We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wheelhouse(Mevagissey)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Linton B&B(Mevagissey)
Expedia.com
View Deal
The Rising Sun Inn(Portmellon Cove)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
6 The Net Lofts(Mevagissey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
202
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblueberry muffinsdaily specialsfresh milk and watercornish breakfastsingle room was smallfamily run b bfrom the ovenan amazing cookdigital radiotea trayshappy birthdayamazing showeron arrivalyoung coupledelightful couplediscount ticketssummer break
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed for 1 night here for work. Did not arrive until 8pm but had such a warm and friendly welcome - did not ask the lady's name but thank you :-).
Lovely room, good shower, really nice period touches to the decor etc.
Went for a walk ( on advice) to harbour around 9pm and night sky was something to behold - so many stars! Parking at the back was not obvious so suggest you ask ahead.
Only down side was a very soft mattress so did not sleep as well as I could have. Left before breakfast and took coastal path walk to a stunning beach so all in all a positive experience

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The owners couldn't do enough for us - from suggestions on where to go, where to eat to general helpfulness.
The room was clean and comfortable with a small en suite shower room.
The room had double aspect but no views (this did not bother us in the slightest). You can walk to the harbour within a couple of minutes and is a very easy walk.
Breakfast was a choice of both cold & hot variety with the added 'special' each morning. This was a real treat.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay again and to recommend to others. It may be worth noting that the owners are going to be updating (even though what they already have is great!) so the B&B may be shut for a few months.

Room Tip: All seem lovely
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPiper, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your lovely review and calling us "A real gem" - huge honor to us! It’s great that you enjoined your stay. You are right, the B&B was closed through the winner months as we renovated all the guest rooms and other guest areas which took us a bit longer the we expected but we are over then moon with the final result. It would be lovely if you could come back and give your opinion on the work we did. Also there is still plenty to explore so hopefully see you soon.

Many thanks,

Izzi & Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived to a fabulous warm greeting off Iza and Millie whilst parking our car at the back of the B & B.

We had room 1, really comfy bed, great pillows, fluffy robes, huge towels and by far my favourite item a hot water bottle!

The decor is lovely, the room is quiet, clean and tidy with tea, coffee and fresh bottled water.

The shower is surprisingly powerful and the lemongrass shower gel was gorgeous.

The breakfasts at the Old Parsonage are marvellous. Tea, coffee, juices, full Cornish breakfast, Polish options ( I had the eggs on bacon as part of my Cornish breakfast and it was to die for), homemade muffins, cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurts. Everything locally sourced and delicious.

Megavissey itself is quaint and small. The first night we are at the Ship Inn, decent priced, what we would call normal pub grub. We then went to the Fountain and The Harbour Tavern and the Kings Arms.

The Kings Arms was a little weird. I initially
Though it had shut down as it looked a bit like the Marie Celeste with food left on a table in an empty bar with the lights off. However later on it opened up.

The Fountain is really cosy and snug.

The following day, we decided to walk the 2 mile coastal path to Penteven for lunch at the Ship.

The 2 miles were mostly up very, very steep cliffs and down the other side to then go up again. Stunning views but definitely not an easy stroll.

Lunch at the Ship was lovely, especially meeting the resident Labrador, Lily, resplendent in her yellow hi viz that says ' do not feed me, I'm on a diet!'. Nice bar staff and with the bus stop only 5 minutes away even better for tired legs. It's £2 single back to Megavissey.

That evening we had booked a table at the Sharkfin. Good job we did as everywhere was rammed.

The food at the Sharkfin is amazing. Great service, great food and good staff. We were evacuated due to a fire alarm but this was quickly rectified (with a little help from a singing waitress) and we continued with our stunning meal.

We had a lovely time and would love to stay at the Old Parsonage again as Tim, Iza and Millie are brilliant and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Almost forgot to add - there are NO bank machines in the village. Cash back is available at the newsagent and pubs though.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank boedaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Old Parsonage for a long weekend and had a fantastic stay.

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived when we were offered tea and biscuits after a long journey.

Izi made us feel at home immediately and willingly provided helpful information for our stay including where to eat, where to visit and where to walk.

Our room was very comfortable with lovely touches including dressing gowns, a drinks tray with fresh milk and cold water which was replaced daily and biscuits.

In the bathroom was lovely locally made shower gel and shampoo.

Breakfast was amazing with daily specials, fresh fruit salad and cooked to order Cornish breakfast made from locally sourced ingredients. There was also a selection of jams, cereals and freshly baked homemade muffins.

It was a great base for coastal path walks and we would definitely return.

Izi is a great host - she genuinely wants you to have the very best time possible.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPiper, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Christine,

What can I say... Wow! Beautiful review, thank you so much for tanking time to write it. Its great how many details you remember! And for us it means everything. Come back soon!

Many many thanks!

Izzi and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We can only describe the Old Parsonage as a "jewel" in Mevagissey. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm, relaxed and friendly hospitality plus blueberry muffins & tea. Attention to detail is immaculate and there are excellent Cornish breakfasts plus specials like Polish scrambled eggs, buttermilk pancakes and a "fish festival". Give this guesthouse a go, you will not be disappointed! Iza is a breath of fresh air and our only regret was our stay wasn't longer.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimPiper, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear Stephen,

Thank you so much for lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoined your stay, the food and our specials. Please come back to visit us soon! There is still lots to see and the house went through a massive transformation during the winner. It would be great to hear you opinion on the house. Once again a massive thank you for staying with us!

All the best,

Izzi and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews