menu on the board outside this restaurant attracted us in. However the food was not as attractive as advertised.
The mixed grilled fish was very bland and dry. The crab Thermidor had so much cheese that it overpowered the flavour of everything else.
The mussel started was good and plentiful and the Brie pot was good also. I think we enjoyed the starters more than the mains, but that might just be our taste , the food was edible but just not as good as other restaurants in the area. The Sharksfin a few doors away was excellent, they had scallops to die for.
Service was good at the Wheelhouse and the view across the bay lovely

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank foxylady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Ok for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted a quick lunch and all the other places were packed so we ended up here. It was one of around 20 places we ate at during our ten day Cornwall trip and the only one we can't remember what we had. It wasn't memorable but also not bad.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nebukatnesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wheel House Restaurant also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Wheel House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing