We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mevagissey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie S
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We first stayed at 4 Elm Terrace in August 2016 and loved it so much that we booked again to go this August. The cottage is quaint and bursting with character. It has plenty of space and books, jigsaws, dvds etc to borrow whilst staying there. The owners are friendly and helpful and any issues (a slight problem with the fridge door in our case) are dealt with promptly. Great care is taken to ensure guests comfort. We can't wait to visit again and would strongly recommend the cottage to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W1764FOpa...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent traditional cottage with designer touches in great location”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent two very happy weeks at 4 Elm Terrace this summer. It's a really lovely place to stay - roomy, comfortable, well done up and convenient. The cottage is actually two knocked together so it is very spacious - the pictures don't quite do it justice. The conversion was well done (we even met the builder who did it while staying there) and the owners have done a superb job on the interior design. I believe they do it professionally - it certainly looks it. The kitchen is a decent size and well equipped, the open plan living room / dining room is charming, spacious and filled with nice furniture. The sofas are a real step up from typical holiday lets - big, deep, comfy and capable of wooing the unwary into mid-afternoon snoozing. The TV is large and good quality and there is a decent little stereo too so it's comfortable place unwind after a hard day's holiday on the beach or the hill. The bedrooms are big and nicely done with good-sized beds and excellent mattresses. It's very nice place to be.

The cottage's position in Mevagissey is what is really special. Elm Terrace is a pedestrianized cobbled lane just on the edge of the centre of the village. This is great because it's incredibly convenient - you are literally seconds away from the sweet shop, the vegetable shop and the spar, not to mention the many pubs and restaurants. Equally the elevated position means excellent views across Mevagissey's valley and (at a sharp angle!) out to the sea. Yet you're also apart from the flow of people heading in and out of town. It's quiet, and you can sit on the cobbled lane and look out over it all while enjoying a privileged privacy. The cottage has its own bench on the lane, so you can sit in the sunshine outside the cottage and watch the world go by, from early in the morning through to 3 or 4 PM. The rest of the lane is mostly locals and we got to know many of them in our stay - they're all lovely. The main car park is a couple of minutes walk away and it's easy to park there and take your luggage (or shopping) up to the cottage. And Matt, who runs the car park, will give you a wonderful welcome to Mevagissey and show you how to get to the cottage.

Mevagissey itself is fab - a wonderful, real working fishing village with an endlessly fascinating active port. It's gorgeous, it feels like you're in a different country not just from England, but from the rest of Cornwall! The countryside around Mevagissey is exquisite and there is lots to do. It's a real foodie destination too - the restaurants are tremendous, with incredible local caught seafood and excellent local produce.

Downsides? For a family staying for two weeks a washing machine would have been nice, although we got the hang of the laundrette fairly well. The shower was good once it was repaired (the owners were VERY responsive when we asked about it) and the bathroom is decent but not quite as nice as the rest of the cottage. The cottage is built right into the rock and there's a teeny bit of damp smell at times, and a few moths around the place after dark.

But these are really very minor issues. Mevagissey is an extraordinarily nice Cornwall holiday destination, and Elm Terrace is a fantastic base from which to enjoy it. We thoroughly recommend it, and we'd love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interior design
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: lack of garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
17Emma17
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We chose this cottage as we needed to be in Mevagissey and it looked superb on the website. We were not disappointed. It is in a superb location and has a very homely feel due to its tasteful decoration. It is also very well equipped and clean.
We were there as a family over three generations (and the family dog ...) and we all fell in love with it.
I recommend this cottage highly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the cottage
Liked least: Leaving .....
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toufflers france
Reviewed 10 June 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ALTON , HANTS
Reviewed 24 December 2009 for a stay in June 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: LOCATION
Liked least: PARKING SPACE
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield
Reviewed 20 December 2009 for a stay in August 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing