We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue

Blue
Ranked #25 of 38 Restaurants in Mevagissey
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Was served a toastie that was supposed to be cheese and onion but was actually just green onion. Everything seemed to be being served out of tins. Awful experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0ral5, Owner at Blue, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
If you ordered a cheese and onion toastie, then that is what you received! If cheese is toasted, it will melt, and will not be as visible as hard uncooked cheese. I've never heard of tinned cheese or tinned onions? if you are referring to other meals - how can you comment on how food is being prepared and served, when you were no where near the kitchen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    26
    19
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The worse meal I have ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

They were busy drinking tea and chatting and even though it was 2 00 pm They seem unhappy that we came in. We were served dry toasted sandwich cheese and the small amount of ham tasted off so it was left also stale scone with very little cream or jam Would never go back there again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank busylizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0ral5, Owner at Blue, responded to this review, 3 May 2016
I do apologise for having a tea break. We work a minimum ten hour day, and by Law we are entitled to a ten minute tea break every four hours - which most employees have. We are not unhappy to receive customers, our scones are baked daily and our suppliers deliver daily - so our food is not 'off'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit different!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I see people have been critical of the way this place was run. It isn't your average bistro, and we didn't find it until our last day. I would say there was a definite quirkiness to the place but the food was very good and the ambience in the evening was very jovial. We ended up having interesting conversations with two lots of people on adjacent tables so maybe I remember the evening with fondness!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“small but ok,”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

we stopped off here for scallops in garlic sauce with small salad which was fine,it was like grannies sitting room,
the waitress was more at home chatting to people,service was extremly slow and a nice bowl of fresh bread and some balsamic and oil would have passed the time, people were getting ratty
it only seats ten people and a huge couple came in for a table with 2 huge labrador dogs,they were refused has we had had a moan about the amount of dogs there were in this area plus in view of how tiny this place was it would have been impossible

BUT DOGS ARE ALLOWED NOW IN ALMOST ALL HOTELS AND recently in restaurants in Cornwall i am going to ring the powers that be to see if this is legal in restaurants

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like a library? More like a morgue”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

From the outside, the menu looked interesting for vegetarians, but the place looked a little lacking in atmosphere. Most other places were either full or did not have the range of veggie options so we plumped for Blue. We were sat down by a rather unfriendly woman who then unsuccessfully tried to stop the table from wobbling. We sat facing the wall. The menu arrived to find a number of veggie options were unavailable. We selected the macaroni cheese only to find they had sold out. Surely if it was prepared fresh if would take about 20-30 minutes to knock some up. Meanwhile, some very solemn music was playing in the background. We seized the chance and left.

The place has potential, but lacking in identity. Smaller tables, tablecloths, a lick of paint, new photos and brick up the old serving hatch - these would help. And then cook food fresh to order. That would help too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0ral5, Owner at Blue, responded to this review, 7 May 2016
The 'woman' did welcome you, she re-arranged table bookings to give you a free table when you walked in as 'chance trade', paid attention to your table and lit a candle for you. We were very busy that night so idle chatting was not an option - if that is what you call 'unfriendly'. You did not have to face the wall, people choose where they sit at a table. We make a small amount of specials daily, but at 8pm in the evening (we are open all day), they do get sold out. We don't 'knock up' our specials in 20minutes, and we already had several table orders in the kitchen prior to your arrival. You chose to make an abrupt exit, but your table was immediately occupied by customers who didn't have a problem with any of these issues. Smaller tables would not seat parties of four or more people. It is not cost effective to launder table cloths for people who only sit at the table for 2 minutes. The serving hatch was designed by the previous restaurant owner who now has another well established restaurant in Mevagissey. The restaurant is painted every year at the end of the season. The 'photos'? are very expensive limited edition paintings that were exhibited at the University of Plymouth and have been painted by a local Plympton artist - so we are not likely to replace these!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue also viewed

Mevagissey, Cornwall
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 
Mevagissey, Cornwall
 

Been to Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing