We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous gem”

Salamander Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous gem”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If only we had discovered this amazing restaurant at the beginning of our holiday and not at the end. Fantastic food, well presented and fresh vegetables!!! Good choice for both fish and meat eaters with attentive but not overpowering attention from the the staff.

Puddings to die for and a big belly full of satisfaction at the end.

A gem of a find and well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    104
    26
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had to book in advance but well worth it. The service was really friendly and the food was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SharonCarlBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, BC CANADA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at Salamander and were lucky to get a table without a reservation. (We arrived early--6-ish.) We had their perfectly cooked scallop starter with sea bass in a lemon dill sauce for a main along with new potatoes and nicely cooked vegetables.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank oldkoot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FINE DINE”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had the good fortune to stumble across this restaurant when we visited town for our evening meal, having driven from St Austell. my wife and I both chose to have the rib eye steak, it was superb. cooked to our wishes and absolutely wonderful in taste, also complimented with a very nice wine. The service was swift and arrived served by pleasant waitresses Strongly recommend a visit..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food but too quiet for us”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food here was excellent - hot crab pot, scallops beef and fish were all great - and good value and if this is all you want from a dining experience you wont be let down. Go and enjoy. If you go with a large enough party you will make your own atmosphere and it will be lovely. But, as others have said, there was strangely little atmosphere for a full house the night we were there. The staff were friendly with some tables but quiet with others. The surroundings are really bare, no fabric and some strange use of chicken wire as room dividers somehow didn't work for us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hilaryt714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salamander Restaurant also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Salamander Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing