We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
236
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blueberry muffins cornish breakfast daily specials single room was small family run b b an amazing cook tea trays warm muffins polish sausage fresh milk and water happy birthday summer break extra special on arrival the ground floor discount tickets yum yum
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

The b&b is gorgeous, so nicely decorated with a feeling of luxury especially the beds and linen.
Izzy and Tim are great hosts. They are a really friendly, relaxed cool couple. We were visiting Mevagissey to attend a friends wedding, and after two late nights out they offered us a late check out (at no extra charge) which certainly made our day better.
Breakfast was amazing, all top quality locally sourced ingredients (even the tomato sauce). It was a kind of communal breakfast and was nice to have a chat with some interesting characters. I loved all the lovely plates, tea cups and unique silverwear at the table and the star of the show was freshly baked muffins.
We would definitely visit again as Mevagissey is a lovely little harbour town.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We had read a review in the Times of The Old Parsonage and decided to give it a try, having never visited this part of Cornwall before. We were not disappointed. Izzy and Tim were very welcoming and helpful providing plenty of advice on where to eat and places to visit. The room was well equipped and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Also good to have a parking space. Mevagissy is a beautiful fishing village and our stay at The Old Parsonage completed the picture.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dorothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Our hosts Izzy and Tim were warm and welcoming, with good advice on where to eat nearby. They have clearly put a lot of work into transforming The Old Parsonage into a stylish and comfortable B&B. The breakfast was truly excellent, beautifully cooked.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pkurow_843899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We visit the Mevagissey area about once a year and this time left the decision to travel late. I know the area very well and we had tried several B&Bs in the town and local area. I looked through them again, but decided to try something different. It had to be close to the centre. The AirBnB selections looked uninviting for November as well.

My continued search as a regular trip adviser contributor, led me to The Old Parsonage. The reviews seemed too good to be true. The picture of the front of the building sealed it before I phoned to book. Speaking to Iza completed my decision: she told me everything I needed to know before I asked. Furthermore she sounded excited that we had chosen to stay with them. We could not wait!

We were not disappointed, were quietly ecstatic and could not believe what we had discovered. The Sunday Times testimonial from this October captures it so accurately. From our arrival the sheer well oiled professionalism was impressive. We had the room on the ground floor opposite the breakfast room and it had been beautifully refurbished and decorated. The bathroom had been recently upgraded and was better than many 4* hotels we have stayed in. We loved the county sourced toiletries from Trevarno in Helston. Just another thoughtful touch to make a completely excellent stay better.

The breakfast experience was just that. We sat on a dining room table with the other two couples and had a great time. Tim was our engaging host now with Iza individually cooking the breakfasts to order. Again we felt that we already knew Iza and Tim because they just kept on giving. In similar circumstances we have felt that people just want to give you breakfast and get rid of you as quickly as possible. Not so. We all chatted together and learned a great deal about how they had bought and developed their fantastic business... and the plans to improve it.

We truly loved the experience and left clutching warm muffins pressed into our hand by Iza as she emerged from the kitchen to say goodbye. We are still talking about it days later and is really the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Please do not make many changes, it’s brilliant and personal as it is. You have made it perfect, please keep up your excellent work in making everyone happy! Best Wishes and we will clearly need to book earlier to avoid disappointment next time.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Johndot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

To begin with this little fishing port is a wonderful place for an overnight stay or longer and the Old Parsonage couldn't be a better choice. It's just steps from the colorful harbor, interesting shops and great restaurant choices. The owners, Tim and Izzy, are real sweethearts and are doing an amazing job. Their rooms are spotless, exceptionally well-appointed, and there is plenty of room. Every comfort has been thought of--from bathrobes to toiletries and tea trays with fresh milk delivered to your door. Our party of four rated Izzy's breakfast as the best of the best. We've eaten at a lot of exceptional B & B's in our lifetimes, but Izzy sets the bar very high. We loved her Polish egg scramble and warm-from-the-oven blue berry muffins. And we appreciated Tim's offer to help with the luggage. And there's easy parking, which isn't always available in these old villages. You won't beat the Old Parsonage for peace and quiet either (they had a full house, but we were surprised to learn that next morning since we hadn't heard a peep).

Room Tip: I don't think you could get a bad room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Merrilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews