We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”

Salamander Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic night on the final night of our holiday in Mevagissey.

We had visited a couple of years ago, the food was amazing as before.

The scallops in citrus chilli butter were amazing as was the lamb, steak and crab pot.


Hazel looked after us brilliantly and we had a lovely night.


If in the area a must go to, fantastic setting food etc.


Great place

Helpful?
Thank BRJS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    107
    27
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had two lovely dinners at this delightful little restaurant last month. Service was friendly and professional and the ambience warm and relaxed. The food matched the style of the restaurant, being delicious, but without unnecessary frills. We ate wonderfully fresh, well-cooked fish with simple sauces, tasty vegetables and excellent puddings, washed down with a nice bottle of Pouilly Fuisse. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Salamander.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soyabibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
2 reviews
“great food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great local produce, great value and great service. Scallops are to die for. Well worth a visit. We can't wait to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepperTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A deserved reputation”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A delightful small restaurant where the service is unsurpassed. Loved by locals and visitors alike. The menu is simple with fish and meat sourced locally and of the best quality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buffer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
229 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Simplicity with Taste”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Ate on a Friday before main season but could only get a table at 2015, so be warned and book in advance. Excellent and very efficient service. Has the great and simple idea of fixed price menus for all offers i.e. 2 course with any fish £19, 3 course £23; 2 course for any meat £21 and £25 for 3 courses. Fish is catch of the day, and was sea bass, John Dory, sea bream, sole, and a few others. We started with perfectly cooked and translucent scallops, and crispy crab rolls deep fried. Mains were both John Dory a fish we think as one of the best, with a firm flesh and lovely light taste. Each had 4 small fillets, one with a delicious salad with some nuts and seeds to give texture and simple dressing, other was the veg that would have gone better with the meat rather than fish, carrots, cabbage etc. but my wife couldn't fault a thing. We finished by sharing a Cornish equivalent of a crème brulee. We had a half of white Muscadet and a half of light red, perfect with the meal. The meals were simple but with nice touches a a "different" salad and well chosen wines on the list, and importantly all well cooked. Perfect and good value evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salamander Restaurant also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Salamander Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing