We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Parsonage
Nearby Hotels
The Wheelhouse(Mevagissey)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holly Cottage B&B(Mevagissey)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ship Inn(Mevagissey)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
184
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblueberry muffinsfresh milk and watersingle room was smallhappy birthdaydaily specialsfrom the ovendigital radiotea traysfamily run b bcornish breakfastamazing showeron arrivalyoung coupledelightful coupledietary requirementsdiscount ticketstoo good to be true
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

What a wonderful experience. Iza greeted us with a very welcome cup of tea on arrival. She was immediately friendly and informative. Nothing was too much trouble for this bubbly lady, who welcomed us into her lovely home, from masses of local tips to contacting restaurants to make bookings for us. Breakfast were a delightful start to each day and Iza made the celebration of my friends' birthday an extra special day. We shall certainly return next year.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Yvonnebaker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPiper, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Yvonne,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is great to read great things about our B&B especially that it was our first season. See you soon!

Many thanks,

Izzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Tim and Iza couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful during my three nights stay. My room was very comfortable with all mod cons including a very good wifi connection. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of local produce on offer. Iza cooked fabulous fruit muffins and always offered a special dish of the day.

The situation of the B&B is ideal being just minutes away from the town centre yet in a very quiet location. I would definitely recommend this B&B and wish Tim and Iza well for their future success.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KilbroganHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Excellent location on a quiet road, very warm welcome, spotlessly clean. A few things not quite to my liking, so cannot give 5 stars. These are: bed queen (4ft 6in) not king size(5ft); breakfast looked very good but not free range; internal walls thin so you have to rely on other guests being quiet (which they were when we stayed). I would happily recommend this B&B to anyone who is not bothered by these things.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Done-my-bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPiper, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear George,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We really appreciate all feedback from our guests.

The room you stayed in has a new 5 ft hotel grade pocket sprung mattress which we bought in April after realising that the existing mattress needed replacing, we have recently ordered new Hynos commercial hotel beds for the rooms including king size double & zip and link beds.
Thank you for your kind comments about the breakfast. Before we opened our B&B we searched the local area for products and ingredients. Our meat comes from a farm up the road, our dairy products come from the local Trewithen farm and our eggs comes from Cornish chickens. Our core breakfast menu is free range however we have found the cost of some free range ingredients such as wild smoked salmon for our daily specials limiting so we have sourced a very good quality farmed smoked salmon. Our other fish specials such as smoked haddock and kippers are locally caught MSC approved fish. As with all of our ingredients we have tested the non free range products to ensure that the quality was high, we as family love eating well and we want to make sure everything is the best quality.
As we mentioned we bought The Old Parsonage earlier this year and carried out some essential sound proofing and renovation in March before we opened. Regarding the walls, our house is 170 years old and it has some downsides however we see it as part of its charm. From the beginning we could see the house had some areas to improve however we decided to trade for a season to check the guest feedback and prioritise the refurbishment. To be fair we have not had feedback on the internal walls or sound to date. We are closing for November for a partial refurbishment including further sound proofing of the original internal walls and floors and complete bedroom refurbishment.
The Old Parsonage is our dream and we want to make it better and better. Hopefully in your future travels to Cornwall you will give us another chance to verify your opinion.

We wish you all the best!

Iza & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed for4 nights in Iza's wonderful home. She makes everyone feel at home straight away with a welcoming cup of tea and lots of ideas about where to eat and what to do. Her breakfast was amazing with a Special extra selection each day. She loves Cornwall with a passion and probably knows more about it than the locals, while having made lots of friends in the short time her family have lived there. We couldn't have asked for anything more and will definitely return soon. They have plans to redecorate the rooms over winter but it's just perfect already. More than 5 stars will be needed to rate them next year! Thank you Iza and sorry about the umbrella xx

Room Tip: Book early. They will be busy with return guests
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPiper, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear Jack,

Thank you for your "WOW" review - you know it means a lot to us. You have made our day with your comments. Don't worry about the umbrella, on our next visit to St. Mawes we will find it ;) Thank you for the fudge! I had it with my tea that afternoon.

We wish you all the best and see you soon in the Monkey room!

Iza & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

This has to be one of the loveliest b&b guest houses I have ever stayed in. The rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated and furnished, with amazing smellies in the bathrooms available to purchase if you like them. The Old Parsonage is charm itself and Izabela the landlady is charm personified!
Breakfast is a real feast with Izabela creating her own "special of the day" every day. The food is locally sourced and beautifully presented.
The down sides? I couldn't spot any at all!! Perfect '10' from this judge!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Juliawyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPiper, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear Julia,

Wow! What a review!!! Thank you for the '10':) As you know The Old Parsonage means a lot to us and we are very grateful for each and every review from our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, it was a really pleasure to welcome you in our B&B. Hope to see you soon!

All the best,

Iza & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews