We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mevagissey Jewel”

Salamander Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Taunton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Mevagissey Jewel”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Ok, we are walking around Mevagissey looking for somewhere to eat, its pot luck as we have not read any reviews and we come across the Salamander Restaurant.

First impressions are good, crisp smart furniture, smart decor and the staff (who turn out to be the owners) look very inviting and professional.

Now we sit down, the wine menu looks like there has been a mistake, a bottle of Pouilly Fuisse for less than £30 !!!! whats going on - I'm told this is Mevagissey, well lets try it - my God its absolutely perfect, ideal tempetature, and crisp fresh taste.

Can the food be as good, well the answer is yes, Ive eaten at Gidleigh Park, Le Manoir, top London restaurants, and Mark Hix in Lyme Regis but for fresh perfect tasting fish, generous portions and authentic tastes this is leading the way. Yes the others live up to their name but this place is massively under rated, the prices are far far too low for what you are getting.

The fish cakes - beautiful fresh tasting cuisine, the main course - Bass with a salad and dressing to die for.

I'm not going to say any more, than please try it, you wont be dissapointed. If this was anywhere else you would be paying double the money !!!!

Great service, great food making a great dining experience - thankyou.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    863
    110
    28
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional food with 5 star service”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The salamander is an outstanding restaurant that easily out classes the others in mevagssy. The food was exceptional and the service was perfect, being professional yet maintaining a friendly atmosphere within a beautifully decorated environment. Pre-booking is essential to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kempy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Is it 2 years since we were last here?”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked a table before we left home to be sure as the Salamander is popular - for good reason. Mrs P had the Cornish Sole (Megrim), which I have enjoyed on previous visits, and my main was the Rack of Lamb. On top of excellent starters, and general over-indulgence whilst here, left no room for puds but the Strawberry Tidy, served to the next table, looked so good I almost changed my mind - the meringue looked like a complete meal in itself!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Service Great Food!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Came across this restaurant early evening whilst visiting Mevagissy.

The restaurant was fully booked for the evening but they very kindly managed to squeeze us in.

The food was wonderful and the service was spot on.

Great value for money. We will definitely be returning.

Do call to book a table in advance as they could have filled the restaurant twice over the evening we were there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food excellent. Service excellent. Value for money ok”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this restaurant. It was very nice and food excellent. I would give it 5 stars if they could have a childrens menu. They allow children in but dont have a menu for them. £14 is slightly steep for a 5yo that doesnt eat much. Otherwise we were very impressed. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Brackley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salamander Restaurant also viewed

 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Salamander Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing