We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JeffW015
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible furniture and fittings in a fantastic old building in a great location”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I am a retired person and along with my 5 fellow retiree’s this was our 7th annual visit to Cornwall, we have always stayed in ‘older style’ properties so we thought we knew what to expect.

On our arrival at the Old Bank we were surprised at the unkempt internal appearance, particularly the kitchen and dining surfaces which didn’t appear to have been cleaned for a long time, there were four light bulbs ‘dead’ in the kitchen, three over the sink which would have made it impossible to use, fortunately the owner had left a ladder and spare bulbs which we duly replaced, not something we relished having driven 5hrs and not being the most agile at our age. The kitchen cupboards were very downcast, doors hanging off, drawers which have peeling laminate also showing evidence of being poorly repaired on a number of occasions, the plates and general crockery had also seen better days with deep black marks and chips on numerous plates, bowls cups etc. We then heard a ‘bleeping’ noise which turned out to be a low battery warning from a smoke alarm in one of the bedrooms, (we removed the battery as it was in a bedroom we were not using).

We ventured outside to the ‘patio area’, the bottom step as you enter the area is dangerously loose, one of my guests who was the first to enter the area put his foot on the step and it tipped towards him and he slipped and grazed his knee. The outside furniture depicted in 'Sykes' pictures has started to ‘rot’; the dual bench has a broken back to the seat and would appear to be unsafe to sit on.

The lounge too had seen better days, the two three seater sofa’s are falling apart, the dark brown sofa has one of its padded arms detached and as you sit in it you are ‘consumed’ by the sofa as it has lost all its sprung support. The lighter of the two sofa’s has been padded out with pillows because of the broken springs, the single seater is very stained and a cover thrown over it to cover up some of the marks but the dirty arms are still exposed, as you can imagine they were very uncomfortable. The main light in the lounge is controlled via a dimmer which has a loose connection, the light is constantly flashing and you have to keep ‘tweaking’ it to make it work. Some of the bedroom and bathroom fixtures and fittings did not fare much better, grubby bed sheets and quilts, new style free standing wardrobes which were falling apart, toilet brushes that were too dirty to describe.........

We also felt a little unsafe at night as it was not possible to lock the front door from the inside as the door bolt had been broken, of greater concern was the ‘fire escape’ door at the back of the property which needed a something like a screwdriver inserted in the top bolt to unlock it as the lever was missing, not something you want to be doing in an emergency.

I could go on and on, there were many other faults but I expect by now you have some idea what we encountered; the house is a lovely property 200 plus years old with lots of character, I have no complaints about the description of the Grade II listed property itself BUT the description ‘renovated to a high standard’ is very misleading, it may well have been 7 years ago when 'Sykes' last inspected the property. It is very tired and needs a lot of attention to bring it up to the standard described and pictured in the marketing literature.

We did complain when we returned home, it took nearly 4 weeks to get Sykes to even respond to the email, not even an acknowledgement of the email, we were offered £100 off the rental of £730.

It is a fantastic old building but the fixtures and fittings have been very poorly maintained, certainly not worth the money we paid, even with the small refund.

We ate out every night, the Fountain Inn a few yards away was very nice, good Cornish ale and nice food, The Ship another good place to eat, cannot fault the description of the location and the excellent local amenities, even in November

One word of caution when paying your deposit with Sykes, they charge a surcharge on credit cards so I paid with a bank debit card, I hadn't realised at the time it gave them automatic authority to take the balance as they had held onto my card details, to be fair they did send me an email a few days before hand stating they were going to take the balance but I was not pleased this was not clear at the time of paying the deposit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2017
Thank you for your feedback. I can see you have been in touch with us recently regarding your stay. I have asked my colleague to contact you in order to discuss this further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
985denise...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved this property, There were 11 of us in total including a baby and 4 kids from 3 to 14, masses of space and everything we needed,. The property has a very interesting history, Mevagissey is a lovely quaint little village. the only minus to this holiday is that the garden is very dangerous for young children, fortunately we had plenty of adults to supervise, to be fair we were warned about this in the description overall we had a really lovely holiday and would recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space, location, lots of Bathrooms, varied selection of books and games
Liked least: Garden unsafe for children
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADH58
Stamford UK
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Old Bank House is a brilliant place to stay with a large group or extended family. Comfortable, warm and well appointed it has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. It is only seconds from two great pubs, The Fountain and The Ship. It is also only a few strides away from the picturesque Mevagissey harbour. The parking is only a short walk away in the Sunny Corner car park and although there are quite few vehicles that use the narrow road past the house once you're inside you don't notice them at all (although loud voice can be overheard if you're in the front downstairs bedroom). The dining room is unique with it's balcony and voiles providing a lovely setting for dinner. The kitchen has everything you need and the sitting room is very cosy with two large sofas. We had a wonderful time and loved every minute of our week long stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to pubs, restaurants and the harbour
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this thoroughly lovely review with us all, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Old Bank House. Being so close to the harbour and great pubs sounds fabulous, and with the lovely house to call home too, you certainly didn't have to venture far to have all the makings of a wonderful holiday! We certainly hope that you return again very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
983stuart...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

one minute stroll to the harbour and pubs, restaraunt and fish and chip shops. House clean, confortable and bed rooms very spacious. The living room would be a little cramped if more than 6 people (there was only three when we stayed). The house was very well equipped with utensils, pans, crockery etc. lovely touch from the landlady giving us milk, tea, sugar etc there was even a delicious carrot cake for us! All sheets and bedding was very clean and fresh.

On the whole,thoughly enjoyed our stay here & would come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaralynJR
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I liked that the house was in the centre of Mevagissey - it was easy for my parents to wander around and go for coffees etc, and easy for the younger members of the party to walk to a suitable beach. I loved the kitchen, dining room, and the sitting room, all suitable for a large party, and there was plenty of cutlery and crockery for 10 people.
Even with the slight issues below, it was in a lovely location, is really suitable for large parties and we did enjoy our time there.
Lots of light bulbs were not working, this is my husband's pet hate - and the only spare bulbs we could find did not fit!
The furnishings were very tired, the sofas in the sitting room were quite uncomfortable to sit on, especially for older people with back or mobility problems but lovely to lie on. The bedrooms downstairs smelt musty and damp, and although warm weather outside they did also feel damp. The middle bedroom (2), seemed to get all the noise from flushing of loos, showers etc and the back bedroom (3), did seem to smell musty and damp the worse.
Although the business about parking etc was not easy for arrival and departing the property, we were warned about it, and therefore accepted this - so we did pack in boxes/cool boxes/suitcases etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The smell downstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location some investment needed”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this house for Christmas and appreciated the space and the fantastic location. There were many good pubs and restaurants within walking distance and the harbour is a treat. Even over Christmas the village was busy and had a good atmosphere. There are parts of the house that are excellent, for example the spacious dining room and the oven space in the kitchen.
However, the kitchen equipment needs updating (the roasting tins were rusty) and some of the advertised facilities are not in place - for example the play station was not set up; we could not find the DVD player and one of the TV's did not work. These things would have been helpful as the weather was particularly wet.
The showers need some attention and are not easily accessible for older people. This is also the case for the garden. Some of the mattresses are not so comfortable and need replacing.

The car parking is tricky for unloading and loading as everything needs carrying from the car park. We advise making sure that things are packed in bags rather than loose in a roof box! However, this is to be expected and can be managed.

We have stayed in cottages with a similar tariff, with Sykes, at the same time of year and they have been better equipped and had higher quality bathrooms.

Overall, a great location staying in a house that needs just one or two things improving.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: Bathrooms, bedding and kitchen equipment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nellienep...
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love at first sight”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled here for a pre-Christmas break with teenagers and a five year old as well as two dogs and a fabulous time was had by all! We loved the space, the open fire, the kitchen, the large number of bathrooms and the location. Also the style, almost our perfect home to be honest. Mevagissey itself was wonderful too, friendly, festive and wonderful. We didn't feel the need to venture inland at all for our whole stay. Yes the house has foibles, there was a definite knack to getting the toaster to work for example, but it was so homely and welcoming we really couldn't fault it. We are already looking at booking for next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing