We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home, marvellous hosts great location”
Review of The Mandalay

The Mandalay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mandalay
Ranked #18 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Booked at short notice, for a few days away. Never been to Cornwall before what a beautiful place. The Mandalay was perfect couldn't fault it, the hosts were lovely, the breakfasts were huge could only mange a full English on the first day, but my husband loved it kept us going till late afternoon.
Would defiantly stay again.
Thanks again
Jill and Alex

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebHigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

What a find!! our recent visit to the Mandalay was fantastic. The hosts Jill & Joe were so friendly and welcoming and made you feel so at home, nothing was too much trouble. The home cooked breakfasts are great, one of Joe's breakfasts and you don't have to eat for the rest of the day. Good sized rooms and great views, onsite parking and a stones throw from the village. Overall a fantastic week. Would definitely recommend a visit there. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieHUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

hosts jill and joe were very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. enjoyed a very relaxing week. accommodation was as expected clean, and comfortable, breakfast was huge, and tastes amazing. had one bad point we had to come home !!!! haha !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahambourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were made very welcome at Mandalay. The hosts Joe and Jill are very friendly and helpful and they make you feel at home straight away. They are also very funny so the breakfasts are entertaining. You are served plenty of food for breakfast. The setting of the hotel is beautiful and peaceful. The view from the veranda when you sit and take your afternoon drink is lovely. If we are traveling to Cornwall again, Mandalay will be the place were we would like to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

DO NOT stay here if you are on a diet Joes breakfasts are massive real good home cooked food a real comfortable home from home place Jill and Joe were fantastic hosts both so warm and friendly we felt like we had known them for years. A lovely comfortable room spotlessly clean, everything was perfect and nothing was too much trouble. A really good spot five minutes walk to the shops and a little longer coming back!
Roy and Brenda

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Jill and Alex are lovely hosts, make you feel very welcome. We were not able to get a family room, but we were welcome to bring an airbed for our 4 year old son.Nothing was too much trouble and Jill and Alex were lovely hosts. Breakfast was amazing, no small portions at the Mandalay, central for our stay, the hill back up fromt he village wasnt as bad I expected, but after walking and down hills in Cornwall all week I think my overall fitness had improved! we would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xanderbov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Had a lovely welcome when we arrived. We had a large, clean and comfortable room for two nights overlooking the rear garden. The breakfast was excellent, it would be hard to better it in any hotel. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the harbour and shops, but 10 to 15 minutes uphill to walk back. It has a large free car park making it unnecessary to park in the town. Our stay was excellent value for money and was enhanced by friendly and helpful owners, Jill and Joe, we would have no reservations about recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
263 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
#1 of 2 in Saint Ewe
371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tubbs Mill House
Tubbs Mill House
#1 of 3 in Caerhays
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Inn
The Rising Sun Inn
#2 of 2 in Portmellon Cove
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#5 of 34 in Mevagissey
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandalay

Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range: £19 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B , same owners for 21yrs.Car parking for all of our guests.Full English breakfast.Lovely front garden to sit in.Ensuite rooms.Short walk to village and harbour. Free Wi Fi.Bus Service just outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mandalay Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing