We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Love at first sight”
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nellienep...
Dorset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love at first sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled here for a pre-Christmas break with teenagers and a five year old as well as two dogs and a fabulous time was had by all! We loved the space, the open fire, the kitchen, the large number of bathrooms and the location. Also the style, almost our perfect home to be honest. Mevagissey itself was wonderful too, friendly, festive and wonderful. We didn't feel the need to venture inland at all for our whole stay. Yes the house has foibles, there was a definite knack to getting the toaster to work for example, but it was so homely and welcoming we really couldn't fault it. We are already looking at booking for next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarew
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting and spacious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Six of us shared this house which sleeps 10 so we had plenty of space. The kitchen was well equipped and the living room was good for 6 (though probably cramped for 10). The dining room was spacious and airy. The rooms varied from excellent to rather gloomy and cramped so choose well!
The downstairs from room could be noisy in high season.
The living, kitchen, dining rooms were on the middle floor of this 3 storey town house which meant considerable stair climbing. Get used to it!
Location in the centre of Mevagissey was excellent but meant 100 yard walk to the car park (which could get busy in the high season). One vehicle car parking included, after that it is £35 a week per car.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, space, quirkiness
Liked least: stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave m
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location , cottage requires attention!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely period house with plenty of space , only a stones throw from the beach and everything that you could need. a fully equpied kitchen and laundry with plenty of space to feed a large family. A very comfortable sitting room but wouldnt seat the ten comfortably. Now the negatives!, the front bedrooms suffer disturbed sleep to even the deepest sleeper from street noise and seagulls! not aided by the lack of double glazing, the bed to the ground floor front room is unsleepable and all of the ground floor is very damp with slugs a plenty. Bathrooms are in great need of updating and a deep clean and the noisy saniflow systems can be a little smelly i would expect more for the 1500 pound tarrif!, Cleaning in general requires attention...finding new forms of antibiotics in the bread bin is not acceptable! The garden is far from useable and is a danger to access as mentioned on a sign to the access door! a handrail to the 30ft drop is a must to permit access in my opinion, that said overall a fantastic location and house with the improvements added would be a dream seaside holiday in the sun...kind regards Dave.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
2 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: size of the property , kitchen and lounge
Liked least: bathrooms, beds and garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011 for a stay in November 2010
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oldhampsh...
Camberley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010 for a stay in July 2010

The accommodation was not clean and the rooms were on the damp side. The bathrooms were small and the showers poor. The garden, which was due to be available for our visit wasn't ready. The reason for this review is that we made our feelings clear to Sykes at the time and didn't even get the courtesy of a reply. Apparently there has been a change of ownership during 2010, and this may explain why the reviews earlier in 2010 are better than this one. The house needs a thorough clean and refurbishment, especially bathrooms and kitchen. We were very disappointed and because of this experience we would never use Sykes again.

2 of 5 bubbles Value 2 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 1 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
3 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 2 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2010
Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of the property and that it did not meet your expectations. We did not receive a letter of complaint regarding your booking however the feedback you kindly supplied was passed to the owner. We are pleased to report that since your booking the owners have installed a damp course to the problem areas mentioned, redecorated and recarpeted 4 bedrooms and replaced one of the two ovens at the property. They have an on-going plan of improvement and redecoration and we are sure future guests will be delighted with this property which is situated in such a charming part of Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichester
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010 for a stay in July 2010
3 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 1 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010 for a stay in November 2009
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The space and homeliness of the cottage
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$139
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing