We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A deserved reputation”

Salamander Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A deserved reputation”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A delightful small restaurant where the service is unsurpassed. Loved by locals and visitors alike. The menu is simple with fish and meat sourced locally and of the best quality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buffer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    845
    108
    27
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
229 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Simplicity with Taste”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Ate on a Friday before main season but could only get a table at 2015, so be warned and book in advance. Excellent and very efficient service. Has the great and simple idea of fixed price menus for all offers i.e. 2 course with any fish £19, 3 course £23; 2 course for any meat £21 and £25 for 3 courses. Fish is catch of the day, and was sea bass, John Dory, sea bream, sole, and a few others. We started with perfectly cooked and translucent scallops, and crispy crab rolls deep fried. Mains were both John Dory a fish we think as one of the best, with a firm flesh and lovely light taste. Each had 4 small fillets, one with a delicious salad with some nuts and seeds to give texture and simple dressing, other was the veg that would have gone better with the meat rather than fish, carrots, cabbage etc. but my wife couldn't fault a thing. We finished by sharing a Cornish equivalent of a crème brulee. We had a half of white Muscadet and a half of light red, perfect with the meal. The meals were simple but with nice touches a a "different" salad and well chosen wines on the list, and importantly all well cooked. Perfect and good value evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super dinner”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Food excellent menu impressive in its simpicity. Staff/owner very friendly. Real value for money, will be going again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukrwil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Make sure you book or you'll miss a real treat”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Wonderful welcome, awesome menu, marvellous service and no rushing. We loved this place so much we went back for a second visit rather than try anywhere else. The menu has a good selection of dishes and a wide choice of fresh fish. Hazel was delightful and made everyone feel very relaxed, she managed to be attentive without being intrusive. The meals were delicious and portion size perfect. I particularly liked the fact that local wine is served here
It was obvious that many locals dine here which is always a good sign - this restaurant is really worth a visit but remember to book beforehand or you will be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickkinackkinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hazel made us feel like friends and served us absolutely delicious food. I had the scallops and the assiette of desserts. Amazing! Thanks for a memorable meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank annejo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salamander Restaurant also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Salamander Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing