We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French style with a fixed price early evening menu”

Roovrays Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Roovrays comes highly recommended...And a Charming and ambient evening awaits you...Tastefully decorated with a French influence due to the French Chef and owner. Great value is offered with the Early Bird menu from 6pm till 6.45pm with 2 courses being £15 and 3 courses only £18. The a la Carte menu starts from 7pm and offers many delights from the freshest of ingredients and local produce. The art of having a relaxed and unhurried evening meal is still very much the main focus here at Roovrays and is done very intentionally by the owners who wish for their guests to have an evening experience enjoying conversation,the live pianist (check on booking when playing),fine wines while your food is unhurriedly cooked to perfection by the owner himself; it won't be a quick affair, just as it should be. Booking is very advisable to save disappointment especially pianist nights as tables go fast.
Worcester
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“French style with a fixed price early evening menu”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

So good we ate here twice. The first evening, on the recommendation of our B&B host we went here and tried the early evening fixed price menu. As it happened she was also eating here the same night with friends. It was so good we booked for the second night too and had a la carte. We particularly like fish and the chef cooks the fish very nicely. Service and decor are more 'friendly sociable' setting rather than 'romantic dinner' setting although I understand that some evenings the piano is played which might chance the ambiance.

Would certainly eat there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    72
    26
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nerja Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Great Meal”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Super, cheerful welcome. Great service never ran out of drink! The meal was wonderful. The Scallops are to die for. I had the Lamb Shank, it was nicely cooked and the "sauce" was delicious. Brandy snap basket filled with sorbets for desert - I had been dreaming of brandy snaps just the day before. My husband had Rib Eye Steak which was cooked to perfection. A lovely meal, served in a great environment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanefromSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've been meaning to write a review of this smallish restaurant, but I've been 3 times in 3 months and loved each time. The quality of the food has been first class each time, good wine list, and Skinners beer by the bottle. Like the location, just off the harbour, service excellent, I'm back there soon, so a fuller report next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KernowExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Wow what a fab meal! Scallops to start in a beautiful ginger chilli and coconut sauce followed by trio of fish with mussels and rib eye steak for hubby and then sorbets in brandy snaps. Service was very good and knowledgeable about the wine list. Thoroughly enjoyed it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisnlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice little eating place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed a lovely meal here selecting our food from the early bird menu. My wife had pate and I had veg soup, both of which were fine without being spectacular. For main course I had the 3 fish dish which was very good and well cooked with a lovely creamy sauce. My wife had coq au vin which looked and tasted very good. The service was superb and not rushed which we both appreciated. I would recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting Mevagissey and we may visit again before the end of our stay.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123FranC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roovrays Restaurant also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Roovrays Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing