We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cracker!”
Review of The Mandalay

The Mandalay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mandalay
Ranked #19 of 34 Mevagissey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is our 4th visit to the Mandalay @ Mevagissey... We keep coming back because of the following: Friendly warm welcome, Friendly host, clean comfy room, free tea and coffee in the rooms, super-fast free WiFi, free car parking (this is a good point if you know Mevagissey!) Super Breakfast (so you won't need any lunch), Good family run B&B, competitively priced the list goes on! Thanks once again Jill and family - see you again soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Jill bends over backwards to welcome you to her b@b run by her and her son. They do a hot perfect cooked Breky aswell as other items. Nothing is to much trouble at all. My 9 year old lad enjoyed it so much here, he said to Jill " your the best bed @ breakfast I've stayed at " I totally agree being mum. She's so helpful @ kind. The room we had was 11, big bay window with fab views. Not to sure of the other rooms as I didn't see, but am sure they are very clean n comfy like ours was. Definately will stay again if get the chance. Thankyou Jill, your a star @ your son is too!.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daprgp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a perfect short stay at the Mandalay as I toured the Cornish coast! Very friendly hosts who made sure that I was well taken care of, comfortable room and tasty breakfast! Additionally, they have free parking available (something that is very difficult to fins in the area!). I hope to visit again sometime soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SenkaMot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were touring the Cornish coast in early May 2014, staying in b&b's. We drove into Mevagissey, a pretty little fishing village, and looked around for a b&b with parking. Within ten minutes we hit the infamous Mevagissey road block and discovered that there were no b&b's with parking anywhere near the front. We asked a friendly man who said, 'You won't find a b&b with parking in Mevagissey!' Then we saw a sign for the Mandalay. Situated just around the corner from the car park lay this idylic retreat with ample free parking thrown in for good measure. We were greeted by Jill who made us feel more than welcome. Our ensuite room was clean and comfortable with pleasant views across the valley and well maintained gardens. The Mandalay is a short walk from the harbour. It is on a hill, but it's not too far up. In the morning our hostess made us a full english breakfast which was a real treat. We were first timers here and we only stayed one night but Jill had such an impact on both of us, the next time we are in Cornwall the Mandalay will be our first port of call. If you're looking for a place to use as a base to explore the beautiful Cornish coast you need look no further.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room at the front of the house with lovely views across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed with Joe and Jill for a few days in August, and still find ourselves talking about what an extremely enjoyable time we had. Our puppy Momo was a bit of the star of the manor for our stay, but there is a real common thread that ran through the guests there. I think we were the only first time visitors there - many people go back religiously. And so shall we. Sorry it took so long, dearest Jill and Joe, to write this up, but we cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 33JMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have just returned from another visit to 'The Mandalay' B & B in Mevagissey. This must be one of the best kept secrets in Cornwall.

The Hotel is well maintained, and has free car parking spaces at the front. It is easy to find, and only a 5 minute walk down to the harbour. Maybe, for some, it would take a bit longer coming back up, but at a steady stroll is fine.

On arrival, we were welcomed by our hosts, Jill and Joe, given our keys, and told to come and go as we pleased.

All the bedrooms are on the first floor, accessed by an easy staircase, from the bar area. Our room was a large room at the rear, well appointed, very comfortable, and with a nice view of the gardens.

The breakfasts were excellent, although far too much for us, and we had to ask for smaller portions, or as Jill says, 'the girly ones'. Beleive me, you will not want any lunch, after a 'Mandalay breakfast' !

In our opinion, it would be difficult to find better hosts than Joe and Jill, their Hospitality is second to none. Everyone feels as though they have made two lovely new friends after their stay.

We would recommend anybody wanting to visit Mevagissey, to try this excellent Hotel. We have been operating coaches for over 45 years, taking parties all over the country to various hotels, and have yet to find a hotel, or a B & B, where the owners are more friendly, and accomodating than this one.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank rondacoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

All my family going back next year,jill and joe are the best bb host, breakfast great,First class facilities,Lovely clean rooms, and the views were great.Any one who gives a bad review needs there eyes tested.

Room Tip: All rooms we had was very clean nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marlene j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mevagissey hotels
0.5 mi away
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
Mevagissey Bay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mevagissey
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trevalsa Court Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
Lower Barns Boutique B&B
#1 of 2 in Saint Ewe
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tubbs Mill House
Tubbs Mill House
#1 of 3 in Caerhays
28 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Inn
The Rising Sun Inn
#2 of 2 in Portmellon Cove
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tregorran Guest House
Tregorran Guest House
#4 of 34 in Mevagissey
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandalay

Address: School Hill, Mevagissey PL26 6TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mevagissey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Mevagissey
Price Range: £19 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B , same owners for 21yrs.Car parking for all of our guests.Full English breakfast.Lovely front garden to sit in.Ensuite rooms.Short walk to village and harbour. Free Wi Fi.Bus Service just outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mandalay Mevagissey, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing