We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B in Mevagissey”
Review of The Mandalay

The Mandalay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mandalay
Ranked #16 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best B & B in Mevagissey”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just returned from another visit to 'The Mandalay' B & B in Mevagissey. This must be one of the best kept secrets in Cornwall.

The Hotel is well maintained, and has free car parking spaces at the front. It is easy to find, and only a 5 minute walk down to the harbour. Maybe, for some, it would take a bit longer coming back up, but at a steady stroll is fine.

On arrival, we were welcomed by our hosts, Jill and Joe, given our keys, and told to come and go as we pleased.

All the bedrooms are on the first floor, accessed by an easy staircase, from the bar area. Our room was a large room at the rear, well appointed, very comfortable, and with a nice view of the gardens.

The breakfasts were excellent, although far too much for us, and we had to ask for smaller portions, or as Jill says, 'the girly ones'. Beleive me, you will not want any lunch, after a 'Mandalay breakfast' !

In our opinion, it would be difficult to find better hosts than Joe and Jill, their Hospitality is second to none. Everyone feels as though they have made two lovely new friends after their stay.

We would recommend anybody wanting to visit Mevagissey, to try this excellent Hotel. We have been operating coaches for over 45 years, taking parties all over the country to various hotels, and have yet to find a hotel, or a B & B, where the owners are more friendly, and accomodating than this one.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank rondacoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    23
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
84
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

All my family going back next year,jill and joe are the best bb host, breakfast great,First class facilities,Lovely clean rooms, and the views were great.Any one who gives a bad review needs there eyes tested.

Room Tip: All rooms we had was very clean nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlene j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We are just back from staying at The Mandalay for the third year running and to be honest there is no other BB/Hotel like it anywhere in Cornwall (and we've stayed in a few). The rooms yet again were lovely and clean, the food was great as always and Jill, Joe and Little Joe made us feel so welcome and they always go that EXTRA mile to make to make you feel comfortable. They even dug out surf boards etc for our girls to take to the beach. The view from this place is amazing and the local harbour has plenty of great shops for you to browse around, especially the little leather shop where I spent too much as always!!! The rooms are great value for money and we most certainly be going back next year for definite!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendymacLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

For over 50 years we have been visiting Mevagissey, sometimes several times a year, both for holidays and sea fishing. We have stayed in many different accommodations from Hotels ,Pubs and B&B's. For a number of years we have found Mandalay to be the ideal accommodation in every aspect, especially the very warm welcome from Jill and Joe and their family. The food cannot be faulted on choice, quality and quantity. They always go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable in every way. The premises are kept in good condition and very clean and tidy. A extra bonus for us is the well concealed and spacious safe car parking for my valuable Aston Martin.

Brian and Betty

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We came (for our second time) in August for 6 nights, and were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Lovely clean room with first class facilities, great breakfast. Joe and Jill were excellent hosts. Add in the great view and pleasant conversation sitting in the garden in the evening. Very good car parking and only a short walk into the village and harbour - what more could we want. We just wish that we had booked for longer............but there's always next year!!!!!!! Oh, yes, the bus stop is only a few yards from the property - an added and unexpected bonus. Hope to come again in 2014.. Anne and Peter

Room Tip: We had a front facing room, excellent views from the moment we woke up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterStuartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was our first time in Cornwall and it couldn't have been better. The B&B was exactly what we were looking for - quiet, great location and close enough for us to explore the beautiful coastal path. Jill and Joe are very welcoming and full of local information. Our only downside was not getting to stay long enough!!

We've already booked again for next year so we can explore more!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senka_moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Mandalay (Early August 2013). Once again we were not disappointed and were very happy with all aspects of our stay. Staying at the Mandalay is like a home from home experience. Jill & Joe welcomed us back, served us with a pot of tea and an ice cream for our toddler after a long 5.5hr journey. We stayed in the family room which was ample in size and allowed plenty of space for us to assemble our travel cot with ease. The breakfasts in the morning cooked up by Joe.... well... you'll be happily stuffed and won't need lunch!!! And Jill is always happy to top up your tea, coffee and toast until you can't take anymore! All done and combined with their banter but not encroaching on your breakfast time.

The Mandalay, Jill, Joe and their son are just like "Ron Seal" - Does what it says on the tin! However Jill and Joe do go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is as nice as possible. Alas they are human and not mind readers so if you have an issue let then know and they WILL fix it! (Not that we've had to complain ;-) )

Anyway with all that, we'll be back next year with no hesitation. Many thanks to all
@ the Mandalay.

Room Tip: The house is in a very quiet area of the village so every room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mevagissey
0.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
229 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buckingham House
Buckingham House
#10 of 34 in Mevagissey
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#7 of 34 in Mevagissey
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#14 of 34 in Mevagissey
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pebble House Guesthouse
Pebble House Guesthouse
#5 of 34 in Mevagissey
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandalay

Property: The Mandalay
Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B , same owners for 21yrs.Car parking for all of our guests.Full English breakfast.Lovely front garden to sit in.Ensuite rooms.Short walk to village and harbour. Free Wi Fi.Bus Service just outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mandalay Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing